1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A quality PSU!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by AceFactor, Aug 11, 2005.

  1. AceFactor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    234 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    Hi, atm i have a Q-Tec 550w Triple Fan PSU, and i have been having trouble for a while with it now. Today i decided to check the voltages on it. They are really low, and with the amount of kit i have in my rig, i really dont want it to blow up or anything like that.

    Voltages:
    +3.3v = 3.36v
    +5v = 4.17v
    +12v = 11.86v
    -12v = -8.91v
    -5v = 1.59v


    It also sometimes if left all day switched on will produce stupid amounts of heat, to the point that it is better that the large radiator in my room. :eek:

    The Q-Tec is actually gold plated btw, so in my opinion it really shudnt be getting that hot. :(

    I would like advice as too which PSU to get to replace the current one.

    I have a limit of about £100.. about $180-$220

    And the new PSU has to be able to handle my current needs, and last for a new SLI & Athlon 64-X2 upgrade in the future. :D

    Thanks in Advance

    Adam
  2. Anarion New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    485 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0




    amounts are funny .... btw. in my game rig i use an acbel psu marked400w 200~20$
    i dunno if u can find it but if wanna spend that kind of money for psu , also can take look @ this ...



    • 850W continuous and 950W peak power
    • NVIDIA® SLI™ READY component
    • Four +12V rails @ 17A ea. (12V1-V4=54A/62A pk.)
    • Extended ATX form factor fits most std cases
    • High-efficiency design (85%) with .99 PFC
    • The tightest voltage regulation (+VDC @ 1%)
    • Dual PCI Express video power connectors
    • 15 drive connectors (6 SATA, 8 Molex, 1 mini)

    Attached Files:

    • t.jpg
      t.jpg
      File size:
      17.1 KB
      Views:
      292
  3. Christer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    106 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Enermax 600W.
  4. AceFactor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    234 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    What are the prices in £ sterling of those PSU's, and what are the main features. . not well explained! :D

    Thanks

    Adam
  5. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,808 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    423
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    I reccomend Tagan if your in Europe and that Q-Tec is a Bargain Basement Paperweight(no wait its to light to be a Paperweight) See some Tagans Here at good prices to boot
  6. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Thats like a $600 PSU. :rolleyes:

    -Dan
  7. AceFactor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    234 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    Thanks for the link!! :)

    I also saw all that list, that there is a set of PSU by a company called Hyper. Have you ever used them, and will they do the job, as i see they are recommended by AMD for 65 bit CPU's. :D

    Thanks

    Adam
  8. Anarion New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    485 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nope ,dan . @ first it was only 250$ ..... :)
  9. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,808 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    423
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Well I dont know much about Hyper's but Tagan are Top Quality PSU's you name a Bell and Whistle Tagan has it,its pretty much Future Proof as far as Connectors go,every connection is Gold Plated,including the wall plug(and GOLD plated not "gold" painted like your current PSU)IMO they are the best Quality to $$s PSU you can get
  10. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    I saw it on a site, the first time I saw it mind you, and it was going for $600 :eek: Must of droped quite a bit.

    -dan
  11. AceFactor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    234 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    I have had a look at Tagan PSU's i just though the Hiper looked as if it was designed for my PC, since i'm running Athlon 64, and not P4. The Hipers are certified by AMD for 64bit processors.

    BTW, my current Q-Tec is gold PLATED. .not PAINTED . . . :p

    Thanks

    Adam
  12. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,808 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    423
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    LMAO they shoulda saved their money thenand put some of "gold" where it would do something.I have one in my storage room(my wife blew her old one and took it upon herself to get it replaced) and if gold plating the case of it actually did something EVERYBODY would do it and TRUST ME ITS JUST GOLD PAINT.Tagans on the other hand paint the HS inside black cuz it has a purpose.
    As for the Hiper they are newcomers and their specs look good on paper just dont go on the "Certified" bit as that means nothing you want something with the right plugs(futureproofing i.e PCI/24Pin)and good Amps on the Rails
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2005
  13. Quazi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    90 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I know people don't like to admit it, and for the life of me I don't know why. But the best PSU on the market, especially for those that like to push their oc limits, is the OCZ Powerstreams. There's a dude over on the XtremeSystems forums that has actually bench tested many of the top level psu's on the market. And even though some of them had higher specs and wattage than the OCZ, the OCZ comes out on top.
  14. AceFactor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    234 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    Hey, thanks quazi. .can you get me a link to the benchmark tests?

