1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A8-3850 Has Ineffective BClk Multiplier

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 7, 2011.

  1. chew* New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Sorry was not aware that they were locking them ( the highend sku )......especially if I were to read your "article"

    "Empty Overclocking" is a term we just made up, to describe unreal overclocking headroom that does not translate into any performance improvements, with AMD's A8-3850 APU. This chip has an upwards unlocked base clock (BClk) multipler. Setting it above the factory default will increase clock speed (at least the clock speed that's reported to you), but that "increased" clock speed will not translate to any performance improvements at all."

    I'm confused now.

    You just told me that they do not nor are they supposed to have an upwards multiplier......

    But the article states it does........

    Either way the ball bounces here what is stated is not entirely true still................
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
  2. xtremesv

    xtremesv

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    115 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    "AMD recommends only the base clock increase method for overclocking".

    :wtf: Then what's the benefit of having unlocked multiplier? I don't get it.
     
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,611 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It doesn't really have an unlocked multiplier, AMD doesn't market the chip to have one, either. That's the point.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,611 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I rephrased the article. The A8-3850 does not have an unlocked multiplier, a BIOS bug on some boards lets you "set" the multiplier above 29, and even misreports the "increased" speed but that doesn't actually set anything on the chip.
     
  5. chew* New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Cool, deal.

    I will still see if we can get this little registry tweak sorted in the meantime per chance they do unlock one of these little guys :toast:
     
  6. xtremesv

    xtremesv

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    115 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Fair enough.
     
  7. mumak

    mumak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This whole thing is because the CPU has two 'different Max clock settings':
    - P0 limit (2.9 GHz for example on A8-3850) which is the max clock for a given SKU
    - MaxPllClock (3.6 GHz on A8-3850) - a reference clock from which the other clocks are derived from
    Now, if you set a clock above the pre-set P0 limit the CPU doesn't seem to accept it (but reports it as taken, which must be a bug).
    HWiNFO32/64 is not fooled by this 'virtual' clock in such case and reports correct speed:

    [​IMG]
     
  8. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    no big deal

    at least people who increase multiplier can't destroy the chip and obtain a virtual bigger e-peen
     
  9. lashton New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    63 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    grrr some are silly

    Brandonwh64 was NOT claiming this was his, he JUST posted the SS FFS dude get a life
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,606 (10.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    How bout you re think posting. I just posted the pictures FROM his post to show the people that are too lazy to click the link.

    I IN NO SHAPE OR FORM TOOK CREDIT FOR ANYTHING.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page