1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

a faulty CPU can cause hangs????

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by CH@NO, Feb 1, 2009.

  1. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    If the CPU became faulty It can cause hangs/freezes???

    I ask you 'cause my system worked like a charm when I has my (now dead) Ep35-DS3L mobo, but when I buyed my currently P5Q-E from Asus the system can't be OCked at all, just the system becomes fully stable at stock, any other configuration makes the system hang/freeze at random, could be within an hour, or after 6 hours, but in the end It always happened.

    I think on various reasons.

    1.- The CPU became faulty.

    2.- The mobo doesn't support any OC 'cause it uses a 8pin CPU jack, and I only plugged a 4pin connector 'cause my PSU only have this....or the mobo is faulty (came with the onboard sound dead)

    3.- The mobo isn't fully compatible with my actual ram, I taking the ram itself out of the equation 'cause at stock it shows zero errors on memtest, also when they are OCked.

    I'm mostly sure that the mobo It's causing me the hangs (already trying to sell it, to buy again a P35 from Gigabyte), but I dunno if a faulty CPU could bring hangs/freezes.....

    Please show me the light with this....THANX!!.
  2. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    If the CPU was faulty it probably wouldn't POST, mobo is a big possibility considering everytime you are changing things it crashes. But the PSU could be it to, try doing very small OC's, maybe the PSU cant handle the speed you want it at. There are many different reasons a system will crash tho.
    CH@NO says thanks.
  3. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    but using the same PSU on my ep35-ds3l mobo was fully stable at 3.9GHz using 1.33v.

    It could be the PSU indeed, but only using this Asus board (must be due to it need more juice using an 8pin jack), and since It came with the onboard sound dead, I'll change it with a normal 4pin CPU jack gigabyte mobo.

    So the CPU is fine????
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I had P35 DS3L. It died randomly one day and started giving me crap before so that's probably what it is.
    CH@NO says thanks.
  5. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    CPU's normally dont fail that much, but it does happen, if you can try another CPU i say do it. Also yes, the CPU power connector could be the issue, i would really say you need the other connector to really push the CPU, which could be the reason of the crashing. Does it say stable on the Asus board with a small OC?
  6. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    the less I tried was 3.55GHz using only 1.23v, I cannot OC right now, I a little busy encoding some stuff for a customer, but once I finish I'll try OC with all settings on AUTO and see what happens.
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  7. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    I think that too, just I'm stuck with Asus....Gigabyte never failles me, when It dies mostly was due to a corrupt BIOS on the floppy drive, not GB fault, but anyway I'm after a GB model that has the Intel P35 (4pin CPU jack) but has dual-bios feature (just in case, I'm not rich enough to buy new HW all the time, mi wife almost cut my balls everytime I buy new HW:cry:)
  8. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Don't know the reliability of those boards, but that is a big possibility.
  9. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I hear the P45 boards are very reliable tho, and people always go on my 680i like its crap, but for me its been stable for a long while now.:)
  10. Dan2312 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    216 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    England!
    When my socket 478 P4 was faulty, the system resetted at times when loading XP.

    it was hard to figure out what the problem was, so i just took it back to the shop to have it sorted.
  11. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Yes it can, especially if you have high temps or an unstable oc. HDD failure can cause it too. Something messed up between the cpu and mb, especially if your not fully powering it.
  12. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    I already had this problem once. It was the GPU of the videocard that overheat and keep hanging the system. Maybe the thermal paste is dry and in need to be changed or the small fan itself have difficulty winding. Look for that.
  13. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    I know having an unstable OC can cause hangs/freezes, but at the minimal OC charge the system freezes randomly.....the ask about the faulty CPU is if my CPU could be damaged??
  14. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    I don't think the VGA is the cause because It happens at IDLE, and the card doesn't reach even the 60C (stays at 54C), this cards are maded to resist more than 100C.
  15. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Ok up to you ..good luck in fixing this problem
  16. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    Same here :laugh: p35 DS3L... random weirdness... mobo blamed everything but itself. I ended up with 2 PSU's and 8GB of ram at the end of it all :banghead:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page