1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A8R-MVP Woes

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Zenzetsu, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. Zenzetsu New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Middleston
    hey all, i'm a novice at figuring out memory dividers and after doing some research i'm still lost. Could anyone give me some advice on figuring out how to get my memory's frequency above 125mhz?

    Here's my specs along with bios info & pics:

    CPU: AMD Opteron 185 Toledo 2.6 (O/C 3.0)
    MOBO: A8R-MVP Bios 602
    RAM: Corsair Xms DDR3200 (4 X 512MB)
    Vid Card: X1800XT (O/C 722/822)
    PSU: 450W CoolMaster

    Current Bios Settings (Affecting FSB & Mem):

    CPU Freq: 250
    CPU Multi: X12
    HT Link (BIOS): Auto (Reads 500 in CPU-Z)
    Processor Volt : 1.4V (Maximum on A8R-MVP)
    DDR Volt: 2.85 V (Afraid to go beyond 2.9V)
    VCORE Over-Voltage: Enabled
    Southbridge Over-Voltage:Enabled

    Memclock mode: Limit
    Memclock value: 250 mhz
    MCT Timing: 2-5-2-2 1T

    Attached Files:

  2. Zenzetsu New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Middleston
    Update:

    (Tweaked A Little)

    CPU Freq: 240
    CPU Multi: 12.5

    (Installed Rest of RAM)
    2 GIGS DDR3200 (Operates at 120mhz according to CPU-Z)

    Attached Files:

  3. gromet New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    CA
    Its the AMI's bios that takes alot to get used to.

    Set your memory limit at 166, not 250mhz. You can only recognize they normal dividers

    200 1:1
    166 5/6
    133 2/3


    If you want to run ddr500 (you have ddr 500 memory) limit your memory to 200, and set the FSB to 250. Limited at 200 its a 1:1, memory speeds will read the same as the FSB.

    2nd. Your HTT is way off. Its again the bio's settings. But in the bio's its 1k=5, 800=4, 600=3. Take it off auto if you plan to OC. I'm running 311 FSB w/ HT link set at x4 given me HT link speeds of 1244mhz. Your is way too slow.

    Link is for the AR32-Mvp which I have, so things might vary some...but should give you a good idea of working in the AMI bios

    GL
  4. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio

    Good post. :rockout:
  5. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Great post. Its helpful even for me. Thanks.
  6. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay

    Nice and clean :D
  7. Zenzetsu New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Middleston
    Excellent, Appreciate It

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page