1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

"Adapter not found" - blind flashing HD6950

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by nawe, May 29, 2011.

  1. nawe New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm currently stuck with a bricked XFX HD6950 ...well, the fans work, at full blast, constantly. I bought it under the impression it was a reference card, and was indeed sold as safely flashable to a 6970 bios from OverclockersUK. Obviously I hadn't researched enough to realise when I recieved it that I was sent a revised model - I saw a little "1 and 2", and took that to mean a dual bios switch, which, to my horror, is actually physically missing :-(

    Anyway, as for my current situation, OCUK have washed their hands on the whole affair (which I feel I should fight if nothing else works, they advertised it as a "bargain" due to its ability to flash, after all, and I didn't get the card I ordered), and I'm forced to try blind flashing it back to the initial bios. I used Winflash, and saved it before attempting the reflash - and Winflash detected the card, and replaced the bios, so obviously it the bios can at least be changed. I'm using a USB boot disk with DOS and atiflash, and using >> log.txt to create logs of DOS' output, since I can't see what's going on in the monitor.

    I've tried all sorts of variations on "atiflash -unlockrom 0" and "atiflash -p -f 0 bios.rom", as well as simply "atiflash -i" - and every time, I get "adapter not found". I've tried versions 3.86 and 3.79, with no luck. Anyone aware of any other versions which might help, or any other commands I may have missed, before I'm forced to buy a PCI card in order to try Winflash?
     
  2. fourty03 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Have you tried the script (or batch file) from the one available via TPU?

    Also, are you able to boot from a different card? As in possibly installing a different card and the 6950 at the same time?

    Do you have onboard gpu?
     
  3. nawe New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The script from the what, sorry?

    I don't have onboard graphics, or 2 16x pcie slots, so I can't have my old card in at the same time - so if using atiflash is impossible, I'll have to get a standard PCI card and attempt to load windows with that.
     
  4. nawe New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So I bought a cheap PCI card to use, with no luck. Atiflash in DOS simply tells me "rom not erased", though it detects the card. Atiwinflash, in windows, gives me a subsystemID mismatch, and running it through command prompt, with the unlockrom command, simply causes the "flashing" progress bar to appear for a split second, then disappear without so much as an error or any kind of message.

    Both seem to detect the card, strangely. Is my card dead? :-(
     
  5. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Post this in the unlock thread. Lots of people will help you....
     
  6. nawe New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Could you point me in the direction of the thread? I'm not sure which one you mean specifically.
     
  7. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page