1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A Should I question?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Jirokarja17, Jan 10, 2013.

  1. Jirokarja17

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My spec

    motherboard: gigabyte f2a85x-up4
    cpu: A10 5800k
    gpu: xtx 6670
    ram: 64
    2 TB hard drive


    all though i may be a little over doing it because my gaming performance is just at an ok stat. and the duel graphics mode is good and but im putting my game in low to medium setting. but my issue is not playing in 1920x1080. i could care less about anything else because if i can play in that reso it will pretty darn good anyway no matter what setting you have looks on. So i was thinking about buy a 7850. im only going as far as a new gpu i don't the money to do a complete overhaul of my computer. because well i just did last week getting the motherboard and cpu.

    now i know what your might thinking " oh why did he get a apu and an apu motherboard!! grr his foolish blah blah" lol. well my last setup was the A8-3850 and i thought it would be an fps upgrade and nothing has gone or down fps is the same so yes im trying to find a good discrete gpu so that i can play in 1920x1080

    SO my question is should i get the 7850 which is going for like 200 dollars or is there something esle i could get cheaper for greater performance.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2013
  2. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,026 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Get a 660(non Ti) instead.
     
  3. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,097 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    Oregon
  4. Jirokarja17

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    most of the game i play for example borderlands in that reso i only get 19 to 23 frames and that low to meduim settings. skyrim on 1920 is arounf 28 frames but when i move or turn it very unsable in the fps department. im not even going to talk about planetside lol.

    All thought my fps on all my game are like 5 to 10 frame lower every since i got windows 8
     
  5. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,097 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    Oregon
    Whats with your Ram? What speed?
     
  6. Jirokarja17

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    16 and the speed is 1333mhz
     
  7. zsolt_93

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    302 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Romania
    You can live with less ram probably. a Good kit of 8GB at 1866MHz would be much better than your current 16GB if you are not using VMs or RAMDrives. As the APU performance highly depends on ram speed and 1866 seems to be a sweet spot for them in price/performance.
     
  8. Jirokarja17

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    do i have to worry about comparability issue when looking for memory
     
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,097 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    Oregon
    :rockout:
    Yes. APUs can be picky so check the memory support list. At least you know now why your having issues. Swap all that ram out for 8GB at 1866MHz XMP.
     
  10. Jirokarja17

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well i was giong to get 4x4 total 16g
     
  11. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,097 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    Oregon
    What do you need 16Gb for?
     
  12. Jirokarja17

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i know there is some kind of difference in having more?
     
  13. Jirokarja17

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    but i wont agure with you if say (slap face on me and just tell to get an 8gb lol)

    well i am a web designer though now that i think about it lol
     
  14. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,097 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    Oregon
    My only concern is with games 8 Gb is the sweet spot and APUs need fast ram. I would want to slow things down by having to much. if that's even possible.

    So get the best fastest ram you can. Get 2x4 than add after you benchmark it
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,943 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,624
  16. Jirokarja17

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    oh sorry i didnt know i could just keep going with the same post sorry about that.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page