1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Acronis True Image 2011 problems/questions

Discussion in 'General Software' started by itsonlydanny, Jan 14, 2011.

  1. itsonlydanny New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Does anybody here understand the eternal mysteries of Acronis True Image - specifically, it's system of 'incremental' back-ups and so on? I've flirted with ATI over the years, as the idea of a 'fail safe' :) back-up system is obviously attractive - and sensible. However, every time I've used it I've found that the back-ups created by ATI get completely out of control and quickly threaten to consume all my hard drive space, and I end up uninstalling it. Very frustrating!

    Anyway, three days ago I thought I would have another go. So I created a Acronis Secure Zone all on default settings, which came to 35.9 GB. I then did an incremental back-up of my 27.8 GB system partition (the C drive) on default settings, so it was compressed down to 15 GB. Naturally, I placed the back-up in the Secure Zone and scheduled it for a daily 'incremental' back-up at 9.00 am (and I also activated Acronis Start-up Recovery Manager, the 'F11 option', and a made a Bootable disc).

    Thus, the next day - as instructed - Acronis made a back-up at 9.00 am. So far, so good. However, I noticed that the 'incremental' back-up made by Acronis was a massive 6.08 GB, which I find somewhat inexplicable since I hadn't installed anything else on my C drive during those 24 hours. How come the back-up was so big? I also noticed that Acronis was telling me in red letters (already!) that there was "not enough free space" in the Secure Zone - even though it had told me that the back-up had being "successful". And then the next morning the 'incremental' back-up was another 4.97 GB, bringing into a total of 26.08 GB - meaning that within 48 hours the size of the back-up made by Acronis was almost as big as the original target drive (ie, 27. GB). At this rate, of about 5 GB a day, my 'incremental' back-ups will amount to some 165 GB or more! :eek:

    Does anybody know why this is happening? Is there some mysterious setting, or option, that I've managed to overlook - despite going over it on near countless occasions? Obviously, I know there are 'differential' back-ups - but they are supposed to take up more room than Incremental back-ups, so I don't find that a particularly alluring idea.

    Any help or advice would be most appreciated,

    Thanks,
  2. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    If you want to use such programs, then I think you should let it put the image on a different (external or internal) Hard Drive. And to be safe, you could choose to make an entire new backup every time. At least that's how I did it when using ATI.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,193 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
    Quote: "I've flirted with ATI over the years,..."
    And with AMD I am sure....



    Now seriousely. Apart from many issues in its 2011 version (read their forums), here a hint: If Windows does Defrag at night (it is a 'silent' defrag in W7), all those re-allocated bytes will be part of your incremental backup....
  4. itsonlydanny New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Yes, I have my image on a different hard drive (to my System drive).

    Thanks,
    DANNY
  5. itsonlydanny New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  6. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,193 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
  7. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    yes - try turning it off and see if you still have the problem. Shadow copies and defragmenters do not like each other.
  8. itsonlydanny New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes,,

    I have an image, or snapshot, of my System Drive.

    Thanks,
    DANNY
  9. itsonlydanny New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    But I think I will just take a snapshot/image of System drive about once a month (overwriting the previous image), whilst scheduling for a daily incremental back-up of my data (ie, My Documents). That sounds like the most sensible set up for me - agree?

    Cheers,
    DANNY
  10. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,193 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
    Personally I'd rather keep 1 Image of my system right after it has all the basics installed and updated, and keep that for reinstalls. Not update this image with daily crap....
    Use Windows image maker of whatever.

    Apart, a daily Personal Files backup program. Preferibly an easy, unocclusive, unpatented one. There are tiny freeware ones. I use Synctoy 2.
  11. itsonlydanny New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes, Erixx, I think you are right.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page