1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

About HD 6950 temp and fan speed

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by antony209494, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. Iceni

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    429 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    coventry UK
    I'll explain the psu hatred a little. Don't worry about thinking you fucked up, you didn't. You like most PC builders got caught out. I did, and most of the people who have PSU problems also did.

    PSU's ATM are in a bad position. They have a wattage system that doesn't work and is open to abuse by manufacturers.

    ATM a psu only has to hit it's target wattage to be rated for that wattage. Unfortunately PC's don't spike with wattage they draw a constant wattage from the unit.

    There is also another flaw in the system. A psu is rated on it's total wattage output and not the wattage per rail.


    As you probably know a PC draws a few different voltages from a PSU. Those voltages have a rail of their own. So the 3.3v rail can do a set ampage, the 5v will have a set ampage, the 12v will have an ampage ect ect.

    The problem is the total of all of the power drawn is the rated wattage for the unit. And in older design computers where the 3v and 5v rails were heavily drawn upon the PSU had is strength here. In a current machine the 12v rail is the important one. You don't need an expensive PSU, you just need a branded one that lets you know the PSU has it's strengths in the 12v rail.

    Manufacturers continue to pump out high wattage PSU's that are strong in the 3.3 and 5 volt rails. These psu's are all dangerous in a modern machine as the 12v rails are often weak, and with the draw on the 12v rail they become a very real fire hazard.


    your PSU sticker should look like this.

    [​IMG]

    Notice how you can see the Power available per rail.

    If you put a link up for your local hardware site i'm sure a few people will look at the range available and pick a Budget PSU that will be safe and powerful enough for a crossfire system without breaking your bank.
    antony209494 says thanks.
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,027 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    6950s are a hell of a card but they are already obselete - a 7950 is roughly head to head with 6970 give or take a few points here and there.

    8xxx series will be out later this year.
  3. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Thanks a lot.Very informative.Can you tell me exactly how much Amps I need in the 12V rails for 2 6950 in crossfire.Or just recommend me some models from reputed brands that are good for me?

    Actually do both of them :D!
  4. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Be so kind and take 5 minutes of reading why a good videocard needs a good psu. You posted it's your first here. People want to help you save money by saying your psu is crap. Ok it's not good news but it's the truth. If you took the time to read a bit like we all do then you would not look like a screaming child. Crossfire you can forget about. I also have a 6950 2Gb and a Corsair HX620w psu which is a expensive and good psu but i would not hang a second card on it with my system oc'ed. Just be careful with your system. Would be a pita if your psu would kill it.
  5. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    909 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    It appears based on AMDs Certified Power Supplies page offerings 60(A) or more total on the 12V+ to run Crossfire. But there is more to a PSU than that number alone. Read up on PSUs to learn what separates quality ones from iffy ones.

    You can do most of this just researching and reading the manufacturers information. Example would be AMD graphics cards in crossfire would mean you need to reference AMD, your motherboard, and your PSU (or potential PSU).
    AMD CrossFire™ is where you should start reading up to gain some basic knowledge. You can see at the bottom the link to AMD CrossFire™ Certified Power Supplies. They have redone this page and it doesn't appear to be completely up to date but you can see what AMD considers certified. If you were to go get the specs on the 2 units they recommend you could then match up a equivalent unit from a reputable company like the ones mentioned already.
    Here I attached the specs on what AMD claims will do the trick. See images below.


    I like the Corsair but other quality brands were mentioned in this thread. Here is a comparable unit. CORSAIR CX Series CX750 750W Current Price: $89.99
    $69.99 after $20.00 rebate card.


    Always research first, then research some more (its free), then buy. When you research try to use validated or at least somewhat reputable sources. Never ever just take things for face value in this world today. Forums such as this one are great if you do your homework. Not everyone in here that offers opinions have the background to support what they type. I by far am not the most knowledgeable on here but if you look at post counts and read what many that have been around a long time say you will see pretty quick based on their track record who knows what. Next time you make a purchase it does not guarantee it wont be a lemon every company mass producing spits out 1 pos sooner or later. But the odds will be you will be extremely satisfied and you will have a greater understanding of exactly what you own that actually works.

