1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8800 gts on a 400w psu?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by heapsgood3, Sep 30, 2007.

  1. heapsgood3

    heapsgood3 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi i have a 400w psu that came with a case i recently purchased. what i was wondering was could i run a geforce 8800gts on it. if not ill get a 8600 gts or ati 2600.
     
  2. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    whats the psu's 12v rail amps? you should upgrade your psu.. than get the gts.. or vica versa.. dont rush make sure you get all the gear you need... you WANT a gts not a 8600/2600 :D.. but yeah I highy/extremly doubt your psu is up to it.. I find my psu gets quit a bit warmer than when I had my 1900gt in.. so that means its being pushed harder.. upgrade the psu than get the card.
     
  3. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    edit: oh and nice rig btw.. gl getting your 8800 and new psu... your rig will rock.
     
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I honestly wouldn't run anything at all on 99% of the PSUs that come with cases. It's the first thing to be replaced.
     
  5. heapsgood3

    heapsgood3 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my 12v rail is 16A. also im upgrading from a geforce 6600 so would an 8600 be a significant performance leap or should i stick with getting an 8800
     
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Absolutely change your psu. And seriously, the 8800 is a much, MUCH better card. You should go with it, or a new ATI HD2900Pro, if you would consider an ATI card. But either way, new psu time. And honestly, I would change the psu anyway, I just don't trust the ones with cases, they're essentially a generic, 99% of the time.
     
  7. heapsgood3

    heapsgood3 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    " oh and nice rig btw.. gl getting your 8800 and new psu... your rig will rock"

    Thanks
     
  8. heapsgood3

    heapsgood3 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    how big should my new psu be, also are their any bad brands? im only 16 so i have a pretty low budget
     
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    What's your budget?
     
  10. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,276 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    970
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Their is something called a Quote Button in case you weren't aware:)
     
  11. heapsgood3

    heapsgood3 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    80$ to 120
     
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Oh, that's easy. BRB with an edit.
     
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
  14. heapsgood3

    heapsgood3 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    cool thanks for all your help guys, i guess the new power supply will be like an insurance policy or something. :)
     
  15. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I have a 750 that I'm trying to get rid off.

    I won a 1k at the last lan I went too.

    110 shipped in the US.

    <<<<Toughpower 750 60amps over 4 rails.
     
  16. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Edit: ^^ yeah thats a good deal his psu has more than enough power.. and more power is better because it stays more atable across the rails from not having to work as hard. DaMuta sells alot of stuff on the fourms.

    yeah it will be better for your cpu too. if your psu dies it can kill stuff.. even your whole rig.
     
  17. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
  18. heapsgood3

    heapsgood3 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    how much will you sell it for in Australian dollars
     
  19. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Umm don't know

    Might be 30-40USD to get it there.
     
  20. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    damm that means his 80-100$ is Aus dollars.. and hardware costs more there too.. look for a hipper 500 watt psu maybe man.. or a seasonic s12 (they might be cheaper by now..). A 400 watt branded psu is better than a 500 or 600 watt generic psu.
     
  21. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
  23. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,260 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    Location:
    Ohio
    Stay away from Hiper.
    //Earthwatts is a good choice, just don't overvolt anything.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Why not? The Earthwatts will take quite a load. Should handle an 8800GTS with some mild overclocking and overvolting, no problem.
     
  25. Woah Mama! New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    497 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Australia
    Where abouts in Australia? If in NSW around Sydney then go into ARC. They've still got my TR2 550W PSU for about $120, easily handles a mates C2D, 4GB DDR667, 8500GT system.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page