1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8gb shows as 6, 3.5 usable. 64bitOS wtf??

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Cruise51, Oct 3, 2012.

  1. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,147 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,348
    Lolwhat? Someone's RAM is not properly detected and adressed by the person's mobo/OS and you spit out this? Try to help or STFU & GTFO.

    Indeed, best check the voltage settings and if "memory remapping" is available in the BIOS. Also, never put anything that is RAM related on "auto" but manually enter the settings (or at least those things listed in the specs like voltage, clock freq. and the first 4 latency values).
    Lionheart, qubit and eidairaman1 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    Indeed. I do normally leave it on auto, but I discovered to my cost what happens if you do, with an old Abit AN8 Ultra mobo when I tried upgrading the 2GB RAM in it to 4GB a while back. It just never ran completely stable until I set the RAM settings to manual and even then it was debatable, lol. Proper hair puller this one. :laugh:
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,075 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,375
    ever since Intel came out with XMP things have been like throwing a wrench in the gears. SPD was enough.

    But Ya ever since I learned about overclocking ive set my stuff to manual, even my brothers machine
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2012
    qubit says thanks.
  4. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,147 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,348
    Some modules do not have a decent SPD (e.g. DDR2 Crucial Ballistix).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,902 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    Rochester area
    noobs again.......
    check the vram size in the bios
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,075 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,375
    wouldnt most DDR 2 modules drop to 667/800 with SPD where as DDR 3 would drop to 1333? Aka JEDEC?
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,902 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    629
    Location:
    Rochester area
    most boards will kick ddr2 all the way down to 533 if it detects something is wrong
    and by wrong I mean with some board/dimm combos the spd can get misread
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,075 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,375
    Ya SPD was to simplufy configuration just like IRQs in windows since 98SE. XMP too. I say automatic works about 95% of time...

  9. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Yes the second one is bad (or dirty, even new, did you clean the contacts?) do you use a onboard video card? if so configure RAM assignment to GPU in BIOS to a lower value (I think you have now 512 MB) if the -512MB bother you.
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    It honestly sounds like windows is kicking memory to the GPU I am pretty sure my mother-in-laws AMD kicks out the same thing in windows with the iGPU and ram...

    Normal non-iGPU AMD rigs do not kick that out...

    [​IMG]
  11. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Yeah here you will know :)

    Attached Files:

  12. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,147 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,348
    If it is IGP related than the BIOS should have a way to set the amount of VRAM lower.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page