1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A PC troubleshooting LESSON!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Sasqui, May 30, 2010.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,492 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,308
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    No matter how much time, you've had building and troubleshooting computers, there's always a curve ball. Read and learn :)

    2 months ago, my system started to lock up consistently after 2-10 minutes after booting. If I was working on it, the mouse would start to lag, then a few seconds later, completely unresponsive. I even had it lock up in a BIOS screen, even before booting into Windows!!! Here's what I tried, and each attempt met with no luck:

    Swapping the video card
    Swapping the memory
    Reverting to stock clocks
    CMOS Clear/reset
    Unplugging all storage peripherals (Extra HDD's, floppy, CD)
    A different boot HDD drive
    Monitoring the power draw (PSU)

    Finally, I replaced the MOTHERBOARD!!! Had a Maximus Formula X38, replaced with a Rampage Formula X48.

    Well, thought that was all good. but nooooo... About 15 min mouse studder, crash and blue screen. Rebooted and 10 min later locked up in windows like before.

    So I was scratching my head... ok - doing this: :banghead: I happened to have a spare keyboard lying around ( prodikeys of all things). Took out the old keyboard and put in the prodikeys...

    It's working!!!

    So here was the root of the problem:

    [​IMG]

    Go figure, a $15 keyboard was the issue.

    Lesson learned? Perhaps. And that lesson would be this: before replacing $100's worth of parts, start with cabling, then try to root out the cheap stuff.
    angelkiller, digibucc and Wyverex say thanks.
  2. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    907 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    haha. i had this aswell with my first build i used the apple keyboard which was usb for some reason it kept hanging at post. only way it would work was if i remove it and plug it back in when its into windows
  3. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,877 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,473
    i have this exact keyboard. thought it looked cool... not using it atm but if i have problems when i do - now i have an idea :) craziness.
    Sasqui says thanks.
  4. twilyth Guest

    Weird thing about USB - if something attached to the hub doesn't behave the way it's expected to, it's like a windup toy walking into a wall.

    I don't know why it just can't quarantine that channel and move on, but it doesn't.

    I've had this problem with a couple of usb devices and almost all of the time what happens is you have the system hang at bootup.

    I wonder if it's just coincidence that the same thing happened with bad IDE drives. If the system couldn't get pass the initialization or whatever it does at bootup, it would just hang.
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,492 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,308
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Eating CROW

    So, my dear TPU friends... everything seemed fine for a while, then the system started getting flakey again! I can't blame the keyboard.

    So I'm having CROW for dinner.

    I started this thread with a ASUS Rampage Formula X48 I found on eBay. When I booted everything seemed fine (for quite a while). First, I started witnessing blue screens, no clean lockups like before... then the MB LAN could not acquire an IP address from my router, neither plug.

    I started tryng other hardware again. Even a new hard drive and installing windows. I couldn't install windows, it would either lock up or reboot on it's own.

    by far, the WORST list of problems I've EVER had with a PC.

    Even installed a Matrox PCI video card, took out the onboard sound.

    Then... I tried a cheapo 400w PSU I had kicking around. HOLY SHIT, THINGS ARE WORKING!!! The Hiper TypeR 580w PSU is FUCKED. Now, I'm sure the Rampage MB is damaged. Out of three motherboards, here are the results:

    • Original Maximus Formula seems to be running fine, no issues. this was what I thought was the original problem :)
    • ASUS Rampage Formula - Onboard LAN will not acquire an IP address, flakes out on boot up from time to time. Even flashed to the newest BIOS :(
    • Newer Maximus Formula is fine, no issues. It was never plugged into the Hiper PSU. :)
    Lesson learned? I'm not sure - I think it's that you don't rave about a problem solved until you're absolutely sure.
  6. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yea that sucks. I have a gigabyte board which kept BSOD and restarting,
    my daughters computer. Had a thread here with everyone trying to help figure it out. Changed out everything but mother board. Just when I thought it was a bad board. I changed last two items and have had no trouble since, been going on 6 months.

    Dont know which one did it but I dont care either.

    The last two items changed was speakers went with a 20.00 cheap speakers from walmart. And went from Linksys wireless adapter to hardwire.
    Sasqui says thanks.
  7. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Cheap-o PSU = dead system. Lesson learned.
  8. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,492 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,308
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Wow, swapping either a speaker or router solved the problems? that is one for the books as well.

    I'm expecting arrival of a Corsair HX750 PSU today. I'm feeling gun-shy, like I'll discover it's something else, even after convincing myself otherwise <eek!>
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,492 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,308
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    It wasn't a chepo PSU. I've heard good things about Hiper (though some bad), and it lasted 5 yrs.
  10. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Hiper is not a quality PSU brand. No way, no how.
  11. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,492 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,308
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    A useless argument. At the time I purchased it, it was not a cheapo PSU.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page