1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

a little chipped part from VGA board !!!

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by Beny-Nvidia, Oct 26, 2009.

  1. Beny-Nvidia Guest

    hi here is the image of my board ...
    its out of warranty because of this chipped part of my board ...

    can it be fixeD ?! the support team said me that they can do something about it but they were not sure if its my problem or not ?!
    but they said they can some kind of fix it but they dont assure me how much the card will live ! maybe one weeks maybe for ever !

    here is the image link :

    [​IMG]

    http://img2.tinypic.info/files/5wa06oetp12uwafhku6f.jpg

    the related old topic is here, please take a look :

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=1578485#post1578485


    so, i want to know the fact of this fixing operation, is this the main problem of my board or not ?! :-?

    thanks
     
  2. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    cant really tell is the solder pad broken off? if it is forget about fixing it. Its an easy fix in a way, 1st u have to find wat part chiped off then order a new then just solder it back on ( need to have lil bit of experience soldering:p)
     
  3. Sir_Real

    Sir_Real New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Lincoln England
    I reckon thats a pcb circuit protection fuse. You may be ok to just solder the the connections together. But as them connections are tiny it will take some very careful soldering. Conductive silver paint would be alot easier. Or maybe even just draw lines across with a sharp pencil !

    If you have a multimeter check the identical chip opposite the missing one to make sure its not a resistor. Now if there is resistance in the chip your prob going to have to try the pencil mod trick & get the resistance between the pads as close as you can to the opposite chip. Might not be possible mind !

    But then again you say the support team can do something about it. If thats the case let them sort it. Unless their going to charge you silly money that is.
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea soldering experience is a must in this situation BUT in my opinion you should just go ahead and upgrade to the GTX 260. The GTX 260 are very low priced right now and would give you better performance over this older 8800GTX (Even tho the 8800 series are still beasts)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas

    well thats an option too:nutkick:thought the question was his trying to get an idea how to fix it not replace it but ur right best option is just replace it too much of a hassle when can buy a better one
     
  6. Beny-Nvidia Guest

    hi
    im not the fixer ...
    the support team just said me that the pad was gone and they can something to do but they dont garranty if it works or not ... because they dont really now if this chipped part caused the problem or not !
    im just asking to you is this possible to fix it and make it running good like before for may be a year or not ?!
    but they told me that they can do some kind of hiding this mess to send it back to factory and see if it gives me new one or not !

    the fact is, im asking you can they completely fix my problem by their own or not ?!
     
  7. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    You should know unless you knocked that part off yourself then they are liable to replace while it's under warranty. Don't take their sh!t and get the new card you deserve.
     
  8. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,477 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    @ Binge is that avy 'rock solid' because she makes you rock solid and 'heart touching' because she touches your heart with her good looks? if so LOL

    Sorry for off topic
     
  9. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I'm in love... plus if you look at the "Fair Lady" thread, she is using an ASUS motherboard. It all fits together :laugh:

    Back to the topic... don't let them cheat you out of a replacement.
     
  10. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    What about using Window Defroster Repair Kit to fill the bridge. This is what I used back in the day to unlock Athlon XP multipliers. Just a suggestion.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Do NOT modify anything if you are not at fault here. Only if you have no other option should you tamper with your equipment.
     
  12. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    This is big because you need to listen. What is missing is a capacitor. It's an extremely cheap part that's missing, but if you jump the connection you will most likely destroy your card slowly. You need to know the value and type of capacitor before you replace it. It would be best to get those jerks who have your card to replace it.
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,741 (9.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,220
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    X2
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,139 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,196
    Judging by the location of that resistor, all having it missing would cause is the PCI-E lane size to drop to something lower(x8, x4, x2, x1 depending on how far along the PCI-E connector it is). It shouldn't be causing artifacts or blue-screens.

    Also, those don't just fall off, it was probably broken off when you were inserting or removing the card. I've even seen them broken off when people are swapping out RAM, as the little latches on the RAM can come very close to the PCI-E slot on some motherboards.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,163 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    925
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I've had one fall of my MB and it worked just fine lol.
     
  16. Dixxhead

    Dixxhead New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    214 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Many of those capacitors are rendundant in my experience...

