1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Acer Aspire laptop freezes and gives weird Memtesy 86+ message

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Chevalr1c, May 7, 2012.

  1. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,019 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    Hello guys,

    My Acer Aspire 7520G-402G32Mi laptop freezes sometimes, with several Linux distros, and therefore did I reapply thernal paste and clean the fan. This was to no avail so I decided to try to run a memory test. I believe I forgot to mention btw, that before I did the thermal grease reapplication, for a couple of times it took several repeated attempts to boot (after pressing the power button, it went on for a sec, off, on for a sec and after a few times it finally booted). This issue seems to have disappeared now though. Memtesy 86+ gives this weird message after a couple of minutes:

    [​IMG]

    Could this be the motherboard?

    I hope I express myself clearly enough, and wish to know your thoughts please.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    try running the windows memory testing tool
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  3. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    bad dimm
    any errors from memtext = bad dimm test each stick again
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  4. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,019 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    Windows is not installed on it, currently.

    The error count is still 0, but then again it makes sense what you say. I will do this and let you know.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
  6. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    now i just gave you the link how to make a windows diagnostic disc
  7. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,019 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    Memtest86+ did a successful run with only the second dimm installed, so now it is time to repeat with only the first installed. There was one thing though, once I rebooted and booted Mageia (in order to do a shutdown) the freezing happened again. However the dialog with the shutdown/reboot/etc. options still appeared when pressing the power button so it was not fully unresponsive. Only the touchpad and keyboard stopped responding.
    So I will run Memtest86+ again (I don't see a point in trying the one by Microsoft) and run the test for more than 1 loop just in case. I am not sure what to do if the semi-freezing happens with the other dimm too though.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    how about taking the notebook apart and then reassembling it. maybe something is loose and that is cousing problems
  9. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,019 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    I reassembled the cooling and hard drives, but I did not work on the rest so it makes sense to reassemble the rest too, perhaps. Will do that tonight, I think.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,019 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    Well some screws don't want to get out, while their "brethren" did so the screw driver is suitable. Does anyone know a good trick to force out screws without ruining the screw heads?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    .... stop there put it back together the powers that BE are issuing a warning
    a "lose" connection won't cause the issue you are having
    -unless the dimm slot on the pcb is going south
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  12. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,019 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    Allright, later this week I will try to check what RAM slot is faulty.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,019 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    It is doing it with both DIMMs as it seems now. :(
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,246 (10.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,882
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Sounds like the laptop is on its way out. How old is it?
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,019 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    It is from roughly late summer/fall 2007.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    ooh nasty.

    Sounds like a bad mobo (bad dimms/etc) / shoddy power delivery in the device. Also the ram sticks could be going bad/degrading. I would see if it runs with different ram (maybe a cheapo 512mb dimm), and if not, then this laptop needs to be retired.

    Its not worth it to replace the mobo, and if it is the power circuitry/battery then its only a matter of time before it stops turning on. Do you get freezing when on battery or only when plugged in (or does it not make a difference)?
    Last edited: May 9, 2012
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  17. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,019 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    both, I believe. But I might check just in case.

    Edit: Indeed with both. And when powering the laptop on without the battery and on mains power got me this when booting Mageia Linux:

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: May 9, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    Bad power circuitry. Do you have another charger?
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  19. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,019 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    Nope :(
    Perhaps I could lend it from relatives of mine though.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    did you test it with the battery and plugged in
    the power brick should not have a effect on this
    I would locate a known good stick of ram and retest
  21. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,019 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    I shall try it with both battery and mains power.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    that screen shot looks more like a bad graphics driver init because mandrava is old and broken >
  23. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,019 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,242
    Test results for the promised test with both battery and main power:
    Because Mageia nagged about the need for booting without KMS support and gave those stripes again after I hit [OK], I thought it would be wise to put a bootable CD with Aptosid (basicly Debian) into it and reboot. It was like power on - power off - power on and booting. I got into the desktop succesfully and decided to use Gparted to check the partition Mageia was installed on. Just after that check (which was successful) the laptop stopped responding again to the touchpad and keyboard. Hitting the power button still worked though, the laptop recognised it as a shutdown command and started a regular shutdown procedure. But when the moment was there to remove the CD and press [enter] to power down the system, it did not respond to the [enter] keystroke. So I had to do a hard shutdown again.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,011 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,054
    Im not sure if this is relivant or not. but in my experience, the build quality of some of the older Aspire series laptops are a load of bollocks.

    one of the most common problems seem to be the GPU overheating which i think you are experiencing given the pic of that 'white screen' similar to what this guy had on his old Packard Bell

    [yt]SEx6g-xt0CI[/yt]

    It does that 'whitescreen' thing from 0:17-0:30 where he is forced to do a hard reset by holding down the power switch.

    the problem is, Instead of the heatsink inside making direct contact with the CPU/GPU they have a 0.02mm thick thermal pads like you get on some graphic cards when you remove the stock cooler and long story short - these thermal pads dont do a very good job.

    however there are these small copper shims available on ebay or at some specialist repair shops that you can buy and put it between the CPU/GPU which bridges/fills the gap and makes sure the HSF is making direct contact with the heatsource.

    I used to have a problem with X1600 Mobility Radeon in an older laptop that used to over heat and cause the laptop to go into thermal shut down. because BenQ who made the laptop, used the same crappy thermal pads instead of making it so the HSF makes direct contact with the CPU/GPU. However I bought a copper shim for it and after that i never had to worry about it overheating or thermal shut downs again.
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  25. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    please pleaseeee don't attempt the heatgun trick unless you know what you are doing
    always wrap everything in 3 layers of heavy metal foil and don't keep the heat in one spot move it in small circles ...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page