1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A-Data to Announce DDR3 Module

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jun 3, 2006.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    [​IMG]

    Adata Techonology Inc. is to announce DDR3 memory modules at Computex 2006 on June 6, 2006. DDR3 is the next generation of memory which promises greater bandwidth and lower power. These modules are expected to hit 1600 MHz in the future but there's not a word about the memory access latency of DDR3. AMD is expected to support DDR3 memory with the upcoming K8L quad-core processors in 2008.

    Source: DailyTech
     
  2. Tory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    339 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    looks pretty sweet
     
  3. POGE

    POGE New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    In banjo's Goats.
    Whats the point if theres nothing to support it yet?
     
  4. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    At least it has to start from somewhere. :) How the K8L is supposed to work with ddr3 when......there isn't a ddr3 module on the market...so adata is trying to fix the issue.
     
  5. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Agreed, 110% - everything starts from small beginnings &/or prototype designs.

    :)

    * This is a "look @ the future" imo...

    APK

    P.S.=> The ONLY part that 'bums me out' some, is that I just bought an entirely new machine, fairly "state-of-the-art/cutting-edge" on many of its parts, & when I see that new things like this are coming out of the gate that are @ least POTENTIALLY faster/better?

    Well, you know what I mean!

    "Buy today/it's slow later today" type stuff... apk
     
  6. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    OMG! DDR3! So... why do I need it?
     
  7. XooM New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    479 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Close to FrozenCPU.com
    you dont... yet. kinda like you didnt need DDR2 when DDR1 was standard. but it'll be needed all soon enough, when AMD and Intel dump DDR2 for DDR3 in what, 08?
     
  8. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    My Rig year 2057:

    Mobo- DFI NX2100 NFx5 (9X97X Chipset)
    CPU- Intel StreamFire Pentium VIV 3.6gHz @ 6.4gHz
    GPU- ATI CX4200GTX 2GB ram 1200=Core 3600=mem
    Ram- DDX7 (pc7600)
    Cooling- Quad cascade Phase II AIR ICE
    HDD- 120TB Molecule compressed flash drive.

    Aqua mark3= 246,345,865,843,913
    Super PI= 0.0002736s

    Edit: Not bad for a buget build, ehh, lol i was just remebering back when i was a kid trying to overclock my P4 3.2gHz CPU and like a 7800GT, lol the good old days.
     
  9. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    offtopic:
    Wow....then i'm not going to say how i was playing Q3 on my old permedia2...good old stone age.:D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page