1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

9600GT power saving, black screen!

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by hooj, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    As title, my gpu doesn't work anymore and i don't know how to fix it. I've tried different cables, bios, disabling the internal Intel HD 3000 which i am back to using now. It powers up because the fan is spinning but windows 7 doesn't detect it at all. I guess it's time for a new card? I'm thinking ATI 7850 for £120.
     
  2. anoobarak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    102 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Euroland
    You could bake it in an oven. That will most likely fix it.
     
    hooj says thanks.
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,634 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,533
    a 7850 would be a considerable upgrade but id recommend using a powersupply calculator first before making the jump

    By the way its not likely baking will fix the issues, its plausible, but honestly why hold that machine back with such an old card
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2012
    hooj says thanks.
  4. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    No It's fine A corsair 750w psu, he could run Crossfire and i wouldn't be worried....
     
    hooj says thanks.
  5. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Baking my graphics card in the oven?
     
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,634 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,533
    i guess i always doublecheck anymore.
     
    hooj says thanks.
  7. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    870 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    It could be dead, its hard to tell from the Internet:)
    I assume it's the same on both DVI ports. Did you check if it has any funny smell, or something visible what might indicate any damage? Can the system boot up without picture (HDD activity, windows welcome sound,etc). Does it work normally as a Physx GPU if you boot up using the IGP in the 2500k? (you might need a hacked physx driver to test that)

    If you need to replace it, anything mid-high range from the current or last generation would be a huge upgrade compared to that card, especially with such a powerful CPU. I know a guy who just sold his 560ti for $110 a few days ago, you might also get lucky and catch a good deal:)
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2012
    hooj says thanks.
  8. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Yeh i tried both dvi ports to no avail. I've never tried using a card solely for physx.
     
  9. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    870 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    - Sorry I missed that windows 7 is not detecting it:shadedshu my bad:banghead:
    - Can you test the card in an other system (do you have an other rig or perhaps a friend does)? That would be perfect to make sure it's not something else.
     
    hooj says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page