1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

9600gso 768mb Grabing during games

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by nukerzero, Jan 23, 2009.

  1. nukerzero New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi all , I'm a newbe , and have a problem with a new set up , low budget that it is but I can not play BF2 in fact cant play anything , it grabs all the time,
    I'm running m2n-mx-se M/B
    6400x2 cpu
    2gig 667 ram
    9600gso 768mb card
    650watt P/S
    320 H/D
    XP home
    I have loaded all the latest drivers and patches etc but still no joy , so here I am on my old trusty 2500+ amd with a wee 128 card , so much for moving up : (
    any help would be very much appreciated
  2. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345


    That should be more than enough to play Battlefield 2, infact it should be enough to play practically any game to date at med/high settings at whatever resolution you choose for the next one year. Something is definately wrong. Have you tried any other games, newer games?

    Download GPU-Z and put up a few screenshots


    http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/


    Download CPU-Z and again put up a few screenshots of the "CPU", "Memory", and "Motherboard" tab.

    http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php

    Download 3D Marks 06 and run it at default settings, once we've got a score we can determine if your system is performing below what it should be :)

    http://www.futuremark.com/benchmarks/3dmark06/download/


    Edit:

    Is the system prebuilt or is it custom built. I'm guessing that you conducted a fresh format and reinstall of Windows after putting the components together?


    Edit 2:

    Can a Moderator move this thread to the appropriate section please :)
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2009
  3. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Well, lets see. Drivers can cause this. Have you ever had a different card installed? If so, did you clean the old drivers out? What brand is that power supply? Does it happen only while online, or does it happen in single player games too?
  4. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,419 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    398
    What do you mean by "grabs all the time"
  5. nukerzero New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Folks thank you very much for your replies , I' m trying to work through them as directed , not that PC savvy but I shall endeavor to do all the above , shall be back soon with results
  6. richardbel

    richardbel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    261 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    vancouver
    i think he is says "grabs all the time" is that whenever he plays it lags or all his memory is being used or it isnt enough?
  7. nukerzero New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes that is it exactly, on line game even when game intro is playing it garbs, patcy type play , infact unable to play its that fullstop , : (
  8. Joe Public

    Joe Public

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    134 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Yeah, sounds like a software issue, even my old Pentium 4 w/2GB and 6800 Ultra 256MB used to run BF2 in 1280x1024 w/details at full back in 2005/06.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page