1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

8gb Sniper ram or 4gb g. skill ripjaws?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by MxPhenom 216, Jul 13, 2011.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  2. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Get the G.Skills Ripjaws and run them at 1866 Mhz with 8-8-8-24 timing (7-7-7-21 if you can pull it off).
     
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    but 4gb just looks so small to me now after have 6gb and what not
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
  5. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Im just going to get the G. skill ripjaws 2133 cheaper and if i ever need more ram in the future i can just get some, i was just thinking that it seems like a lot of people are going for over 4gb of ram now these days
     
  7. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
  8. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    4Gb of memory should be more then enough for most tasks. Unless you have a specific task in mind that may need more.
     
  9. Hotobu

    Hotobu New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    278 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    I'm wondering WTF is up with G. Skill. Not that there's anything wrong with quality at a good price, but it seems like every place is now giving deep discounts on them and their modules have the lowest price at each speed level.
     
  10. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Memory is just getting dirt cheap in general.
     
  11. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    And its the Summer sales slump. Stock goes up and demand goes down creating a gap. Then companies have to lower the price to move units.

    And most people are going with 4 or 6 GB of RAM as more is simply not needed unless you are doing audio/video editing or use photo editing software for a living. So anyone you know with more than that for just gaming, wasted money cause it is not being used and just wanted an e-penis upgrade.
     
  12. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    I assume this is for the SB build?

    IF so stay away from 2 X 4GB kits if you plan to OC. Seems 4 X 2GB kits will allow for an OC when most 4 X 2 GB kits will choke the memory controller. Just a little FYI for your quest.

    Send a PM over to Paulieg or cadaveca about it, they will both tell you what I am spewing;)
     
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    that doesnt make sense. i always thought if you poulate all the memory slots that chokes the memory controller??
     
  16. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    Doesn't seem to be the case with sandy....

    Like I say, paulieg has had a ton of issues clocking his 8GB kits, where cadaveca has run 4 X 2 GB to over 2200+mhz. I dont know the reasoning exactly, but I do know guys here have had issues.


    Here is where it was being discussed...http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=148713
    I personally have had long conversations about this with dave, and seeing the results, I can't argue with that;)
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2011
  17. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
  18. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    i may need to look at all this again. I really wanted a 2x 4GB kit!
     
  20. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    Sorry didn't mean to throw a wrench in the works, just thought I would show what others are running into.
     
    shlesscamp and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  21. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,054 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    dude if it werent for you, i probably would have gone and gotten the 8gb kit and rage quit at the facti couldnt get 4.5ghz lol

    However, my neighbor has 2600k and 2 8gb kits of ram for 16 in all and he got 4.7ghz stable. Now is it the fact it will effect CPU overclock or memory overclocking??
     
  22. Hotobu

    Hotobu New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    278 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
  23. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,998 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,723
    Location:
    US
    I hate being on 4GB it pissed me of endlessly when my aXeram died which then i was on 6GB which even then 6GB annoyed me as i could not turn off the page file lol.
     
  24. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
  25. Hotobu

    Hotobu New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    278 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Yeah it's like... Apparently there isn't a big difference when you go up from 1600 on SB, but with me in limbo between SB and the upcoming Bulldozer which takes 1866 anyway this purchase was a no brainer.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page