1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A Simple Thank You: Orange Box Giveaway

Discussion in 'Games' started by DannibusX, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,823 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    I have chosen the Intel Q6600 because it had a great price to performance ratio and it overclocked amazingly, it was my first processor in my first computer build ever, and still is. @3GHz and at the time it had a very large cache but not anymore.
  2. Cptnyr

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    159 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Crystal Lake, Illinois
    I chose AMD, its what ive used since day one why change it
  3. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Intel; Had good experience with C2D overclocking and got a deal on i5, so jumped on quad train.
  4. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I chose my E4300 (intel) cause after it came out after the E6300 with nearly identical specs and was cheaper I thought they would overclock just as good because of the higher multi, I was wrong>> E4300 + me :nutkick: < E6300 :laugh:
  5. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,329 (6.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I chose Intel Core i7 920 for two reasons: 1) it's more bang than the buck than anything AMD offers (8 threads and 6 GiB RAM for ~$600 at the time) and 2) the Nehalem architecture fascinates me (the return of hyperthreading from Pentium 4 and Turbo from 486).

    My last system was an AMD Athlon 64 4000+ (was later upgraded to a Opteron 180) and I got it for similar reasons: 1) more bang for the buck than Pentium 4s and 2) x86-64 and Windows XP Professional x64 Edition fascinates me (I recognize the need to migrate to 64-bit so why not be one of the first to jump on that ship?).

    I don't regret either choice.
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2010
    jmcslob says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    I choose the AMD phenom II x4 940 simply because i wanted great bang for buck and there was no way i could afford an intel quad and still afford a 4870x2 at the time, not to mention i need a price effective way to render scenes in maya but also get good gaming performance. I basically went AMD because at the time intel didnt have what i wanted at a price i could afford and im very happy with my choice. My 940be may not be fast as an i7 it may not overclock like an i7 but for what i need and what i do it was by the far the best cpu investment ive made. That and i have to say i love AMDs platforms. That and im a sucker for the Black edition tag :roll:
  7. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    I chose amd cause amd stands for ANSTOUNDING MAGNITUDE DENIAL!.......dont ask me...lol thanks for the nice oppurtunity brah
  8. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    I chose my Q6600 because of previous experience with core 2 duos. The core 2 duo was superb even giving me 900 Mhz untop of stock clocks @ stock voltage. It helped me put up a good showing in a X1950Pro vs 7900GS shootout on TPU here. As soon as the opportunity arose for me to go Q6600 i leaped at the chance, i decided if 2 is good 4 must be better right?
  9. JUDOHAWK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    171 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I chose intel because at the time I needed a cheap build. And I heard these E5200s had a wolfdale core and were crazy good for their money. Turns out people who said that were right, considering I paid 60 dollars for my CPU brand new.
  10. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    451
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    ehh hemm Cough Cough Turbo was a 386 feature first then it went to the ancient 286 and then the 486sx models
  11. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,080 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I choose my AMD Phenom 9850 not just because I'm a hardcore AMD/ATI Fan but because the price at the time ($120) it was being offered at was simply to good to pass up. That and the fact that the 9850 was free from the TLB bug. It was an my first Quad Core CPU and man was it an exciting moment. I still use it to this day as my main CPU for games and such and I've got a 600mhz overclock with it on air. Its been serving me well. Why AMD? Because I like their architecture better than Intel's and don't like monopolies.
  12. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
    I chose AMD Phenom II X2 550 because of the possibility to unlock the extra 2 cores. Luckily I managed to do so :)

    Also, I felt compelled to buy AMD as I have had intel cpus for a while (even though it meant changing motherboard too). I'm not an AMD fanboy but for some reason i prefer them over intel. i think it's more sympathy since they were being dominated by intel for so long :/ Also, all my friends have intel atm so I want to be the AMD man, the real man ;)
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2010
  13. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I already have the Orange Box so i'm out, but i would still like to interject.

    I went with Intel and the Core i7 920 because i go where performance goes, i don't give a rats ass about what company people think is better or any of that. Even if im not able to afford the top of the line chip, i still go with the company that has the perfomance crown at the time, whether it be Intel or AMD. Thats just how i roll.
  14. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,378 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    aye im the same usually i cannot afford the highest performance chip but i will go for the best i can afford when im doing an overhaul of my rig. Same with the nvidia-ati thing. It just worked out cheaper to stick with intel this time as i could re-use my mobo
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,886 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,460
    I pick AMD because I have no idea what I'm doing half the time.
  16. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    846 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    :laugh: :slap:
  17. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I picked an Intel Q6600 as I had previously owned an AMD X2 6000 and an X3 8750BE and found both to be lacking performance wise for what I needed. I love to encode videos and multitask to the max and I find I can with this chip. It also pushes along my GTX 275 very nicely :)
  18. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,378 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    lol thats great haha :p
  19. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Both AMD and Intel have some great products, and I own both AMD- and Intel-based systems. I believe it's important to match the component to the specific use, and an example of that is that I chose to go with an i3 for one of my rigs so that I could take advantage of Intel Matrix RAID. It lets me have a high-speed RAID array as well as fast, redundant RAID 10 array for critical data, all on the same six drives. I couldn't have done that with AMD.
  20. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I have chosen for Core i7 965 Extreme Edition 3.20ghz
    why; cus it supports Hyperthreading i also liked this future on the pentium 4 so i followed the production of Nehalem since it first was announced, it realy inspired me to save out and not buy an amd system what i never used in my life or a core 2 dou cpu, allways been on the Pentium cpu's so i sticked for 6 years on the pentium 4 the Core 2 dou was in the last 3 years a hype but still i was sticking on the Pentium 4 to save for my Nehalem Processor once i got it i realy loved it, i went trough a hell of building my Nehalem computer it should have been working since the first release but no i had some problems, i broke 2 300euro worth msi mainboards while building my rig, still didt give up to get my system working, now it works with all glory i love it
    i also like to make mods for on the source engine and it im proving to other moders that Hyperthreading future on this cpu works and is worth it to give edge boost in compiling ur new maps

    but i allready own orange box :) just to tell my story
  21. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,527 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Cutoff time has been reached (according to my cable box), I'm going to be logging into WoW to make the random roll and capture a screenshot.

    Since W1zzard isn't participating the roll looks like it will be /random 3-44.

    EDIT:

    Congrats yaji! I rolled 16, and you are the 16th post. PM me with your Steam name and I'll get the game to you as soon as I have your info!

    [​IMG]

    Thanks to everyone for participating. For the record, I went with AMD due to price. I've considered and Intel build, but my wallet wants to cry every time I make a wishlist. I don't buy into the AMD v Intel arguments on the interwebs though.
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2010
  22. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,823 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    dang only needed 10 more :) should have done /roll 26-26
  23. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,527 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Well I was delayed by hanging my TV on my wall, but yaji has been awarded the prize. Enjoy! :toast:

    Thanks again to everyone for participating.
  24. yaji New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Yep, I just got my sweet Orange Box! Thanks man.
  25. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,378 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    Thank you for doing this man :p

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page