1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Acronis True Image Personal 2010

Discussion in 'Hot Deals' started by CrAsHnBuRnXp, Jan 20, 2012.

  1. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,450 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,410 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,975
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Downloading mine as we speak, I use this stuff all the time at work.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,236 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    CRAP :(

    Not available @ my geographical location :(
  4. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,450 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    :cry:
  5. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    I was looking for something like this to upgrade my firmware on my SSD. Now i can and put the img back on or reinstall all together and take the data i want back.
  6. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,450 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Hmmm...it seems as though when they give me the serial, my activate button doesnt want to become available for me to actually use the program.

    EDIT: Bah! Its a two stage setup. The key the above website gives you is only a stubkey.

    Didnt notice this at first.
  7. zsolt_93

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    241 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Romania
    Does it have the same feature set as the one you could get for free from WD? Or has it got some extras?
  8. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,450 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Not a clue to be honest. But Id be willing to bet that the one from WD can only be used with their hdds.
  9. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,763 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    What is the catch?
  10. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,450 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    There isnt one. Why do you think there would be a catch?
  11. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,763 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290

    Other than the fact nothing is ever really 'free'?
  12. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,450 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Dude it is. Ive gotten a few pieces of software for free from this site with no strings attached. If you still think that nothing is really never "free" you need to do some re-evaluating.
  13. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,763 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    I am not questioning your veracity, why the jab?

    What exactly do I need to 're-evaluate'?
  14. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yes this is true (of course) but not as restricted as it could be...I'm fairly sure it just needs to detect at least one WD drive in the system. Can image to/from others as well in same system.
  15. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Just got it, thanks!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    The catch is when you enter in your email address you cant disable them from contacting you, the area is greyed out. This is their 2 year old product, why not give it out free, it might entice some to buy their latest product.
  17. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,450 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Sorry about the jab. It's just that some people always think that there is a hidden thing in order for them to receive something for free when it isnt always the case. Some things are just free and that is that while others are free but you have to vote for something or sign up for something retarded. In this case its just plain free after you follow the steps provided on the website to obtain the serial key from the company (and all you have to do is register a free account from the developers)

    What I meant by re-evaluate is learning to just take things as they are and not as they seem.

    TBH i didnt even notice that. Worse comes to worse, you can just unsubscribe in the first email they send you.
  18. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,763 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    OK.

    Please understand that I am not trying to be argumentative, but registering is sort of like signing up for something, is it not? I suppose I could/would/should use a disposable email account and log in through a proxy server.

    To use a quote often attributed to the inimitable P.T. Barnum "There's a sucker born every minute."

    I am a firm believer that a healthy dose of skepticism never hurt anyone, and I suppose I am just cynical by nature.
  19. twilyth Guest

    I use the 2010 version as my primary back up but like they say, you can't ftp backups with it. You have to get this add-on pack that I think costs about what the original program costs. Even so, I was tempted because I like the interface and the fact that I've been able to restore from an Acronis backup when the windows bk was fubarred.

    Just for the record, I would mention that Cobian backup is a free utility that does everything Acronis does including encrypted remote backups. I still like Acronis, but if you need certain features that might be considred more advanced, checkout Cobian.
  20. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,047 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    788
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I already have the 2011 version for home, but I got the 2010 version for free for my work PC. Good tool to have a total image of your system, just incase if some website/email ra**s your PC.
  21. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    got serial, oddly, when i put it in and click activate my computer BSODs
  22. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,670 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    Location:
    US
    Just got around checking this out and 1/2 the shits disabled lol..

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page