1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A64 X2 6000+ and Rainbow Six: Vegas, $195 shipped

Discussion in 'Hot Deals' started by Wile E, Jul 7, 2007.

  1. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Well, BIOS set to 1.625v and I'm posting this @ 3.5Ghz

    What's the recommend max temps?

    EDIT: Might try for 3.6 on 1.65V

    [​IMG]
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    sweet deal Wil E thanks for the heads up. Yeah I see its uber cheap now <G>. Also, nice benchies up there.
  3. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I think it's 65c to 70c will kill the chip. Try to keep it under load between 50c and 60c or lower. That should be do able on air mine maxed at 55c to 58c and your on water. I was using a Scythe Infinity.
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Can't seem to get any higher, even if I up the volts. Might try a higher multi, to take board instability out of the equation. Also, did you have to up the HTT Volts at all, trt? I can use the default 1.2 or 1.35. I wonder if that would help?
  5. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2007
  6. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    The HTT on that chip can be stable up to 1300 I believe and it does make a performance difference. It does depend on your motherboard my old one was geared for AM2 plus so It had a super high HTT , but most newer AM2 board can take higher HTT unlike the 939 boards. In one of my screen shots my chip was at 1172 HTT and I know I went higher than that. That might help you.
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Meh, 3.5Ghz is my wall, wont go a bit higher, regardless of voltage and multi settings. But hey, a 3.5GHz X2 is no slouch. lol. Ram @ 1000 4-4-4-12. Final screenies.

    [​IMG][​IMG]
  8. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Read those forums they confirm on water and good air cooling those voltages are safe, high but safe. What are your temps? your on par and in somethings you will exceed a e6600 even at the same or higher clock speeds look at my science mark 2.0 score i'm way up there beating some e6700 at 3.6 and higher.That bench doesn't just test the chips raw power but how it manages memory(on chip memory controller) and that where the 6000+ shines. Plus that chip is better at handleing 64 bit operations vista multitasking (due to it's instruction set) and mp3 encoding, video encoding aswell. In floating point it kills a core 2 duo. It loses badly in integer calculations to a C2D but in games and in certain other functions it's fast fast.

    I think 20 is pretty good for 5 year old tech. Ahh that was a great chip until I went to the darkside oh well good luck Wile!!!!!

    1.) dominick32 = 2386 (Intel Core2Duo E6700@4410mhz)

    2.) giorgos th. = 2289.37 (Intel Core2Duo E6700@4110mhz)

    3.) s1rrah = 2288.30 (Intel Core2Duo E6400@4166mhz)[/b]

    4.) trt740 = 2262.21 (Intel Core2Duo E6600@4050mhz)

    5.) giorgos th. = 2229.87 (Intel Core2Duo E6600@3900mhz)

    6.) alpha0ne = 2223.24 (Intel Core2Duo E6600@3900mhz)

    7.) Boneface = 2196.50 (INTEL CORE2DUO E6400 @3991mhz)

    8.) DaEnigma = 2184.4 (Intel Core2Duo E6600@3733mhz)

    9.) Devious = 2181.97 (Intel Core2Duo E6600@3942mhz)

    10.) OneCool = 2165.41 (Intel Core2Duo E6600@3900mhz)
    =================================================
    TOP 10 AVERAGE RESULT =
    =================================================

    **************************************************
    SCIENCEMARK 2.0 RESULTS 08/25/2006 (ALL outside TOP 10):
    **************************************************
    11.) DOM_ATI_X800XL_PCI-E = 2157.40 (Intel Core 2 duo e6400@3824.5mhz)

    --.) ace80 = 2157.31 (Intel Core2Duo E6420@3840mhz)

    --.) tigger69 = 2151.58 (Intel Core2Duo E6300@3851.4mhz)

    --.) Infrared = 2143.33 (Intel Core2Duo E6400@3700mhz)

    --.) Ketxxx = 2140.40 (Intel Core2Duo E4400@3780.1mhz)

    --.) IluvIntel = 2133.59 (Intel Core2Duo E6600@3595.5mhz)

    --.) HeavyH20 = 2122.43 (Intel Core2Duo E6600@3600mhz)

    --.) s1rrah = 2055.70 (Intel Core2Duo E6400@3750mhz)

