1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

965 Black Ed. @ 5 GHz. Which cooler should I use?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Leito360, Jul 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Leito360

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I was thinking to push my 965 to 4.5 or 5 GHz, but I don't know which cooler use to keep the temps low.
    Honestly, I'm not very confident about the 212+ performance in that frequency.

    I hear suggestions, and if it's possible, approximate temperatures. I own an Antec 1200 with 8 fans.
     
  2. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    You need subzero to even consider an X4 at that speeds. A 212+ will push it to around 4Ghz at the max
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,044
    ^ That is the truth.
     
  4. Leito360

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'm not saying I'll use a 212+, I'm asking for an idea of cooler.
    Even I'll be satisfied if I reach 4.5 Ghz.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,044
    LN2, dry ice, liquid helium, cascade, etc. No air or water cooling system will get you there.
     
  6. Leito360

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    They really hit the wall that soon?
    What a crap...
    What about 4.2?
     
  7. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    462 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Finland
    On air 4Ghz is plausible but requires a decent cooler and little know how
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,044
    It will most likely not be stable. Phenom II quads hit a wall at around 4ghz, this has been common knowledge for quite some time. It's not "a crap" it's what it is. I'm sure people on other forums where you have asked this question have told you the same thing. If you want a CPU that will do 4.5-5ghz with an air cooler, get an Intel Sandy Bridge CPU.
     
  9. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,141 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    04578
    yea pretty much sandybridge is the only way to get past 4ghz 99% of the time otherwise it takes lots of cooling luck and a good chip. where as sandybridge cpus i havent seen a single K series not hit 4.5ghz
     
  10. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    What Erocker said is true....A water cooling system with a Peltier cooler might do it actually probably will do it....up too about 4.5 possible 4.6 or 4.7 pushing it.... But any higher will have to be Dry Ice, Liquid Helium or something along those lines. Your chip with that die is not cut out do hit as high as clocks as like a 32nm i7/i5/i3
     
  11. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    I hit 4.2Ghz @ 1.58v with a 955 C3 with a Apogee XT and a 240 Feser years ago before i saw the light and came to intel.

    Now i hit 4.2Ghz at 1.2v with a 20 dollar Rocketfish Hyper 212+ Ripoff cooler..... :laugh:

    God i can't WAIT for Ivy Bridge
     
  12. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,563 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Wow. I just got my brother a 965. Just upped voltage to 1.45v and mutli to 20x. We played about 4 hours of bfbc2 and last night about 4hrs of borderlands. So i guess his chip is a good one? It was so easy to hit 4ghz i was thinking of playing with fsb..210mhz for 4.2.... Not possible? Air cooling. Currently idles at 38c and load around 58c. Cant remeber exact model of cooler but a highend nocturna.

    Ran 3dmark11.vantage.OCT 1hr.superpi.prime95..all stable.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
  13. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Depends on the stepping. The 965 is a C3 so 4Ghz should be a given with proper cooling. The C2's were shit and topped out around 3.6GHz
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,044
    You're 4c away from max temperatures. CPU/NB (IMC) frequency plays a large part in performance as well.
     
  15. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,563 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    From what we noticed only OCT/Prime was able to hit that 58C. In games he has been around 53c-55c. Although duly noted.

    How does the 965 respond to FSB? He has great ram that can easily run 2000Mhz. I would really like to drop the multi to 15x-18x and run the FSB at 222Mhx-266mhz.
     
  16. antuk15

    antuk15

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    You just need a magic chip and good cooling :)

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    antuk15 says thanks.
  18. antuk15

    antuk15

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    They aint as bad as people make out if you overclock the NB to 2.6Ghz+
     
  19. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Meh... I have mixed feeling on Amd. I had a 4.2Ghz 1090T with a 3Ghz NB and it bottlenecked my 6870's in Xfire badly. When i switched to a 4.2Ghz 760 Setup my Vantage scores went up 3K points.
     
  20. antuk15

    antuk15

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    That's funny I've seen a 3.9Ghz 1055T run them flat out :confused:

    The 6000 series are less sensitive to CPU clock speed and tend to require less CPU clocks to get maxium scaling compared to the older generations.
     
  21. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    1090T

    [​IMG]

    760

    [​IMG]
     
  22. antuk15

    antuk15

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You guys are comparing thuban to denab. OCing experience is different
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Ever notice that amd fans always whine like you do about synthetics when they lose and gloat when they win? :laugh:
     
  25. antuk15

    antuk15

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    I never gloat about anything when it comes to syntetics, I never play them..oh...wait...no one does :rolleyes:

    Syntethics are just there for sad people to brag about there hardware and e-peen.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page