    Now don't beat yourself up we have all learned our lessons in some manner. Be glad you didn't learn this lesson buying a home or car. :D The bright side is there are people at TPU that are very smart on this and have helped me and you for free. :)

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 26, 2013
  6. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I am in Greece so no NewEgg for me.But thank you all for the replies.I think I know what I must look for now.Until I have the money again for a PSU the second 6950 will stay in the box.I will see what I can find and post it back here for approval :D
  7. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I found one that I am pretty sure is good enough:
    Corsair GS 800
    It's damn expensive but a local hardware store here has it with a very attractive offer.What do you think of this?It is Corsair,it is 800W and it has a single 12V rail with 66 A on it.Plus a 140mm Double Ball-Bearing fan,Bronze 80+,and official support for multi GPUs.
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,027 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,456 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    Wrong, better way of thinking would be that you cannot afford crossfire not that you cannot afford a better psu.

    BINGO!!,


    Anyways can you not buy online ?.. Amazon maybe ?.
  10. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I don't mind that it is not modular.That's one option but give me some more specific model suggestions if you can (and preferably not that expensive).
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2013
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,027 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    well you being from greece - I dont know what is available to you or what your maximum budget is - Im guessing as low as possible.

    if this is a new PC, I recommend trying to get a refund on that Kentek PSU and putting the money togther with what you have towards something good. otherwise just stick to the GS 800.

    its got 3 years warranty and it should be 800watts more reliable then your current PSU when it comes to providing sustained and clean power, though its only a bronze certification and not as elite as silver or gold but that shouldnt detract from the quality compared to the kentek which is just a total mystery.

    even though kentek says its an 800w PSU, which most users think is great because bigger number = better but thats certainly not the case when it comes to PSUs.

    Corsair have an excellent track record when it comes to their PSUs and like i said there are quite a few reviewers who overload their units and pull 50-80 more watts then what the unit is rated for during testing and the PSU just carries on working and working.

    kentek on the other hand, has none of this, reviewers probably dont even waste their time reviewing it, and when they do its probably only so they can test it to destruction so it never harms any PC components in its life span.

    you cant trust the specs thats printed on the side of the PSU unless it comes from a reputable manufacturer and Kentek sure as hell aint one of them.

    Read our stickied PSU guide - It covers a lot of info on the manufacturers, especially the ones to buy and the ones to straight out avoid, then make your choice on what PSUs are available to you.
  12. Iceni

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    429 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    coventry UK
    The 6950 needs 158W's each.
    The 6970 needs 207W's each.

    http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/radeon_6950_6970_review,11.html

    Your PC will also have a power draw based on the CPU/motherboard and ram. The chip you have with some overclocking can up to 305W's under load.

    therefore since Wattage (P) = Current (I) x voltage (V).

    Your V = 12.
    Your P = 207 + 207 + 305 = 719W
    And your Current needed will be P/V = 60 Amps

    That further divides onto the rails.

    So your GPU's will need 207/12 = 17.2 amps each.
    and the CPU will need 305/12 = 25 amps.

    To answer your Question about the Gs800. Yes it will be fine. This review shows it is capable of giving 751W's to a system with 2x 590 nvidia cards. Your total power draw of 719W's will fall inside that :D


    http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/corsair_gs800_review,7.html



    I'm very pleased you have chosen to upgrade the PSU BTW. You might not notice the difference, But rest assured your PC will be far far safer.