    I had a 9800xt were I broke one off because of the Ram-Banks, after running it for a few days without the capacitor I soldered it back on (I had a bad feeling about it, so to say)... Can't say I noticed any diffrence though. They're basically just there to "filter" the current going to your parts... of course, if you don't break them off it is better, but your hardware should work without problems (MAYBE run a bit hotter) if there is only one missing and it is not interrupting some kind of lane by missing... I have a 360 were about 3 of those little bastards are missing from below the GPU and it still works (side effect of having to repair the ROD 6-7 times and being careless... You just happen to break some of them off :p)
     
  17. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    That missing part is a capacitor which is part of a differential signal path. It's important to keep differential signals symmetric. If they are not symmetric then you are degrading signal integrity between the card and the PCI-E. That particular capacitor handles DC blocking. It won't cause your PCI-E lane bandwidth to drop, but it is pretty bad. newtekie is right in the sense that this won't cause artifacts, but lost signal could definitely cause a bluescreen. Any worsening in performance/stability may only get worse as capacitors/resisters will be hit with larger unbalanced loads as use continues.
     
  18. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    just send it back worse thing could happen is they cant fix and u got a reason to buy a better card :rockout:
     
  19. Beny-Nvidia Guest

    hi there
    thank you all for your responses ...

    yes, they told me this ! and they said its a physical lose on board and its out of garranty ...

    they said as asus policy they cant accept this board because of its lose on the board ! is it true ?!

    did u took a look on my related topic ?! i think the problem is caused by this lose ! what do u think ?!

    what do u think if i call the main department of asus company of talk with them about this problem .
    i said about calling asus to my reseller company and they said if u call them they will get your board's Serial Number and as we said it will be out of garranty and u won be able to send it to them and take your chance !
    what do u say ?!

    is this lose ok with asus garranty voiding policies ?!


    here is the related images to my problem . they are also in my related topic that i linked you above .

    http://img2.tinypic.info/files/98348kud14d7dpbit5yy.jpg

    http://img2.tinypic.info/files/6iyi0l3c6xqfa7j59maq.jpg

    http://img2.tinypic.info/files/ecxizyxph3cqt6soajbj.jpg
     
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,139 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,196
    I guess it could be causing the problems.

    I know a sure fire way to test would be to tape off the PCI-E connector past the connector associated with that capacitor(Similar to what they did here). Then stick the card in a motherboard and fire it up, if it works, then you know the missing capacitor is the problem, and replacing it will fix the problem. If it still gives you then image corruption and artifacts, then you know the missing capacitor isn't your problem.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. Beny-Nvidia Guest

    hi
    i didnt really understand it ... can u just describe it for me ?
    http://techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/HD_5870_PCI-Express_Scaling/
     
  22. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    That might be a fun experement, but on what grounds do you have to say that would prove anything? The connection that is broken is only on one pair of leads coming off of one contact point. The contact point is still accepting signal but it is asyncronous so it will produce error.

    Buddy, call ASUS, don't tell them anything about the loose part. Read their RMA for yourself and get educated. Do not trust a reseller. They want you to buy more things from them. Tell ASUS your card is no longer functioning like it was before play dumb, and when they recieve your card play dumb even when they confront you about the loose piece. They will not want to lose your business over this. In fact they may offer to repair this which would be VERY SIMPLE. Like I said above the capacitor is a cheap part, and ASUS more than anyone would know which capacitor to use.
     
  23. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    By the looks of the picture it seems as if the chip had fried and basically melted off. i dont see that being an easy user friendly fix, as the contact appears to be gone from the motherboard. In this case they will probably blame your power supply/motherboard and not themselves.

    I'd fight it cause it doesnt look like if was knocked off by you, if it were you'd still have the contact in tact. or it wouldnt look black...as if it fried.
     
  24. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    There's a serious problem with your logic. The PCB is black and abbrased black boards like that would look "melted" since it already has a satin quality to the material.
     
  25. Beny-Nvidia Guest

    ok, ill call them...
    but as they said before this porcedure may take three months (sending it back to asus and getting it back) !

    but i dont really want to spend my three months for a simple problem that may could be fixed in here !

    i want to know is this right that they're telling me it can void the garranty or not ?! or is this fact that theyre telling to me that MAYBE I DID THIS TO BOARD Accidently ...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page