1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

9600M GT BSOD crash, need help!

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Fracicone, Dec 6, 2012.

  1. Fracicone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi there, I'm new here...

    I've got a huge problem with my 9600M GT: since some weeks I get this BSOD while playing with World of Warcraft. I thought it was some overheating problem,
    so I cleaned some dust inside my notebook(acer asprie 6930g). The problem stand still. It's a random BSOD, it doesn't depend on the time I play. I've found out
    that doesn't depend on the games too: i've installed Far Cry 2 and The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, same problem too. Actually for those two games, the BSOD pop
    up really close after tha games are loaded. When BSOD comes up, i can't do anything but shut down my notebook manually: anything won't work.

    I read something on the internet, someone say it's a directx 11 problem(i have vista 32bit updated to sp2), but i tried those games before upgrading OS, that is
    with directx 9, but I have the same problem.
    I'll attach my vbios and the techpower gpu-z image so you'll have as mush info as you'll need to (i hope) give me a helpful hand!
    If you want more info I can give you my vbios.

    Thank you so much for the attention!

    P.S.: i noticed that playing Far Cry 2 using directx 10 mode, won't lead to a BSOD...on the other hand, i don't know why, I can't change most of graphic option
    (they are all set to the highest values) resulting in a ridiculously low fps gaming...


    View attachment vbios.zip 9600m GT.gif
     
  2. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,463 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    783
    have u tried "TechPowerUp OSD Server" while having GPU-Z opened so if ur GFX support it u can read temps, and loads and see if temp may be a problem.
     
  3. Fracicone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Actually temperature isn't a problem, i saw in another forum that rev A1 of my graphic card can reach temperatures of 89°-90° celsius and it wouldn't be a problem. I checked temperatures few days ago, they were around 80°-85° before games froze... :/

    But I think giving a try is always worth it! Thank you!
     
  4. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,916 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,598
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Probably another victim of "Bumpgate" - NVIDIA's solder bump problems with the 8000/9000 series and chipsets.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. Fracicone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nvidia's solder bump problems? That are?
    I'd just want to point out that the bsod I'm experiencing with is a crash, but it seems that only the monitor gets a shutdown, not the notebook, which keeps going on but apparently without working. And I get it with games I have usually played it in the past without problems!

    Here I'll post you all temperatures just few secs before game crashed:


    nvidia inspector screen before crash.png View attachment HWMonitor.txt CoreTemp-Scr beforecrash.png


    I read that sometimes could be some power saving settings in the bios that can lead to something like that: so could be worth a try to flash vbios of gpu(in the first post you can see my actual gpu's build)?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,916 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,598
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    NVIDIA switched to a "lead-free" solder for the interconnects between the actual silicon die and the green part it sits on, and also used the wrong viscosity of the underfill "glue" on the chip. That means the interconnects crack after various heat up/cool down cycles. When the chip heats up (you play a game) the cracks grow bigger, chip loses connectivity and malfunctions/dies. This problem is EVERYWHERE on Google, there was a class action law suit and in short I'm surprised people still have devices that work several years later.

    People attempt to reflow the solder on the chip by either "baking" it in their oven or using a heat gun to heat up the chip to ~200c.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Fracicone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so you're telling me...that I have to to some extreme baking with the chipset of my gpu or directly switch to a newer and nvidia's-solder-bump-problem-free pc/notebook?!?
     
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,186 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,709
    Did you try rolling back the driver?
     
  9. Fracicone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yup, I tried to switch to older versions of driver, even
    beta and driver's version of acer for my notebook, but
    but the problem stands still...
     
  10. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    351 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi,

    Perhaps it's not the 9600M GT, but the issue could be caused by other components like failing ram module(s), defective hard drive and even a failing wireless network adapter could cause BSODs randomly. You can try testing your ram modules with memtest, for the hard drive you can check with SMART monitoring tools such as HDDScan.

    Then the wifi adapter, if it built-in/onboard, disable it/uninstall the drivers and test the games you played earlier, see if you still get BSODs.

    If you are using a power brick for the notebook, check that too, it could be a power problem. Maybe try with an other power brick if you have one, otherwise borrow one if it's possible.
     
  11. Fracicone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  12. Fracicone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Run memtest 4.20 too, no problem detected...

    Tried to run game only with battery with no power brick plugged in, two times, the black screen pop just after "loading" was finished, couldn't even see the screen!
     
  13. Fracicone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tried a power brick too, but the issue's standing still.
    I'm thinking about a laptop's screen problem.
    Anyway, does anybody know where I can find a vbios updated for a 9600m gt?
     
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,739 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,213
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    The lead free solder has a lower heat point so once it reaches this temp the solder becomes soft and breaks loose from the contacts. This same instance happened with PS3 and Xbox with the RROD or YLOD
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    351 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Netherlands
    The weird thing is that you said you have no problems in FarCry 2 in DX10 mode. Perhaps it's a software problem? Well, as last resort you can do a fresh (=full format) install of Windows OS and see if such fresh installation of OS would fix the issue for you. Otherwise you may need to take the notebook to some computer repair shop, either to fix the GPU by reballing etc. or replacing the logic board.
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,739 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,213
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    If it is a MXM slot then you could consider a newer faster GPU for that lappy.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Fracicone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    I did several fresh installation first with windows seven than again, with vista, but I have the same problem and, anyway, after 30 minutes of playing ca. game crash with directx10 too! :(
    The really last thing left to do is to try an external monitor, and, if it should work, then I think I could be a lappy screen problem...

    After that, I'm not gonna change gpu: my father won one year ago another laptop with a 9800M (can't remember if gtx or gt) so at least I'm thinking about a harmless exchange since his concept of gaming doesn't go as far as sudoku on line...and so, sparing some money!
     
  18. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    351 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Netherlands
    So, it did crash after all in FarCry2 in DX10. Did you check the condition of the hard disk by looking with the SMART monitoring you. You only did a surface test with HDDScan tool which doesn't tell you everything, except if you have bad sectors or not. So click on "S.M.A.R.T" button in the HDDScan tool and see if there's something wrong with the hard disk. If it's all green then the hard disk is fine, otherwise it's not.

    If it's not the hard disk, then it's either the GPU or logic/motherboard and replacing them could be expensive. But you do not have any problems when you are just e.g. using Office or web-browser to surf the net?
     
  19. Fracicone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just did that: all green!

    I haven't been using offince for a while,
    But during web browsing or youtubing, even
    running a music program(guitar rig), I've never
    a black nor a blue screen of death...

    I know it's expensive, then i ran out of warranty too, so acer will surely
    charge some extras: and from the moment I'm in italy, those extras will
    be just EXTRA. That's why I'd rather exchanging my laptop with my father's one...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page