    As for Brand in europe I find FSP to be a very well priced brand.


    http://www.plaisio.gr/ypologistes-a...-ypologisti/psu-trofodotiko.htm?POWER_W=800 W

    http://www.plaisio.gr/ypologistes-a...eries-TX-750W-CP-9020042-EU-CP-9020042-EU.htm

    http://www.e-shop.gr/show_per.phtml?id=PER.806224

    http://www.e-shop.gr/show_per.phtml?id=PER.700870

    http://www.pixmania.gr/gr/gr/047506...Τροφοδοτικο-pc-gx-750-w-(rs-750-acaa-e3).html

    http://www.pixmania.gr/gr/gr/17600761/art/corsair/Τροφοδοσια-pc-cx750-80plus-bronze.html

    http://www.pixmania.gr/gr/gr/10946297/art/ocz/Τροφοδοσια-pc-zs-series-750-w-(ocz-zs750w-eu).html

    that last OCz would get my vote, It's a good price, and if you use the 6950's as standard with 158W power draw then it should be fine :D

    158W + 158W + 305W = 621W's @D

    just within tolerance :D

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/OCZ/ZS_750W/2.html

    (I speak English BTW you have no idea how interesting navigating a site in a non native language is!)
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2013
    antony209494 says thanks.
  13. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I can't believe you actually searched the greek sites!These are the sites I was searching in too as they are the most popular here.I had checked all of the PSU's on your list before except for the last OCZ one.
    It's also very good but the GS800 looks slightly better.I can get it for 93 euros let's say 20 euros more than the OCZ.I think I''l wait a bit more time to get the money for the GS800 and only then I will do the crossfire.The Kentek will hold until then.

    BTW we rushed to blame the overheating or the PSU for the shutdowns.It was none of them in the end.A friend living next door had the exact same problem because it was raining that day and the house's electricity was rather unstable.I also now remember that day the lights and a small heater I have in my room blinked 2-3 times but the PC didn't shut off.Later the lights and the heater didn't blink but the PC shut down 2 times and restarted once which is why I made this topic.So I guess it was because of which devices got enough power in the unstable periods or something like that about the house.It never did it again yesterday or today.Especially today where I had nothing to do and played GTA IV for like 4 hours straight with the GPU fan at 40% with no overheating or crashing problems at all.

    Anyway this doesn't mean I will go crossfire with the Kentek.I don't trust it anymore after all I've read.I will stick with it for some months leaving the Power Color 6950 in the shelf and after I get the GS800 I will put them together.:D
  14. Iceni

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    429 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    coventry UK
    If you have unstable electrics there's even more need to invest in a decent power supply :D

    The corsair you have picked will be perfect.
  15. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,503 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    6950 2gb are far from being obsolet... they perform really good in every actual games (i have a club3d 6950 2gb oc'ed to 6970 frequ) (mainly why i will wait 8xxx series xD)

    i have a decent powersupply with not so bad rating on it: Cooler Master GX lite 600w wich does all fine with my rigs its maybe a singlerail and wouldnt handle a crossfire but who care at 70$~ (69.90chf actually) why bother crossfire 6950 atm keep it single and wait next gen.

    well i reckon its my opinion only soooo im right for me but not for all (or im right for all and not for me ... wait??? errhh...)
  16. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    513 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    100%

    I run BF3, Far Cry 3, Dayz, ALL in 1920X1200, @ high setting's.
    And I'm using a 1Gb 6950.
    Their Stable, with Mature Driver's now, and Perform Well.
    I have a 7970LCS, and It of Course IS faster, But to say a 6950 is Obsolete is Silly.
    And I use a Corsair 600Watt,,with NO issues in regards to Power @ all.
    Even When running Hybrid Phys-x as well.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2013
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  17. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I am not really that kind of buyer.When I had to choose a GPU months ago I was between the 6950 and 7870.About same performance for half the price!And 6950's were unlockable too.Why pay more just to have the latest gen?

    And for the crossfire:Getting a 7970 Ghz edition for example.For the same price I can crossfire two 6950's which are almost 6970's when unlocked and get performance close to a 6990 which by far superior to a single 7970 Ghz edition.

