1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A case with perfect grounding

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by Octopuss, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    809 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Czech republic
    Some people say grounding is still a big problem (in some cases) even with higher grade more expensive cases. I have Auzentech X-fi forte I gave up on using because of constant sound problems even with new drivers. One guy suggested it MIGHT be grounding problem and according to his tests, some current can be measured on almost every case out there, which possibly causes problems.
    So my question is, are you aware of any case in under say $200 range which is perfect in this way?
  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I really wouldn't have that as my main requirement for looking for a case, its a moot point and even if most cases have some kind of current going through them whiich I can't comment on, its obviously not that big of an issue as there would be a lot more talk about it.
  3. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,302 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    London, UK
    try a high end coolmaster or a NZXT case, both are great choices
  4. Papahyooie

    Papahyooie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    600 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Ground the case to the screw on a wall outlet or something like that with a wire.
  5. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,302 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    London, UK
    i dont think it is ground although the OP mentioned it, maybe it is interference in the case caused by the computer components inside it.

    Linky
  6. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    809 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Czech republic
    I heard about this method but I do not like it very much. Extra cables/wires suck. Also, howwould I attach it to the case to make sure the contact is good? (or where of course)
  7. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    touch the inside of the case and see if that fixs the audio... if it dosnt then its not likely a grounding issue....
  8. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    809 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Czech republic
    Good idea. I will try it, thanks:)
  9. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    720 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    If there is current going through your case to ground, then there is an issue with your components leaking current onto the ground plane rather than the return lines (the black wires). Not an issue with the case at all. In fact, even a well grounded case would still have current running through it in the above instance because it's doing what it's supposed to.
  10. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    touch the inside of the case with one hand while placing the other hand on one breast. if that doesn't fix the audio problem your soundcard is possible gay.
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2010
  11. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,302 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    London, UK
    :roll:
  12. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,215 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    this is the most likely scenario :toast:
  13. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,181 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,137
    +2
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  14. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,764 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Do you have a link to the actual comments "one guy" made?

    I am interested in what sort of currents he found; DC? or AC?, if AC what frequency? What amperage are these currents? How is he determining these currents exist?

    Chassis grounding exists for one purpose; to direct transient voltages to earth in order to protect personnel from electrical shock.
  15. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Wow my soundcard was playing up and I just tried this and it didnt work, whod'a thought it I thought it was faulty and all this time it was gay!!! :roll:

    Oh and sigged :D :toast:
  16. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    809 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Czech republic
    My english is not good enough to translate that and besides, I have like zero knowledge about electricity, so sorry, can't.
  17. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Use the thanks button now and then you have been here over a year and not given one, its just polite :)
  18. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    809 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Czech republic
    What does a button have to do with my question? I have no idea what are you talking about.
  19. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Absolutely nothing, only 9 people have responded to you so it was just a suggestion :slap: Bye
  20. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    He is just stating, that if you appreciate the help people are giving, use the "Thanks" button once in a while. We appreciate being thanked sometimes. :toast:
    NdMk2o1o says thanks.
  21. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,561 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,966

    the best way to check if your case is grounded is...

    take the plug out pf the PSU
    take a LED, attach long wires to it.
    then touch the positive wire to the top of the cmos battery.
    take the other wire and touch it anywhere on the case, or the earthing wire of the PSU.

    if the led glows, everything is well grounded.


    this can be tested with a multimeter too, but how many peoplw have multimeters?
  22. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    809 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Czech republic
    That's very good idea too. Will give it a try when I have some time for experimenting. Cheers.
  23. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,561 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,966
    cheers
  24. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,745 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,462
    on every single case that i've seen the metal frame is connected to the metal frame of the psu which is connected to ground on the power cable.

    you screw your card to the metal frame of the case, so it is grounded.

    get a multimeter, set it to measure resistance, pick two spots that you expect to be ground, put probes there, resistance should be <1 ohm
    mastrdrver says thanks.
  25. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,561 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,966
    there is a connectivity checking mode on multimeters that can be used.
    [​IMG]

    in this mode, a true connection gives a beep. also the resistance is shown
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page