1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

955 x4 Your Overclocked Results?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by rambo14k, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. rambo14k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I cant go any higher than 3.6Ghz on 1.35Vcore

    Whats your Overclocked results on the 955 Phenom x4 BE ?
    Vcore + Ghz, X, FSB or Jumpers?:respect:


    Maybe is because my motherboard is a Micro ATx i mean i didnt have any problems with overclocking before with a ATX old times 939 Socket.


    MY rig is 2x4890 Phenom955 Stock evrything atm 4Gb ddr2 Slow really(i dont invest money on Ram) 950Wat PS Cooling gear 2xVC's 40C Cpu 27-51 27(27 Cool'n Quiet Enable ) (51Prime95 =20t)

    Mobo ASUS M4A785-M
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131595&cm_re=am3-_-13-131-595-_-Product


    :confused: :banghead:
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2010
  2. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    You must mean 1.35 vcore cause 3.5v would completely fry that chip and your mobo in the process if it was possible to even get it that high, tho 3.6ghz for a pI is very good, I doubt you will squeeze much more out of that chip at all, is it stable? have you run linx or p95, cause I would be happy with 3.6ghz for sure :toast:
  3. department76

    department76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    519 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    U of WY, USA
    955 isn't a PI, it's a PII...

    i would blame the mATX board for the lower oc limit.
  4. rambo14k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yea man is Stable even on 1.4Vcore 3.8Ghz but honestly Seriosly and yeaa. 1.4Vcore is TOo much for a 45Mn thats what i think so if others got their 955 at 3.8Ghz with just 1.35Vcore then there must be a way.
  5. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    The 785G boards clock fantastic so unless he has a bad board it's not the problem.

    Is it too much? I'm rockin' my unlocked 550 @ 3.8 on 1.48v lol.
  6. computertechy

    computertechy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    828 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    sorry to be an ass but can u please fill in ur system specs under usercp please....:shadedshu

    that way we can determine all your components are capable of overclocking.

    Thanks :toast:

    EDIT: make sure the drop down on system specs say yes to show them :p
    rambo14k says thanks.
  7. rambo14k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2


    I forgot to mention on a ATX i used the same cpu and the Results were 3.8Ghz 1.35Vcore so there must be a way to increase MHZ on Micro atx without having to increase Vcore that much maybe FSB but i dont play that much with FSB on a BE cpu?>????


    btw atx mobo belongs to my brother
  8. rambo14k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2

    I was looking a good forum to ask question and post to help others so is my first day in this forum i will in time Thanks:rockout:
    computertechy says thanks.
  9. computertechy

    computertechy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    828 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    when i am in my overclocking mood anything over 1.550v for me is too much.

    i have to admit though that my 940 clocked better than my 955 with little and no voltage:laugh:

    i have yet to achieve 4ghz stable yet with my 955:shadedshu
  10. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    Florizy
    AMD chips can take more voltage than Intel chips without generating as much heat. So 1.5 is generally considered an equally safe of a ceiling on an AMD chip as 1.4 is considered on an Intel chip. Of course most of those Intel chips are usually kicking the AMD chips asses :D
  11. rambo14k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2



    It might be hard to get a PII955 on 1.35vcore 3.8Ghz but is worth it...

    Just because is BE a lot of people outthere use 1.45 or even 1.50 to achieve 4ghz yeaa thats too much Think of those using 1.4 having 4ghz then 1.35 3.8Ghz should be posible running Prime95 and as you said intel use less power but is funny how I7 HIts 80C easy on Prime95 Best cpu yea but heats like Red fire not blue1... ( Depends on Cooling Gear my is bad for the I7 but same on the PII) and yea i got both Cpu 2 PC 1 for work 1 for Games @Not so much diffs but I7 makes it easy to work
  12. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    Florizy
    You can't be sure your OC is stable with Prime95. Linpack is the new standard for stability testing.
  13. department76

    department76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    519 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    U of WY, USA
    i use OCCT for oc stabilty testing, has a linpack mode as well and good monitoring.

    on my 45nm PII C3, my temps are fine with 1.51vcore. idles around 35C and load at 50C with my zalman on it's lowest speed. 1.47v is not stable. for the record.

    ocing on the mATX board has nothing to do with the chipset the board has, and if the chipset is good for ocing. what matters much more is the quality of the cpu's buck converters. most people refer to this area as vregs, etc. and afik a lot of mATX boards have cpu power sections of weaker and smaller design compared to their ATX counterparts.

    i'd be curious to see th OP's cpu voltage droop under load, ten bucks says he's at the cpu power limit of the board with that low oc.
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2010
    rambo14k says thanks.
  14. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    Florizy
    Yeah OCCT is nice and all but LinX is much quicker. If you're trying to find immediate stability then it's the way to go.
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,490 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    1.45v is not too much at all. Phenom II's are safe up to 1.55v. They are not like Intel chips and are manufactured using a different process that can handle more voltage. 1.35v is considered stock voltage on the 140 watt chips.
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,852 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,384
    Dont feel bad. I never got past 3.6 at 1.45v
    rambo14k says thanks.
  17. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    tbh 1.35 is low I'd push those volts up and keep going. Every mobo is different and a chip may clock differently on different boards and you got a low vcore fire the clock. I believe that's stock or just a hair above. I run my 965 at 1.525 volts at 4250 MHz and don't go over 50 in linpack. You can push yours higher
  18. rambo14k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    DUDEEEE. Thanks a LOT thats Exactly what i needed to figured out but seens 2 me u did (((((i'd be curious to see th OP's cpu voltage droop under load, ten bucks says he's at the cpu power limit of the board with that low oc))))) i was Reading alot about the Exact diffs in mAtx and Atx so far i realized that is not just the ATX style like big size but Differents capasities, soo yea my mobo was not giving apropiate voltage but o well i shouldnt had expected much from this mobo was not expensive 60 buck i paid http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131595&cm_re=am3-_-13-131-595-_-Product :( :toast:

    I will have to Stay with my brother's mobo hes not using it and i can do CrossfireX with that 1 2x4890 :) i only see the differents in Crysis but 1 was good 2

    Thanks Evryone that helped.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page