1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8800 GTS 512 MB (g92)

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Gamax, May 8, 2008.

  1. Gamax New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    70 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just a quick question about power requirement. I have an Enermax Liberty 500W PSU

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817194003

    At the moment powering a X1950XT 256MB and an AMD Opteron 170 at stock speeds.

    I ordered a 8800 GTS 512 MB, so I was curious if this PSU would be able to handle it no problem.

    I am also considering getting a new intel CPU (prolly an E8400) and OC it. Do you think I'd need to replace the PSU at all with either (or both) upgrades?

    PS. I won't overclock the card, just the CPU if I get it.
  2. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    You'll be fine w/ that psu.
    Gamax says thanks.
  3. Gamax New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    70 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't mean to sound like I Don't believe you, but are you sure? It's wattage is a bit low for today's standards I believe and OC'ing the CPU would draw more power.
  4. Snake05

    Snake05 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    531 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Yes, you'll be fine with that. Nice high 12V rails. I run my rigg on a 550W, and have some room to spare.
  5. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    no worries :) the liberty is really efficient and as snake said has really strong 12v rails
    plus the G92 GTS is extremely efficient considering the performance it affords
    you'll be fine bro ;)
  6. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    you will be fine i ran my 2900(power hungry beast) on a 400 for a while you will have no problems with a g92
  7. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    lol, yes most people shoot over what they need. I myself went way over what I need, b/c I wanted it to last me for a long time. I could easily get by w/ a solid 450w.

    When dealing w/ video cards, amps on the 12v rail are the most important thing to look at, and that psu has got plenty of em. And oc does indeed use more power, but that particular proc actually uses less power than your current one, and you should have no problem being below the 500w rating on that psu. :toast:
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    I actually agree. Not running everyday OC'd settings, but when you really want to push your system, 500W may come up short. I've maxed out a couple PSU's before.
  9. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    It's not low at all.

    It's the amps on the rails and the build quality of the unit itself that is the most important thing.

    You could get a 700W PSU, but if it can only deliver 300W at full load you're a bit stuffed (yes, i've seen it happen)

    I'm powering a 3870, and an E8400 overclocked to 3.6Ghz and I seriously doubt it's anywhere near fully loaded at any point.
  10. Gamax New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    70 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you all for the replies.

    I actually don't want to "push my system to the max" with extreme overclocking, at all. I'll just OC the CPU, won't touch the gfx. Hence my concern about the wattage. Though it does seem it will do good.
  11. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Its fine. Reviews said that it only sucks 180 Watts. And the amperage is fine. Dual 12+V Rails on 22A each.
  12. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I have a friend who runs an 8800GT, Athlon X2 3800, 2Gb of RAM, and many HDDs all on a 400W FSP PSU, so wattage means shit. It's about amps and build quality.

    Stop worrying about wattage.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page