1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Abit gone. Which brand do I get now?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by qubit, Dec 26, 2008.

  1. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,870 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,498
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Handy

    That's great! Thanks Sunil. :)
     
  2. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    If you are enthusiast, DFI is a no brainer
     
  3. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    i say DFI, my Blood iron is a champ, handles Quads like nothing
     
  4. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Just remember don't buy Intel Mobo's, just intel cpu's.
     
    pepsi71ocean says thanks.
  5. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    oohhh yeeaaa, i would so agree with that.
     
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,379 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,712
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    asus, biostar, msi if you need cheap
     
  8. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    So, abit stopped making mobos? is this what im hearing?
     
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yup. They closed shop unfortunately.
     
  10. method526 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    377 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fairfax, Virginia
    i'd say asus and gigabyte. dfi is good but those are for enthusiasts that know what they are doing. (hearing from how complicated the bios can be.)
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Nah I have two DFI boards and the BIOS are pretty simple. In fact my ASUS had more options.
     
  12. method526 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    377 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fairfax, Virginia
    good to know cause i'm just browsing other motherboards for future builds. i got an abit ip35 pro and it serves me well.
     
  13. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    I picked DFI over Asus this time and its been nothing but bullshit, the BIOS keeps throwing up random errors (code 88 and so on) and will need to be RMAed.

    From what I see on here and other places it seems common with the new P45 and X48 boards from them...take the safe bet and go with Asus.
     
  14. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    909 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    On the Preferred list I say DFI, Biostar, Gigabyte, ASUS, In that order for me.
    DFI Hardware I got was of excellent quality and so far has been excellent response from the support.
    Biostar Really impressed me with their extremely quick customer support and fast shipping of a free I/O shield. I ordered a board open box figuring it wouldn't be there. It beat the board to me from the egg and they give them away (no charge). Not to mention you can dl from their website at a decent speed. Product worked flawless for me.
    Gigabyte Good boards for the average user so far I haven't had any issues with them.
    ASUS I feel the support is down to the customer due to how big they have gotten. Not to mention 2 out of the last 3 boards I bought of theirs had serious issues. (LAN quit within a week and Sound not working at all) Website has always been slow as molasses to me.
     
  15. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    asus , gigabyte
     
  16. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    I've been having opposite experiences. SuperMicro support was a piece of shit, only a year full warranty on a $400-500 board is a joke. Tyan doesn't even respond to e-mail. Asus helped me out various times and actually has full warranty periods. I'm not sure if Asus is that great when sending in desktop boards though, I've been having contact with the server/network hardware guy there.

    I do notice a lot of breaking boards lately at work though, P5N-T's and P5N32 (various editions).
     
  17. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    909 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    That does sound bad on a board that costs that much. I cant speak for the majority but of the few pcs I have built those were my results. Although you have to remember thats a grain of salt out of the millions of boards sold. So I would say my experiences counted about .0001%. :laugh: As for ASUS I have a contact with a guy that works for them. He was in a gaming clan I am in. It worked out ok after all was said and done. But even he said the personal service had dropped off just due to the # boards sold daily and only x# of employees to help. Also to me to be such a huge mfg why cant they get a mirror for US customers that is not so slow. Many people I talk to have the same slow results from the site. Is it the same to you guys?
     
  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Any mobo manufacturers site is slow for me. They are all Asia based.
     
  19. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Asus, Gigabyte, DFI, Biostar, MSI are all pretty solid companies, realistically take your pick..

    What do you mean Abit gone?
     
  20. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,870 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,498
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Wa??! :eek: I mean that Abit are gone as in out of the motherboard business as of 1st Jan. It's been reported everywhere, including TPU.
     
  21. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    oh ,well companies come and gone, that happens. my thought about the brands is the next.
    asus: ultimate well stablish, trying to hit other markets
    msi: same as asus
    gigabyte: concentratin on x58
    asrock: pushing strong
    ecs: trying to gets things done (here u see a lot of ecs and asrock lol)
    dfi: only for overclocking or sff crossfire
    evga and xfx: slaves of nvidia (xfx not that)
     
  22. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    u should spend less times on the forums and more on the homepage :slap:
     
  23. lucasweir

    lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,256 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    USA
    asus/gigabyte

    Ive been getting gigabyte since my first build
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page