1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

965 OC what am I missing

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by aleicgrant, Jun 4, 2009.

  1. aleicgrant New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    64 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    hey there

    ok very much new at overclocking so I just want to make sure I am not doing things incorrectly

    I have a i7 965 with an asus rampage II extreme.

    I changed the profile to XMP for my memory and then only changed the ratio to 30 which puts me at 3.999ghz

    Everything else is left on auto.

    Do I need to do anything else in terms of adjustment? voltage etc?

    With a v-10 cooler temps are mid 40's while idle at 4ghz
  2. aleicgrant New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    64 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    anyone :) I would really really appreciate the help.
  3. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Check out the i7 overclocking thread. Make sure you do some stability testing to make sure it's stable using OCCT/Linpack etc, and watch your temps. What kind of cooling are you using?
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2009
  4. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,120 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    You should run some stability tests to confirm your OC is stable. There are quite a few options and most are covered in these forums, e.g. Prime95, Orthos, OCCT. I use OCCT because it suits me.

    For a more specific and comprehensive test, you might consider joining the Ultra Stable PC Club.
  5. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    thats some expensive hardware

    i would think you knew what you were doing when buying it

    i envy your rig
  6. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,135 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    The i7 is still a relatively new platform.
  7. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,813 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    965 Extreme...NICE. On a Rampage II Extreme??? Very Nice...PLEASE fill out system specs. This is the place for advice on playing with that, but we need more info.
  8. aleicgrant New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    64 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    I went ahead and added system specs. I have been playing around computers for years but for some reason overclocking is just one of those things that get foggy for me. And besides, with such knowledgeable people here I am hoping to take advantage of that expertise :)
  9. aleicgrant New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    64 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    stable but .........

    I just want reassurance on settings. I mean all I did is set the xmp and put the ratio to 30.

    if it stays stable at 3.999ghz and temps are great I am happy as a clam. I just dont want to find out down the road I should have tweaked something else that could have extended the life of the cpu.
  10. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,813 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    *System Specs*....:eek::twitch: Holy Crap!!!! GTX295 Quad SLI???? :rockout::rockout::rockout:

    Have you ran a Vantage or 3DMark06 run??? Pics???? Give me something...VERY NICE RIG!!!! *Sitting here waiting patiently for pics of a DREAM MACHINE*
  11. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,135 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    If I weren't saving up for a car I'd build myself a rig like that. Very nice!
  12. aleicgrant New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    64 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  13. aleicgrant New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    64 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    still have some "cabling" to do :)
  14. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,120 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    It's not possible to be 100% certain your mobo hasn't set something stupid but given the quality of your gear, thats highly unlikely.

    BTW nice pics! Please run a 3dmark or something as the others have asked, we are all keen to see how well it goes:) It's also a moderate stability check.
  15. aleicgrant New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    64 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    giving it a shot as we speak. assume you mean 3dmark06?
  16. aleicgrant New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    64 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    ok I did one 3dmark06 basic and one 3dmark vantage extreme.

    For some reason it doesnt report my overclocked cpu but cpu-z does. I assume I should trust cpu-z

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    these are with stock settings on the 295's.

    and now selecting performance

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2009
  17. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Yous should call the Stig :D.
    Do please do some cable management that PC deserve it.
    I think I know how you have chosen your components:
    You have gone the store and than:
    You: May I have the most expensive mobo, most expensive CPU ...
    Sales man: I get it most expensive from everything ...
    :D

    And I can see that you are new at TPU. Some pointers never ever tell where you live or you you are going to be robbed :D.
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2009
  18. aleicgrant New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    64 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    actually quite the contrary. I have spent my time wisely looking for sales both new and used, open box and in the case of the proc bought an ES right here for a nice price. Certainly not cheap but I havent paid retail in years :)
  19. aleicgrant New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    64 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    bumped up video cards to 695/1541/1150

    [​IMG]
  20. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    Holy ass your processor and video cards alone cost like double what my system cost.

    Why god, why!!!
  21. aleicgrant New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    64 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    system Specs

    ha ha. I got the 965 at a killer price on the forums and one of the cards is used. I am bargain basement if I can make it happen :)
  22. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,120 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    As I scrolled down through your pictures, I started to :cry: Your rig can sure deliver some numbers.
  23. aleicgrant New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    64 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    thanks for the compliments.

    Now I am hoping with some refinement and help from good people here I can squeak out some more numbers :)
  24. aleicgrant New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    64 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    bump
  25. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,120 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page