    --.) Tatty_One = 2036.17 (Intel Core2Duo E6600@3644mhz)

    20.) trt740 = 1992.86 (AMD athlon x2 6000+@3515.2mhz)

    --.) VOCCH = 1971.06 (Intel Core2Duo E6600@3500mhz)

    --.) new_rez = 1968.61 (Intel Core2Duo E6300@3500.2mhz)

    --.) Bonerheimer_c = 1961.86 (Intel Core2Duo E6400@3600mhz)

    --.) g R 3 i F = 1944.00 (Intel Core2Duo E6600@3402mhz)

    --.) HeUeR = 1943.1 (Intel Core2Duo E6400@3600mhz)

    --.) SilentAces = 1935.52 (Intel Core2Duo E4300@3600mhz)

    --.) MikeLopez = 1934.6 (Intel Core2Duo E6300@3290mhz)

    --.) jjnissanpatfan = 1917.45 (Intel Core2Duo E6300@3429mhz)
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2007
  9. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Nice, Willie! I'm even more tempted to buy one now that Newegg has dropped the price down to $170 USD shipped!!!

    What I don't get is, why do they currently have an OEM model for $50 more!?! You'd think the retail would cost more but this OEM costs more than retail and not by just a little bit either! :ohwell:
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Yeah, I don't get it either, Sovereign.

    @trt - Under Orthos, small fft, it hits 49c after an hour, with uncured AS5.
  11. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    :toast: On the OC :toast:

    So when is the benching going to start :p
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    As soon as I figure out why my computer randomly shuts off under load now. No BSOD, no freezing, no crashes, no warning - just instant off.

    My psu should be more than happy to run this load, besides my 2900 wasn't even being loaded.

    Never had this happen before, so I don't really know what it could be.
  13. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    That sucks, are you giving the NB sum more volts ??
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Yeah. I even tried slowing down and loosening the ram, and raising the multi while lowering the FSB. It even does it at 3.4GHz. I'm not at home right now, but when I get home, I'm gonna go even lower, to see if that helps. I might even try a different HD, as I heard mine make some weird noises that I haven't heard before. (A really faint sound, almost squeal-like)

    Everything is still under warranty, and I have a ton of back-up parts, so an RMA won't be a big deal. It's just a matter of finding the culprit.
  15. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Some of those board have a fail safe you have to turn off in the bios after a certain voltage I've seen that problem before on Gigabyte and Biostar boards but cannot remember what to do to correct it try using ntune to overclock it in windows if that works then email DFI it the fail safe issue.
  16. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,893 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    That's a bloody good point TRT. What would something like that be listed as if not something obvious?

    I'm really curious if EVGA boards do that.

    Think I'll go jack the voltage up really high.
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Well, this thing is shutting down at stock speeds and voltages now. I tried making an overclocking run on my 2900XT, and CCC reset my card to 2d speeds, because it says there wasn't enough power. Funny thing is, under cpu load, the psu is barely warming up. It's only blowing out warm air, and is just warm to the touch. Nowhere near hot. I would think a Corsair HX620 is up to the task.

    I'm gonna test my ram first, tho. I have a spare set of 4-4-3-5 800 G.Skills that I'm gonna throw in if the Crucials fail memtest.

    Also have a spare psu. Only a 550w Sunbeam Nuuo tho. So, if the psu is bad, the 1800XT might have to go back in if I plan to game. Man, what a PITA this is becoming.

    Anyway you look at it, I'm pretty sure something is fried.
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2007
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    UPDATE: I think I figured out the problem. It's actually a software issue. It seems Coretemp causes the issue. I found this thread on the AMD forums.

    http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=22&threadid=61305

    After I quit running Coretemp, the problem disappeared. Still not stable at 3.5 tho. Trying to get it at least bench stable at that speed. Probably just gonna run at 3.2 for 24/7 use.


    EDIT:Woot! With cpu @ 3415 - Gained almost 700pts in 3dMark06. http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=391865&postcount=1404
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2007
  19. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    good to hear such a gain with 415mhz OC :toast:
    hey I have a 3800+ (65W) that I could trade + cash or w/e for your brisbane, the 3800 would be more than enough for your HTPC ;) pm me if you want, we wouldn't even have to ship
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page