    Thanks

    Adam
  15. Anarion New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    485 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    4 sure . it's been around 250$ about 3 month ago @ guru3d ...k....
  16. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    ocz powerstream, any model absolutely rocks! (ive got a 520w)
  17. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    I concur. :D
  18. superflyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Got to agree, the OCZ arethe best PSU I've had.
  19. AceFactor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    234 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    Ok, final decisions here, i have a choice:

    Tagan TG580-U22 580w >£79.43

    Thermaltake Silent Purepower 680w >£79.41

    Enermax EG701AX-VE (W) SMFA 600w >£93.06

    Akasa PowerPlus 650w >£92.12

    Enermax EG851AX-VH 660W >£140.88

    OCZ PowerStream 600W >£152.48

    Which one should i choose, can anyone give me links to reviews?

    I really want to know one which will handle my current setup, and is defianately future proof?

    Btw, i dont mind paying the extra for one of the more expensive listed power supplies, if they are worth it :D

    Thanks

    -Adam

    My current Setup:
    Athlon 64 3700+ Clawhammer @ stock speeds with stock cooler, will be upgraded to Gigabyte 3D-Cooler Ultra GT
    Gigabyte K8 Triton K8NS Pro
    1.5Gb Ram = 2x 512Mb Kingston KVR400 Value Ram , 1x 512Mb K-Data Ram, will be upgraded to 2Gb+ using OCZ or Corsair
    Sappire Radeon X850XT flashed to X850XT Platinum Edition using stock cooler, will be upgraded to Artic Cooling ATI 5 Rev 2, when i get the new PSU
    160Gb Maxtor DM9 Sata 150 HDD, may add of the same or more, for a raid array
    Audigy 2 Platinum Pro, will be upgraded to X-Fi Elite Pro
    Pioneer DVR-107D DVD-RW single layer
    NEC 3520A DVD-RW dual layer
    Generic FDD
    An assortment of case fans, upto about 7+ in the future
    JeanTeah Matian Case, in black
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2005
  20. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't think you need a 600 watt psu, a little overkill to my mind. I would have to say the 520watt version of the Powerstream, it has a 600watt max power and will be plenty enought. The only advantage with the 600 watt version is that it has dual 12v rails.

    -Dan
  21. AceFactor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    234 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    I just wanted it to be future proof, and i didnt want to go lower in wattage compared to what i have atm - an EZ-Cool 550w :(

    Those PSU's listed are my only real choice, and i just need a bit of help deciding ;) I've never bought a decent PSU before :eek:

    -Adam
  22. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,808 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    423
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    well you know what Im gonna reccomend ;) The Tagan, it has every Bell and Whistle you could imagine has all the "future" connectors its VERY quiet, the quality is phenomonal for the price e.g ALL connectors are gold plated including the wall plug. 3yr Warranty, Active PFC,Dedicated GFX Molexs(with EMI suppressors) and ROCK SOLID voltage( I have tested my 420 extensively with a Voltmeter)
    IMO they truly are the highest quality PSU's for the money giving things more expensive PSU don't
  23. AceFactor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    234 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    Thanks INSTG8R, i just really wanted to know what the PSU's were like in real life, becasue i need rock solid rails really, i think you have helped me stay with my 1st choice, which is the Tagan TG580-U22 :D

    Thanks

    -Adam

    *btw i am being serious*
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2005
  24. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    I have a tagan 480 in a quite overloaded system (7 hard drives, X800Xl, clocked venice 64)... but I know it's quality. I dont really worry about it, but sometimes the voltage dips on the +12v rail, to 11.78 or so, before returning to 11.85-11.9. This is often seen when launching games or something like that.

    Should I be worried about this and if so is there anything i can do about it? I have one of the earlier Tagan 480s, one with Sata power connectors but no SLI stuff or removable internal cables).

    Thanks for any thoughts.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page