1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

a program generate more heat than prime95

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by qwo, Nov 20, 2006.

  1. qwo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    48 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i found a program called cpuburn, it generate more heat than prime95 testing using same priority on my athlon3800+ 90nm, it can also detect any errors like prime95

    is there any other program that can make more heat than this?


    http://pages.sbcglobal.net/redelm/

    EDIT:just found out s&m is another program makes more heat than cpuburn;)
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2006
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    why are you trying to generate more heat?
  3. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,406 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    its to "burn in" your cpu so that you can cure your thermal compound...

    also the test flaws on your unit.


    great find btw! this will come in handy.
  4. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    If it survives the excess heat generated, than you know it will be stable under normal operating conditions. I would think Prime95 would suffice, but if you want to go another step, for absolute certainty, than why not?
  5. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    thanks for the info,how many thermal cycles does it take for arctic silver 5 to set? and how high do temps have to get because i ran this program and my temp arent going over 40c
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2006
  6. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Hmm, couldn't get mine above 44~C. Am I doing something wrong? Of course, I just installed an Arctic Freezer 7. I haven't gotten a chance to see how hot it'll get with it on there using other programs.
  7. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    i just ran sciencemark and that seems to generate more heat than this cpuburn program,but im also on water cooling
  8. MrSeanKon

    MrSeanKon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    267 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Athens in love with Anna :)
    Try S&M (long FPU test 100% CPU utilization) cos you have AMD. :D
    But this is a stability program not a burn-in tool.
  9. GIGGLA

    GIGGLA New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    156 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Without a doubt the S&M program pushes my cpu hotter than any other application(program) that I have used. It has a temperature monitoring screen you will want to keep an eye on this. Some have mentioned that there PWM IC also gets 10 celcius hotter than anything before. I prefer to use this program when the room temperature is rather cool. I have read about cpu-burn getting cpu's quite hot also. By the way HI! MrSeanKon I am a big fan of your guides! I thank you for the oc bible and guidemania! I like to read your guides and posts you are a funny guy :D
  10. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,276 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Too bad SuperPi can run continuously... at 32M, it's about a 45 min run (I think - never timed it), but I CAN tell you this:

    Prime95 + SuperPi running continuously... System pushed to it's limit, CPU at 100% (both cores). Temps around 60c.

    SuperPi stopped after about 5 min with an error.
    Prime95 kept running fine.

    Anyway - good find, I'll have to give that a spin once my systems/cases are swapped and running.
  11. D_o_S

    D_o_S Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    CPUBurn is known to produce the most heat...

    For error-detection/stability testing, I prefer Prime95 though
  12. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
  13. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Exactly... that is exactly what I thought of ScienceMark 2.0 as, as a bonus no less (above & beyond it being a benchmark solely): It is a GOOD "stability-test"...

    :)

    APK
  14. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,121 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    is there anyway to make sciencemark loop all the tests continuiously for like 5 or 6 hours?
  15. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Not sure, because I've NEVER tried that myself, & only ran its "std. defaults"...

    BUT, there are options in it, & this is where I believe you CAN do what you're after... making it run, LONGER!

    APK
  16. qwo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    48 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks

    s&m is hotter than cpuburn!

    but it's support page is in russian only

    does it have error check? does it count all errors?
  17. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7,989 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,084
    The downside to using a single looping execution code is that it will not test the full execution set of a processor. It is a small program that sits in L1 cache and recycles itself.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  18. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    This is, imo only, it's WEAKEST area - because I have had it either just "hang" or plain-jane disappear offscreen IF I "pushed too hard" on my O/C's?

    It lacks GOOD/proper CUSTOM error-handling in its procedures/functions/subroutines, quite possibly... above & beyond what's written into the compiler used, which is structured error handling iirc. The latter covers a LOT, but not all things, & this is where writing your OWN err-handlers help a LOT - especially IF you have to debug it!

    I say this, because when a program's written right, it should NEVER just 'disappear offscreen' but instead, should warn the user, & then do a PROPER 'cleanup & shutdown'...

    Above all: DON'T GET ME WRONG HERE!

    This doesn't make it a "BAD" program @ all, just 'incomplete'... many coders write up stuff w/ out PROPER err-handlers (like On Error GoTo stuff in VB, or Try-Catch-Except/Finally in Delphi, or Try in VB.NET etc.)... & add them later, as they learn to code better or rather, more 'properly'...

    APK

    P.S.=> Me? I'd NEVER put down Russian coders - they produce EXCELLENT work 9/10 times of wares I have used from those folks... especially compiler "addons" like Delphi's RxTools! apk
  19. MrSeanKon

    MrSeanKon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    267 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Athens in love with Anna :)
    I mentioned this for my AMD systems (for all).[/QUOTE]

    Well the most sensitive test it is L1,L2 cache for five A64 systems (one 754 and four 939) but for other systems things may differ.

    Good thread for stability click here at Ocforums

    Bonjour! :)
    P.S. I do not speak French!

    Thanks for comments if you want support of them a thread exists here at TechPowerUp!

    My friend SoF (it has AMD subzero system) encountered problems using Prime95.
    OK this is a personal view I also avoid Prime95 for testing and I check them with other programs e.g. OCCT.

    Regards,
    MrQuoteKon :D :D
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2006
  20. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7,989 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,084
    I have found a overnight run of Folding @ Home is the easiest way to tell is the system is performing properly. It excercises the CPU and memory systems in the same way a regular program would, just at higher demand. And with the CPU handling the disk data through controller offloading in most cases this is a good thing for continued data integrity and peace of mind IMHO.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  21. MrSeanKon

    MrSeanKon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    267 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Athens in love with Anna :)
    Many people Steevo (I don't) run folding programs to test the stability of their systems.
    Usually for 24-48 hours. :)
  22. GIGGLA

    GIGGLA New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    156 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    I tell you of S&M heat cpu most of anything. However I do not really recommend to use S&M because it is quite hard on the system, and if you must use, use only in very cool room temperature. I very rarely use this program anymore because of extreme heat it puts on electrical system. A user reported PWM chip at 65 celcius when max other programs was 55 celcius. Note that I put my finger in a cup of water at 49 celcius(120 degree farenheit) and I can hold my finger in the cup for infinity. When the cup of water is 50 celcius(122 degree farenheit) I can only hold my finger in the cup for 22 seconds then burn my finger. So I tell you this safety advice:toast:
  23. Alcpone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    If I use prime95 by itself it only stress my cpu 50%, if I run stresscpu also it push's both cores to the max!
  24. MrSeanKon

    MrSeanKon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    267 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Athens in love with Anna :)
    LOL it is an AMD FPU killer :laugh: but you can change the utilization ;) for FPU test.
    Personally I run it for L1, L2 cache test.
  25. aximbigfan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    848 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    personally, i run prime95, windows meida player, and superpi on my system at the same time to get my temps up..


    chris

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page