1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A-Data Vitesta Extreme Edition 4 GB DDR2 800+ MHz CL4

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by nflesher87, Jul 16, 2008.

  1. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 6, 2008
    DonInKansas says thanks.
  2. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    Nice review man, that's a nice kit there, especially for that price, that's not that bad at all.
     
  3. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Excellent price, but for the Extreme Edition it claims to be, I dont see anything Extreme about it, performance/OC wise.
     
  4. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    indeed it may be a bit of an exaggeration, though it's definitely an "extreme edition" in it's price range
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  5. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    yeah, but it's A-Data, do they really have anything "extreme" that compares with companies like Corsair?

    edit: that was meant towards wareagle
     
  6. HELLSPAWNPR

    HELLSPAWNPR New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Hatillo, Puerto Rico
    I have this Kit , Bought them mostly because of the color. they look cool.
    [​IMG]
     
  7. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    that pictures tells us nothing other than you have 2 sticks of A-Data memory. and they're not installed in matching slots. :p

    edit: granted, we could just look at your system specs :rolleyes:
     
  8. HELLSPAWNPR

    HELLSPAWNPR New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Hatillo, Puerto Rico
    that was my point of buying them. Was mostly for the looks. And in my MSI board to get dual channel one has to go in green and the other in orange.
     
  9. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    really? your board is weird, that totally defeats the purpose of having color-coded slots imo.
     
  10. HELLSPAWNPR

    HELLSPAWNPR New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Hatillo, Puerto Rico
    Yup
     
  11. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    MSI = Fail!
     
  12. HELLSPAWNPR

    HELLSPAWNPR New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Hatillo, Puerto Rico
    it may have its design issues, but at the moment hasnt givin me a probs, knock on wood, beside the ones i cause overclocking, at current setting its beheaving nicely.
     
  13. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Well they do have the on Vitestas that had Micron D9s in them and they clocked like a dream. Im sure they are still out there with the chips...

    The price is nice and extreme, but it has to be more than just price. Im just wondering what Ics they use.
     
  14. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    Most MSI boards do it that way :)
     
  15. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,160 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Whats your current ram timings and current speed?
     
  16. HELLSPAWNPR

    HELLSPAWNPR New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Hatillo, Puerto Rico
    4-4-4-12 /733

    now i have them at 5-4-4-10 / 928
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2008
  17. bb-gun

    bb-gun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Our Adata is better than this kit. Micron controller and the price was lower (2gb kits). They went discontinued at @@#egg because the price was $30 per 2gb I got only one set and later you know well hellspawn where I found the other kit.


    I will kill you with my new shotgun this Friday so see you at the lanparty pal!!!
     
  18. HELLSPAWNPR

    HELLSPAWNPR New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Hatillo, Puerto Rico
    I remember the 2 X1GB Kits were 49.99 i bought 2 kits them sold them. Was hoping to buy the 2 x2GB balistik tracers with red LEDs but were 150.00 back then. So bought theses instead for 79.99 wasnt going to spend 70.00 for just the leds.

    And as for the lanparty this friday ,in COD4 i got my Dragunov waiting for you.
    "You will try " :laugh:
     
  19. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    do these stix have microns nflesher? peel those heatspreaders off and lets find out! you could prolly sell them for more if they were guaranteed microns
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page