1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Adding a rad and pump to loop

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by willslick, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. willslick

    willslick New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Hello friends, I was hopping to get some advice on water cooling. In my sig. you will see the basic parts for the rig I am building. One of the first parts I acquired was the thermaltake armor + LCS case. Only to learn ( here) that the water cooling solution included is less than enthusiast grade. I agonized about this trying to decide what to do. The road I decided on is to use the LCS, but upgrade it. I already brought the swiftec XT water block. I figured this is where the rubber hits the road and should be my first upgrade. Also the water block would be the hardest to change once the rig is built. I am pretty sure the LCS loop goes res - pump - CPU Rad (120 x 1) - res I would like to add a 120 x 2 rad after the CPU then a pump then back to the res. Question would this work, is there a better way to do it, do I really need another pump? the pump in the LCS is the P500. Thanks for any help you can offer.

    Will
     
  2. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    OMG you bought a Armor with LCS, IMHO that wasnt a smart move
     
    willslick says thanks.
  3. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,098 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    Location:
    Kansas
    The guy has already stated this. No reason to rub it in.
     
    Kantastic, willslick and Solaris17 say thanks.
  4. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    LOL, failure to read past the words 'LCS case' before posting.
     
  5. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    848 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    First, welcome to TPU :)

    Your P500 pump is not the best and is adequate for the job but it is a little noisier than others and adds a few degrees of heat to your loop. I know, I had one.

    Your loop: Personally, because your pump adds a little heat to your loop AND you have an i7(which can get a little hot at times), I would change the flow sequence. I would go RES->PUMP->RAD->CPUand back to RES. It'll help alleviate the added heat the pump might add. I'm talking about only 2-3C in temps but every little bit helps...;)

    My other concern is your rad. It is adequate to the job of cooling your cpu but just barely. I would not recommend OCing without a dual120 or better yet a dual140 rad.

    Good luck with your project :toast:
     
    willslick says thanks.
  6. willslick

    willslick New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    So I guess I am just screwed and short of selling the case I have no other option? Come on guys help a noob out here. Please?
     
  7. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    848 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    Keep the case, aside from the LCS system, it's not a bad looking case. You just might want to change a few components in it. Accumulate some cash for some upgrades to your system first and change the case later if you're so inclined.
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    Not at all. Adding fans, new water block will definitely help. Try that out first. If not satisfied, then go with a different pump. Best to start cheap and work your way up. :)
     
  9. willslick

    willslick New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    ah some helpful responses thank you I really do appreciate the input. So just to make this clear I already have the upgrade for the CPU water block (Aspogie XT). I want to add another 120/140 x 2 radiador. You guys think the p500 alone can still give me enough flow? Rather than replace the P500 I would rather add another pump like the smaller swiftecs. Bit if I could get away with using the P500 with the added rad I think I will try that first.
     
  10. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    848 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    Your pump has enough flow pressure, I don't think you need an extra pump.
     
    willslick says thanks.
  11. boulard83

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    404 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    The biggest concern is the AL radiator ... Galvanic corrosion.

    If you want me to be 100% honest.... sell this LCS unit to someone that you dont like and buy real WC parts. The P500 pump is know die really fast sometimes.

    If you already ordered an XT you have an excellent block in hand. Buy a 2x120mm or 3x120mm RAD + a decent pump and tubing. Donc forget a RES :)

    MCR220 or MCR320
    MCP350 or MCP355
    MCRes
    Apogee XT
    + tubing and clamp

    Your good for LOTS of fun :)
     
    willslick says thanks.
  12. willslick

    willslick New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    What kills me is the LCS already had mixed metals as built by thermatake.
     
  13. boulard83

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    404 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Yes ... they never understood this :(

    TT have very nice case and PSU ( toughpower series ) and many other good product. But the WC kit that they do are just bad :(

    Its sad but there are TONS of thread about this all around the WEB that you could have read before buying the LCS.
     
  14. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    848 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc. Canada
    Galvanic corrosion is a concern but you can easily run a mixed-metal system for a few months, until you change some components. As I use an only all copper system, I'm not sure but I think there are some water additives you can add to prevent galvanic corrosion
     
  15. boulard83

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    404 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    I juste prefer to warn people to stay away from mixed metals. Yes there are additive but the corrosion will happen.....

    If he dont want to buy all the parts now, he can at least stort with a RAD to prevent the corrosion.
     
  16. willslick

    willslick New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    using 3/8 copper tubing / compression fittings?

    Thanks for the help, I decided to cut my losses and not use most of the TT LCS. I will use the pump (for now) and the res. I have the XT CPU block will be getting a 120mm rad to replace the TT. Then add a 140mm rad with two fans in the bottom HHD/ intake fan spot. I have been reading and looking at lots of water cooling setups, i am getting a feel for the sizes of connectors and such. I am wondering why none I have see use copper tubing with compression ritings. I am thinking of going the path. First it would be less likely to leak. Second it would have a cool factor. I am sure I am not the first to think of this there a reason no one uses copper tubing? Thanks guys. I just ordered my vid card sapphire 5850 comes with a game. All that's left are optical drives ,HHDS and water cooling parts. I could also use flare fittings?
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page