1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

a little help with ati tool

Discussion in 'ATITool' started by jcusimano2, Aug 15, 2008.

1. jcusimano2 New Member

Thanks Received:
    Ok I am a newbie with ati tool but it does work on my card and I need a little help if possible. so what about startup and overclocking should I just have ati tool load my oc profile on startup and just stay oc'd all of the time or should I use the 3d detection and only oc while in 3d and let 2d be default?? what way is the best Will I shorten the life of my card if I keep it oc'd all of the time?? and what if 3d detection has trouble telling when I am entering a 3d mode?? basically I want to use the most effec ctive way that requires the least amount of work but also will not F*** my card up thanks everyone

joe

I saw a older version that allowed the 2d 3d settings to be different. I was just thinking that I should disable ati2evxx.exe and let ati tool decide when to go into 3d/oc mode or just oc it all of the time what do most people do??

2. jcusimano2 New Member

Thanks Received:
    Anyone???

3. hat

hat Enthusiast

Thanks Received:
    you didn't even specify what card you have... we kinda need to know that. atitool was designed for ati video cards, hence the name. your probelms wouldn't suprise me if you had an nvidia card.

Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. romboi99 New Member

Thanks Received:
    yes what kind of card do you currently have, if its the new HD 3000/4000 series u wont have to disable overclock when not playing games as its driver does it automatically to save power and reduce heat

5. jcusimano2 New Member

Thanks Received:
    I apogogise I have ATI hd2400 pro

thanks

6. jcusimano2 New Member

Thanks Received: