1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A 1 page website, what would be my best option?

Discussion in 'Programming & Webmastering' started by shevanel, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I'm looking for a low cost solution to having a website domain that only consisted of 1 page.. this page would only show a schedule of events for guests interested in what entertainment we will be offering for the week.

    What's the cheapest way or site to use?

    I ask because even if I search I doubt I could find a better offer than one someone will/could suggest.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    Buy a domain and point it to a free host. That would be the cheapest way I guess. It depends on if you have already built the site yourself and know how to upload it to a server via FTP. If you need one built some of the free host's have a site builder. 000webhost springs to mind they have one I think.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  3. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I don't want to spend more than $10 / month and I don't want to have a website name like "mywebsitename.freewebhosting.wealsohave_freemailaccountsDOTcom"
     
  4. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    How much bandwidth are you expecting? Should be able to do it on the cheap if you don't expect more than a couple hundred MB a week.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  5. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    If you own a domain www.yoursite.com you can host it at a free server that will let you use your domain name. domains can be had cheap.
    Most just ask that somewhere in your site you link back to them. which is not a big ask considering they host your site for nothing.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  6. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    Understood. I will look into buying a domain name 1st.

    As far as traffic.. I might get 50 hits a week... if that lol. when you hit my site it will show just a list of bands/djs/comedians playing this week.. simple schedule.
     
  7. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    Easy as that :)
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  8. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,957 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,798
    Location:
    IA, USA
    $10 a month will pay for the domain name. If you got a computer that runs 24/7 with internet access, you could install Apache or IIS and host your page on that machine. A single page shouldn't take much bandwidth and any computer would do.

    Perhaps you could find a friend that already hosts a site and ask if he/she could host the page and you point your domain to that specific page.
     
    shevanel and grunt_408 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    Which is better, apache or IIS?

    I'm using win7 64
     
  10. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    Most people would probably say apache. But I don't think it's going to matter at all for a 1 page server.
     
    shevanel says thanks.
  11. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    shevanel says thanks.
  12. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I don't mean to sound like an idiot but what is easier.. to pay for a webhost or use the apache?
     
  13. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    To be honest . I have never hosted my own so I would not know. But not so long ago I needed a website and looked into the cost of having one built. I thought I would give it a try. I used serif webplus x4 to make it. And I use 000 webhost for hosting and upload it with smart FTP. It was actually easier than I thought. If I can do it anyone can :D.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2010
    shevanel says thanks.
  14. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,957 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,798
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I'd say IIS. It runs in the background of Windows, updates with Windows Update, and is stupid simple to configure. You can install it via Programs and Features in the Control Panel then on the left, click Turn Windows features on or off.

    Expand "Internet Information Services" and check the box next to "World Wide Web Services."

    After that, you should be able to access Internet Information Service from the Control Panel or Accessories -> Administrative Tools. Throw the file you want to host into the wwwroot and there ya go.


    Depends on the reliability of your ISP, how frequently your IP changes, and how familiar you are with port forwarding in routers.

    Webhosts generally have good reliability, infrequent IP changes (and if it does, they'll update your domain too), and you don't have to think about port forwarding at all.

    Actually, I screwed up. Domain names cost $10 a year. A cheap, decent webhost might cost $4 a month or about $5 a month total.

    I've done business with LVCS.net in the past and it was good (that's where the $5/month figure comes from):
    http://www.lvcs.net/
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2010
    grunt_408 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    This is my suggestion: keep it very simple and keep it under your control so that you can learn from the process.

    Do you have an old computer at home? If so, use that with Win XP and install IIS server on it. It is free from MS.

    Use dyndns.org and their utility dyndnsupdater on the PC to update the pointing of your domain name to your PC.

    Run something like http://www.silverstripe.com/ opensource. This will let you build your website. It has LOTS of features and is easy to use.

    Job done. No cost. Except for the domainname.

    ----------------

    If you dont have a second PC, just run in on your main rig. Your Core2 will not even notice the CPU cycles needed to keep such a simple thing running in the background.
     
  16. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    I have an old p4 machine i was going to use as a simple file server.. I could use that huh?
     
  17. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    Should be more than enough.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page