    Same for the 8xxx series coming up they will be too expensive because they are "New" and you can get better performance for less money by the previous gen (as long as there are no major improvements like a new DX support like from 4xxx series to 5xxx series).:D
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2013
  18. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    You probably didn't read what I wrote exactly.I didn't say they are obsolete and I was trying to make fun of my tight budget because I can't afford the PSU:ohwell:
  19. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,503 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    woohoo yay for tight budget :toast:

    worth to mention i paid less than 90$ for my 6950(less than a week of use)... because... the previous owner Failed Bios flash... on ... both ... SWITCH! yup thats right he even messed up backup bios.... luckly i could have it to works perfectly ... thanks TPU Bioses database.

    also im a all out for Ricardo.ch > a Ebay kind of site but for Switzerland, My case CG Mobo WC AIO mouse nearly all my rigs part come from here... Mobo 970 Extrem 3 from ASRock well ... factory new sealed box 60ish$, talk about budget
    ok ok i know its not a 990 chipset but its compatible with Vishera/Piledriver and despite 970 cant QCFX/CFX that mobo can do it ... with a Whooping 16/4 lane layout ... oh wait i dont care about QCFX/CFX so no problem.

    My "OLD" 6850 was obsolet ... even versus a 5850 (HEY WAIT WHAT??? oh yes the 5xxx serie performed better ... afaik) but my 6950 is a pearl i cant decide if i try to unlock shader by Modding the bios or with a 6970 bios ... (my bios is allready moded for 6970 core/mem frequ)

    sooooo kids what did we learn?

    *me me me!!!*

    yup?

    * Kentek is a POC!*:nutkick:

    wellll yes just like Raptoxx psu they dont hold the number they advance, and what more?

    *if going budget rampage allways look on "brand that rocks" like Corsair Enermax Antec Cooler Master (srsly CM??? yup yup CM!) etc etc etc, and also BETTER A 2nd hand brand PSU than a "chinese firecracker"*

    wait what? chinese firecrrr.... you mean noname and POC reconised brand?

    *AY Cap'tain Cr*** AHOYYY!*:rockout:

    sorry about that ... im kinda Schyzophrenic ... and not funny at all ... i know it ...:banghead:
  20. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Can you tell me what gets you so high and happy?Cause I might wanna try it too!

    LOL I didn't understand anything!
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,566 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,753
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You're 12v is only "capable" of 660 watts assuming the label is correct (which it very well might not be.)
    12v1@27a + 12v2@28a = 12v @ 55a = 660 watts. Make sure that you're not running your entire rig off a single 12v rail considering one rail only delivers ~330-watts max. Try changing which PCI-E power connectors your video card is using and see if it makes a difference. If you don't want to mess with it get a better PSU like a Corsair or a Seasonic because most 600-watt quality PSUs can handle more than your current PSU.

    Personally I like a PSU with a single high output 12v rail but that is just me. Like this, I have this on my X79 rig.
    [​IMG]

    I also have a Corsair GS800 on the rig that Norton gave me (140-watt Phenom II 965).
    [​IMG]

    So one 12v rail is my preference, I don't live divvying up the load.
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
    antony209494 says thanks.
  22. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    283 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    well i from my own expirience with that card i had same issue..just use msi afterburner and make ur own fan curve..i made mine work on 90% on 65c and 100%on 70c....never gone above 75c :)
  23. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,503 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    no worries its natural (also as a non natural english speaker im rarely understandable)

    i was juts happy to see an other "tight budget" builder, the end part of the post (Schyzo)
    was about bringing down Kentek Raptoxx and other POC brand (POC> Piece of crap).
  24. antony209494

    antony209494

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    149 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Haha OK then.

    Total wattage required 719?OK the Kentek would never make it now that I think about it considering it can give at max 55a = 660 watts for the 12V rails.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page