1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Acer Aspire One - Corrupt bios? no lights, nothing!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MiST91, Mar 21, 2009.

  1. MiST91 Guest

    Hi, i recently won an Acer Aspire One off ebay, ok, so it hasn't arrived yet (it has been dispatched). Basically i bought it as spares/repairs because the laptop wont power up, it says in the listing "bad bios flash, won't power up", apparently the laptop does nothing at all, no lights, however when the battery is first inserted the lights will flash for a second then go off again. I dont know if the FN and ESC method has been tried, however having looked on the internet this method only works when the bios is corrupt but the laptop still powers up, the black screen of death and cpu fan still powers up. I did read somwear about a problem that sounds very simalar to this was caused by somone fucking up the bios then flashing it, then he got no lights or power, and he couldnt fix it.

    So what i want to know is, has anyone had experiences of an AAO not powering up due to a bad bios flash, and if so is it repairable??

    I understand i havn't actually seen the laptop so couldnt take a look for my self yet, but has anyone heard of this being fixed, and if so, how?

    Thanks ;)
     
  2. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    You are a cheap fella , thinking that i will help you on that for free .... :laugh:

    Laptop for parts ... and free help ... from TPU .. no way pall , you will pay ... :D

    ACER does nice laptops , but gets hysterical when customers plays the God .
    An Bios ,protected by user password , needs special hardware and software tips,
    so to re-flashed .

    I am member on a large laptops forum , specialized on ACERs .

    The only tip for you is " Bios Crisis Disk " .

    The rest is your job .
     
  3. TNTTNT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    73 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I heard of two fixes. One involved removing the bios and placing it in chip cworking similar system, then flashing it and replacing in old set up. Here is the link:-

    http://www.dslreports.com/faq/9352

    The other way involved removing bios chip and sending to a person on ebay who can reprogram. Here is the link: -

    http://www.techsupportforum.com/hardware-support/motherboards-bios-cpu/89598-bios-corrupt-laptop-how-can-i-fix.html

    I don't know if you can use the old bios chip from the laptop you bought, and flash and install in the one you are trying to fix. I suppose the down side to this is the links above would give you two working laptops - if they work.

    I am no authority on the matter, just took an interest in your case and am passing on what I found. If you do try these, could you post the results to let us know if they work.
     
  4. TNTTNT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    73 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Actually, I just reread the prior posts again, and if specialist passwords, software and hardware are needed to play with the bios, you might be better trying to find the bios specialists on ebay.
     
  5. MiST91 Guest

    Thanks for your help people, i just contacted a BIOS specialist on ebay, however he seemed more interested in selling me a chip, rather than telling me if it will fix the problem, and if the bios is pre-flashed.etc
     
  6. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    Thats sounds normal ... if you start tomorrow your own business , you will keep some stuff as secret too .

    If you wish to learn more details about how ACER stuff works ... join here .
    And use the search engine .

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22
     
  7. trekbear New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just had the same problem that happened right at the time of the big CONFICKER worm scare. Of course I knew I wasn't infected and I had all the latest patches etc..

    Symptoms. Battery charged and status lights PWR button and Fully charged battery light were on but that's it. I could hear fans running and it would try to boot or load disks via the usb dvd-rw drive I had on it. But NO POST, and NO VIDEO seemed fruitless.

    However, 1 trip to the ACER Support site and voila. HOT FIX # 2 in list did the trick. Here is the link to the info and file you need to download and fix. All you need is a USB Thumb drive and the info and files from the link and in about 9 mins or less you will have a working ACER ASPIRE One.

    LINK: http://www.acerpanam.com/synapse/forms/portal20.cfm?recordid=1319&formid=3390&website=AcerPanAm.com&siteid=7117&words=all&keywords=&areaid=2

    I hope this works for you, it sure did for me...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page