1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A single stick of 8GB vs. two sticks of 4GB

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by 1nSaNeAs1aN, Dec 8, 2012.

  1. 1nSaNeAs1aN

    1nSaNeAs1aN

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    So, currently I am deciding to buy a new motherboard and 8GBs of ram, The motherboard only has two slots for ram. My question is should a buy one 8GB ram or two 4GB sticks of ram, BUT if I get the 8GB stick of ram I would probably buy another sometime in the future.
    So, would there be any downside to use one stick of ram opposed to two sticks of ram?
    Oh, and I play games heavily.
  2. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    There is little difference. Personally I would go for the two 4GB sticks because I hate having unfilled slots in my motherboard but that's just me. IF you go for the 8GB stick then you have the potential to upgrade to 16GB with ease anytime in the future. Just remember to try and get the same or extremely similar stick.
  3. Novulux

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    150 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    You will not be able to use dual channel mode for now which doubles the bandwidth theoretically:
    [​IMG]

    It honestly shouldn't affect most real world applications and if you do plan to add another stick, it should be fine especially since you would probably be playing most games at medium settings depending on your resolution with those specs.
    erixx and 1nSaNeAs1aN say thanks.
  4. 1nSaNeAs1aN

    1nSaNeAs1aN

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
  5. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Yes seems fine. I payed a shit load for my ddr2 hyper x kit. 775/am2 stuff is now heavily overpriced.
    1nSaNeAs1aN says thanks.
  6. Novulux

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    150 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    I would recommend getting DDR3 1600 ram as it is found for just about the same price, but guarantees a little more longevity to your system. Still, either of those would definitely provide more performance than DDR2.
  7. 1nSaNeAs1aN

    1nSaNeAs1aN

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I think the motherboard says it will support 1600(OC) so wouldn't I have to oc it or something?
  8. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    I am afraid it means 1600mhz at overclocked mode supported
  9. Novulux

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    150 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Yes, the motherboard will set the speed of it anyway to 1333 by default, and it is considered OC if you up it to the actual 1600 in the bios. At least you will have this option.
    1nSaNeAs1aN says thanks.
  10. 1nSaNeAs1aN

    1nSaNeAs1aN

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Ohhh okay, now I understand. Thanks.
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,913 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    Jack1n says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. 1nSaNeAs1aN

    1nSaNeAs1aN

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    67 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    But the thing is that I will be buying another stick later so that I would total 16GBs opposed to having to buy a whole different set of ram.

    EDIT: Actually is there any need for me to get 16GBs of ram? The thing I was planing to upgrade for was to livestream and play games at the same time. So is 8GBs enough?
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2012
  13. Novulux

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    150 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Yes, it is enough for those purposes as they really rely more on processing power. I have 16 GB and while I have uses for it with ramdisks and hosting game servers, you may not.
    I personally need an upgrade to my processor so I can livestream at desired settings.
  14. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,511 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,158
    Get one stick now and another one later. I'd go for something like this.
  15. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,862 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon
    Its best if the sticks match. And if you buy one now and one later make sure the timmings and everything else matches. I would actually buy a set and just sell them later and buy another set.

    also 8 Gb is plenty for any game
  16. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,016 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    Central Israel
    8GB is more than enugh and that samsung kit is amazing.
  17. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,264 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    435
    little problem is that a year later, it is hard to find exactly the same stick, even if branded the same. Happened to me when I went from 2 sticks of HyperX to 4 sticks, I ordered the same reference but the first pair was 8-8-8-20 and the other 8-8-8-24......!! :-(
  18. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    308 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    Yeah, it does overclock very well, that's a very recommended kit here in Finland.

    Personally I would recommend 2x4GB kit(s), 8GB sticks doesn't overclock so well, as far as I know.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page