1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

940BE Idle temps too high?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by joeyck, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Hey I just changed from a 9650 to a 940BE and my idle temps are 43Degrees is this normal? Or am I screwed? my 9800GTX+ is at 38 - 40 Degrees, I'm worried is this normal for my 940BE?
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,698 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    what cooler are you using?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
  4. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    also i dont have my side 120mm on my case i just finished putting PSU and CPU in maybe that could be y?
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,828 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    Completely normal. Post up a screenshot of CPU-Z. :)
     
  6. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    fuckin ay thank u i was so scard my last amd (9650) was at 28 idle lol i will post SS up soon for now i gotta go contain this freakin antec 650W PSU i got so many freakin cables its crazy
     
  7. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Thats fairly normal for a 940BE. Mine is idling at 40C right now with a Xigmatek Thor's hammer on it. It is also at 3.4GHz and stock voltage.
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,698 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Oh your the guy that returned his Phenom I for a Phenom II right! how do you like it? run some benches and see the diffrence
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    with my phenomI it took my GPU a minute or two to stabalize to 91FPS on max everything... i had spikes from like 30 - 91 now i start and end at 91 loving it best upgrade for 28$ i ever made :p also this stocl heatsink is huge i looked at it and was amazed i'v had CD4 running none stop for almost an hourish so its seems to be very stable. will stress it out tonight though :D
     
  10. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    hey I just got some pictures of my rig i will post up my PCU pic on here then the whole pic of the rig on my other thread.

    I just played some MW2 and the temps were 62Degrees and dropped instantly to around 58 instantly.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 19, 2010
  11. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    When the AC comes on in my house my 940 Idles at 33C My max temps are 44C for today.
     
  12. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    dam what do u have cooling it? mine hit 62 just a while ago and i'm scared :p
     
  13. _Zod_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    I would probably re-seat the HS see what it does with the side of the case off. What is the room temperature? You can try dropping the cpu voltage also.
     
  14. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    whats he got for cooling? if its stock raise rpm on fan high as it will go in bios if its possible, and like zod said undervolt cpu some, or leave side cover off
     
  15. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,799 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
  16. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Pick up a decent aftermarket cooler and you'll be fine.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. crunchie

    crunchie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    110 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah, my 940 was real high on the stock cooler. Put an after market cooler on it and dropped over 10C under load.
     
  18. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...1&csid=ITD&recordsPerPage=5&body=#ReviewStart

    This is the cooler I intend to buy, what do you guys think? Should I get it? I've seen this bad boy in front of me once and it was so quiet but just so darn good... for the prices and the ratings it is getting I think it is a steel. What you guys think?

    also I will need 5.98 inc clearance in my case. so with my antec 900 having width of 8.1 inches I think i can handle this bad boy in there. might have problems with my side 120mm fan though.
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2010
  19. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    i would suggest a cooler master hyper 212 plus, even though it went up in price, i highly recommend it, since i had this cooler no matter what i do load temps never go past 55c thats with my pII 920 at 3.750mhz, from 2800mhz stock
     
  20. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
  21. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,799 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    That Spin Q might look nifty, but its cooling performance is very mediocre. Your paying more for bling than cooling.
    http://www.frostytech.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=2363&page=4
    It is below the performace of the cooler posted above, and well below my old Xiggy s983, which is a very compact cooler. I bought it because I also needed clearance for a side fan. The Spin also doesn't even have direct contact heat pipes.
     
  22. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    The Spin-Q is a decent cooler, I know, my brother has it and loves it.

    If your going to get the Hyper 212+ don't buy it from newegg, the price has gone WAAAAAAAAAAY up recently. I bought mine on ebay for around $30 shipped new.

    Shop around a bit before you buy.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    lol 2 people saying to dif. things who to believe?:p

    well at the moment i am thinking of a corsair H50 to be honest... also about the spin - Q a lot of ppl saying that it is actually a pretty good cooler... especially with a decent case that will suck in extra air... idk i need to do some research.

    and its easy installation for the most part, my Antec allows me to work on the mobo from the back so i dont need to take it out, and if i do then its w/e but all i gotta do is just snap on the back panel of the AM2/AM2+ socket for the H50 then in the front get the AM2+ ring tighten ONLY a little from there i screw out the current rear fan then i add the corsair fan, with two screws then radiator, then tighten it all up get the water block put in the AM2 ring find the teeth on the ring, lock and tighten.. only thing i haven't figured out is were the fk to put the water lol
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,698 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea just get a H50 and be done with it!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    The H50 is good, but make sure to measure wherever your going to put it before purchasing it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page