1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Adding a 2nd drive to enable RAID 0, do I need to format?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by 15th Warlock, Apr 26, 2011.

1. 15th Warlock

15th Warlock

Thanks Received:
    Hey guys, got a few questions, and I know this is the perfect place to look for the right answer.

Just ordered a couple identical 120GBs SSD that I intend to use in RAID 0 for my OS, but due to limited supply, I had to purchase one from Newegg and one from Amazon. The drive from Newegg arrives tomorrow, but the one from Amazon will take at least a couple weeks to arrive.

Knowing me, I'm gonna want to start using the first drive as soon as I get my hands on it, and this is my first time using a RAID 0 setup by adding a second drive as opposed to enabling it to two identical drives at once.

My questions are: Do I need to format and install everything again once my 2nd drive arrives and I enable RAID 0?

Is there a way to just transfer the data equally between both drives without having to format?

If this cannot be done, can I just clone the first drive to a backup drive an then back again to the RAID 0 drives once enabled? Is that even recommended when using SSDs?

As I said, this is my first time using RAID 0 for my OS, and I feel like a noob :p Please let me know what you guys think. Thank you very much! :rockout:

2. suraswami

suraswami

Thanks Received:
    Yes, u need to format both the drives.

15th Warlock says thanks.
  3. 15th Warlock

15th Warlock

Thanks Received:
    OK, that sucks :p

How about cloning the first drive and then using the image once both drives are "linked"?

4. suraswami

suraswami

Thanks Received:
    you can't do that either, because u want the OS to be installed on a RAID 0 drive. The OS install will expect the Raid driver which was not present before. You can try tho.