1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

9800GTX+ bios on a 9800GTX

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by FilipM, Feb 7, 2009.

  1. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Don't know if already asked, probably yes but can a 9800GTX+ bios be put on a 9800GTX without any problem? Clocks aren't a problem, the card that i got holds much higher than the reference on the 9800GTX+.

    I noticed here:

    http://66.196.80.202/babelfish/tran...iews/2009/leistungsaufnahme_graka/index16.php

    which is an article of graphics cards actual power consumption that the 9800GTX+ actually has idle speeds seperated from the 3D ones, where as the regular 9800GTX doesn't.

    So if I flash the bios on my card from a 9800GTX+ one, will it work or will the fact that the newer one is a 55nm chip make it not work?
     
  2. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    u should not could do this 'cause 9800GTX is 65nm and 9800GTX+ is 55nm :)
     
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I would be cool for the implementation of the power saving feature, but things like memory timings and other coding is probably unique to the 55nm cards, something I would say is not worth the risk. I would say enjoy the 9800GTX as-is, maybe create some profiles in Precision so you can drop the clocks to a predifined 2D setting and then your gaming settings and use shortcut keys.

    :toast:
     
    FilipM says thanks.
  4. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    There basically the same card, only the 55nm process on the +. It can probably be done, but i don't think there will be any noticeable difference in performance.
     
  5. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    Nah, it's not the performance im worried about, i want them 2d clocks. Doin the precision thing as we speak
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page