1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Adding members to RAID 0 array, need a Windows based imaging...

Discussion in 'Storage' started by btarunr, Jul 26, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,553 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I'm adding two members to my existing RAID 0 array, this ATI SB600 as usual doesn't support append. Is there a Windows-based utility that creates an image of my existing logical drive (which I used just ~30 GB so far) that I can transfer onto an old 80GB IDE drive (that has a working Windows installation for my system) and then transfer that image onto the newly created RAID 0 array of four members?
     
  2. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    Are you looking for something free? If not, I'm sure norton ghost or something like that should work fine, but I've never tried it.
     
  3. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Ghost, partition magic, paragon partition manager, g4l, etc.
     
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,553 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Anything free that works under Windows?
     
  5. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Since you can't copy the drive while Windows is running it's not really relevant what OS it runs under :)

    g4l is free and comes on a bootable CD.
     
    btarunr says thanks.
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,553 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    HS. I didn't know G4L came in a bootable.iso thought it needed a lame Linux installation. Thanks, let's try.
     
  7. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    It does, the lame linux installation is on the CD.
     
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,553 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Does it support NTFS? :eek: Also, will it recognise my array?
     
  9. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    Googled and found this:

    "G4L by default uses bit-for-bit cloning (though certain modes can read the filesystem and only copy files). This has the advantage that any filesystem can be copied, and very complex partitioning setups are no problem at all. The disadvantage is that a lot of time and space is wasted cloning "junk" data on logically empty parts of the drive. This can be mitigated by zeroing the empty space on a disk, but it is still less efficient."

    @ http://www.mepis.org/docs/en/index.php/G4l
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page