1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Adding my 2500k to loop

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by MxPhenom 216, Mar 15, 2013.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,001 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I have been in a constant search to find a case that can fit a 360 radiator natively out of the box, but the only one im interested in right now is the 800D and its out of stock at all the places I like to buy from. So after seeing Erockers build with adding his 7970 back to water cooling, and running a 360 radiator outside off the back of his case, decided to get over my "No exterior mounted radiators" obsession, and to get a 360 and hang it off the back of my 500r like Erocker till this summer when new cases should be out by then.

    Parts list is below:

    Alphacool XT45 (or UT60 still haven't decided) 360 radiator
    EK Supremacy Nickel/Acetal CPU block
    Primochill Advanced LRT 7/16 ID 5/8OD Blue tubing (10ft Retail pack)
    Swiftech "RadBox" (either from MT Alex or FrozenCPU)
    Bitspower straight and 45 degree angle fittings.
    One more Corsair SP120 fan
    Bitfenix Alchemy individual sleeved cables (Black/blue alternate)

    Anything else I missed?

    Loop setup will be....

    pump/res > 240 radiator (already have it might as well keep using it) > CPU > GPU > 360 radiator outside > pump/res

    Let me know if you have some other ideas. I will be ordering parts in about a week or so. Ill make a build log to track it as well.
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,580 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,108
    I would separate the CPU and GPU with a trip to the rads.

    Something like CPU > 240 >GPU > 360
     
  3. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,021 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Central Israel
    What about the Phantom 820? a 360 should fit.

    Edit: also you can fit your existing 240 in the bottom.
     
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,001 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    NZXT cases use cheap plastic all over the front and top. I like the full metal use of the Corsair cases.

    I've been reading that running radiators inbetween blocks is a worthless practice. It will benefit for the first 5 minutes, but after that its useless.
     
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,580 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,108
    Not by what I had in my old rig. Every setup is different though.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2013
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,001 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Oh and to add, since ill have a water block now on the CPU which will allow for big memory heatsinks, I picked up some Corsair dominator platinums 8GB 2133 (same as my g.skill) but ive wanted this memory ever since it released but couldn't because of my megahalems. got the kit for $60 out of the pocket. 10% off newegg promo, and $50 gift card given to me for helping out my aunts husband on his work system upgrade.

    Should look good :)
     
  7. bpmcleod

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    72 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Like sneeky said, separating the two will be best, but if you cant separate them or don't want to for w/e reason, the setup you mentioned should be fine. The GPUs will put off the most heat anyways, so having them last will be best. Imo, you should have a rad > cpu > rad > gpu > res/pump. Rad before the CPU or GPU (whichever you decide to go to first) will take off some of the heat from the pump as well. Wouldn't hurt. In the end, the temperature difference across your loop should be minuscule.
     
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,001 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I don't see where you guys are getting the fact that putting radiators between blocks are going to help. I know well enough that doing so these days is a worthless practice, it helps in the first 5 minutes, and then its worthless after that. Not to mention envisioning running the rads between the loop is going to look like ass with tubes all over the damn place. Going directly from the CPU and GPU will look cleaner, and the routes will be shorter, which is what really matters. Only thing im worried out is the longer tube from the 360 back inside the case and up to the reservoir/pump, but it shouldn't be all that bad.
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,706 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,106
    If you're going to use a 360 radiator, just stick to using that. The extra radiator won't make much of a difference.
     
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,001 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I was talking to Alex, and we both agreed that since I have the 240 rad, might as well use it anyways.
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,706 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,106
    So.. pump->top radiator->CPU->GPU->back radiator->reservoir. You could go CPU->back radiator (through the top tubing hole)->GPU->reservoir. That may look cleaner as long as you put both fitting for the GPU on the bottom side.
     
  12. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,001 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yes. I will have to look a it a bit closer when I have the parts in front of me and im in the process putting it all together. Should be good regardless of how I have it setup.
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,706 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,106
    What pump are you using?
     
  14. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,001 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    the MCP350 with the bay reservoir top.
     
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,706 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,106
    Hopefully the head pressure is going to be sufficient.
     
  16. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,001 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yep, Alex and I talked about that too. If its not ill end up getting a MCP35x with maelstrom res I think.
     
  17. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    That was my recommendation, as well. I think it would be a lot cleaner, and makes reseating the CPU block a bunch easier.
     
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,580 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,108
    And is a ton more noise too. I would prefer a 655 in my loops for their silence, but it seems you two have it all sorted out.
     
  19. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Yup, the 35x is a bunch louder than a D5 at full bore, although I think mine may be louder than most. It also squirts harder, too. The noise level went down considerably when paired with the maelstrom res, which was a bonus I wasn't expecting. It is extremely quiet until you start working your rig, then it really ramps up. It has a much higher frequency pitch than the 655s, which makes it more a more annoying sound. Since he thinks his 350 is loud I warned that the 35x might not be for him. I'm never going back to a pump without PWM, and when the pump is ramped up I'm usually deep into a game so I'm not too bothered. I may try one of Swiftech's custom PWM 655s in the future, but I have grown really fond of the brute power this little pump.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2013
  20. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    However you end up doing your loop be sure to post photos for all to see :) Good luck with it.
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  21. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,001 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Here is Loop plan 1 with my original plan. Working on the other.

    [​IMG]

    Colors:

    Orange: Warm water
    Blue: Cool
    Red: Hot

    Loop:

    pump/res > 240 > CPU > GPU > 360 > pump/res
     
  22. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,001 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Just thought of an idea. Who else thinks it would be sweet to match the Dominator platinums, to get the Full Nickel EK block.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,706 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,106
    How is the water changing temperature going through the res/pump?
     
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,001 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I thought I read a while back from either you or Alex, that pumps can make water heat up a bit??

    Heres a new loop draw up I just did with you and Alex's idea but in reverse

    [​IMG]

    pump/res > GPU > 360 > CPU > 240 > pump/res
     
  25. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    is this gonna be a single or dual gpu system ?

    EDIT: i would add the 240 infront of HDD cage and place the 360 @ top....
    and move the HDD cage back a bit (deep of rad)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page