1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

9600GT Nibitor voltage mod

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by RadeonX2, Feb 17, 2009.

  1. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    First off I had my 9600GT hard modded to 1.15v since last year and its doing great. Switched to Vista last week and played with Rivatuner to my surprise I can now OC upto 750MHz on core before it was only 720MHz on XP.

    Now for all of you wondering that it's not possible to volt mod a 9600GT through software, I doubt if this has got to do anything with the hard mod I've done. So here's what I've done using the latest Nibitor 4.8: set the 4th vid mask to 1.15v on the 4th entry, set the 4th entry vid mode to 1.15v and in exact mode setting the extra to 1.15v, flashed the bios after that my system boots fine then I noticed the idle temps went really high from 42c to around 48-50c. Played GTA IV and 2-5 secs black screen appeared in this case the voltage mod I've done through Nibitor is working but I don't have a multimeter to test how much did the mod gain my guess its around 1.15v to 1.2v.

    any 9600GT owner's willing to test this Nibitor mod? it's not that hard to mod using Nibitor much harder when you try the hard mod :D
     
  2. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    I might have a go tonight, I've always wanted to be able to get my 9600 GT to 800 MHz / 1970 MHz stable!
     
  3. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    thanks! give it a try :toast:
    sadly mine can't handle high vcore as it'll immediately blackscreen when entering 3d mode :shadedshu
     
  4. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    You can not up the voltage using Nibitor, because that feature isn't compatible with the 9600 GT. In lames terms the new voltage increase will not get remembered once the bios file is saved. - I've tried and tested it too :)

    Edit:

    Send me the modded bios. I will give it a try!


    Edit 2:

    RadeonX2,

    Hard mod works 100%

    That is probably why. Secondly that is a 8800 GT not a 9600 GT.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2009
  5. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    Well I don't know how the heck did the Nibitor vmod worked for me guess it's because I've hard modded the card?

    oh BTW changing the 3rd entry 1.1v to 1.15v doesn't have any increase in voltage setting the 4th entry 1.15v gives it a jump in volts.

    The pics are from google:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    I've said from my earlier post those pics are from google I'm currently using my other PC
     
  7. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    here you go
     

    Attached Files:

    • mod.zip
      File size:
      40.8 KB
      Views:
      461
    Darren says thanks.
  8. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    ive had 820/2100 stable (core/shader) on an Asus 9600GT 1Gb (non ref pcb + asus cooler)

    no vmods, it was just a very very cold night, heres how it went. the 9600GT was watercooled at the time, so i moved pc pc right next to a window, and put the watercooling radiator outside.

    load temps of 15 degrees C ftw!

    max stable clock generally (asus glaciator cooler) is 760 core 1900 shaders, was good to see her fly :p

    still its an asus customer PCB so no vmods, i was going to lave Largon help me out with one, but soon moved to bigger and beefyer cards so it was forgotten.
     
  9. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    I wish my 9600GT could OC like that :respect:

    with a 1.15v vmod it can only go core 750MHz on XP 720MHz
     
  10. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    it really is a fantastic card that's standing the test of time, 1Gb will keep her gaming a while, and at those clock speeds shes a little ripper. especially since its all flashed on now so no software necessary at all.

    also mad props to the Asus cooler, it looks and feels so simple and lightweight, hot damn can it cool! its never had to run at 100% and load temps are always 55-60 degrees, even on a hot hot day.
     
  11. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Well I had a play around with the modded drivers and I'm a bit disappointed. Indeed, after inspecting the bios file it was 1.15v so I flashed it using NVflash.

    Using my own custom overclock I could max out my Inno 3D 9600 GT with a core @ 715 MHz, shader @ 1970 MHz, memory @ 1050 MHz with 1.1v

    Unfortunately with RadeonX2's modded bios I was unable to achieve the same overclock settings I enjoyed previously. Both COD:WAW and 3D Mark 06 either locked up completely or displayed a black screen. I attempted to lower the core and memory but got the same results.


    Either way, thanks for the modded bios, I might have another try during the weekend :)


    Edit:



    On my particular bios file 1.1v is the maximum voltage. I can lower it down to 1.05v or 1v
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2009
  12. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    I'm sorry to hear that was unexpected the bios is 100% working on my card... how bout you edit your card's bios and up the vcore to 1.15v?
    my cards clock are 750 core 1800 shader 1100 memory dead stable

    you can edit through Nibitor to up the voltage to 1.15v

    -click the amount of active entries make it to 4
    -in entry 4 edit the label voltage to 1.15v
    -click the VID and make sure its 03

    [​IMG]

    then go to exact mode and update the extra to 1.15v
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2009
  13. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    just so you know, youve set 1.5v not 1.15v in that pic.......

    and im 99% sure bios vmods do not work at all, this is from testing with a multimeter on 9600GT/8800GT/9800GTX/GTX260
     
    Darren says thanks.
  14. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,223 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    988
    Location:
    Miami
    Bios mods rarely work... they do work for the GTX 260 but it will max at 1.875V (GTX 280 Voltage). Ur right about the 8800GT though, no such thing- same goes for the 9600GT i think (but do not know).
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2009
    Darren and wolf say thanks.
  15. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,547 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    every card Ive ever test a nibitor bios vmod with it has been completely ineffective, except now i believe the nibitor guys are working on including the known vmod possibilities of the GTX series into the program, as we now know we can feed the I2C bus the values we want.
     
    Darren and phanbuey say thanks.
  16. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    I forgot to say again the pic was from google :banghead:
     
  17. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
  18. erasure

    erasure

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    156 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Kingdom of Lost Heaven
    this is my ASUS 9600GT (with Glaciator cooler)
    and not volt-modded on GPU
    just OCed it using EVGA Precision Tool 1.4
    800MHz without any Aritfacts


    [​IMG]
     
  19. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    @ erasure

    that's a nice OC you got there, you should try OC'ing the mem too
     
  20. erasure

    erasure

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    156 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Kingdom of Lost Heaven
    i worried for Memory OCing
    because there's no memory cooling
    and i wrecked one ASUS 9600GT in last summer /screen artifacted then DIED/

    i OCed 900MHz to 1170MHz it works(and test ok) but after restart then DEAD :p
    i can OC my Q6600 to 3.8GHz(423x9) on vcore 1.6, just Vantage runing time. but it's not stable for over 1 hour

    sorry my English is bad
    i'm power reader of techpowerup.com articles
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page