1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Adding this OCZ memory to my loop, need help!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Paulieg, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2008
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,954 (12.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    Dip those tubes in some boiling water, loosen em' up and stuff em' on! :toast:
     
  4. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    No, the problem is the barbs are too SMALL. they are 1/4", the tubing is 3/8".

    edit: My OP was wrong. It should have been 1/4" not 1/2"
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,954 (12.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    Paulieg says thanks.
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    ZOMG holy restriction Batman! Just pull the barbs and install the caps that come to replace em and be done with it...bad idea IMHO!

    Or just set up a tiny loop for it on its own!
     
    Paulieg says thanks.
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    i 2nd the tiny loop idea lol get a cheap pump 80mm rad etc
     
    Paulieg says thanks.
  8. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    There are no adapters/caps with this DDR3 set. I really don't want to set up a second loop.
     
  9. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I'm sure you don't need to put those under water. I could be wrong though.

    Whoa... way to effectively say nothing Binge... :slap:
     
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    you could do a split and run the ram thru a 2nd part of the loop to reduce the huge drop in tubing size
     
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    erocker and I discussed that...
    I feel the loop wouldnt get flow on the restricted side due to the ease of the flow on the 3/8 side. It will get some but the pressure will stay on the main loop!
     
  12. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Would the output pressure of the pump come into factor here, if it was enough to be greater than the restriction of flow in the 3/8 loop.

    Not disputing anything..just interested in this :confused:
     
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    well my thought was the water would follow the path of least resistance. sort of like getting two hoses hooked to a faucet if you start to kink the one and restrict it the other hose flows with more pressure to compensate!
     
  14. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah I agree but if the pump is strong enough then you are still getting flow in each tube -

    If X = output of pump
    And Y = flow in 3/8 loop
    And Z = flow in 1/4 loop

    If X > (Y+Z) = flow in both loops


    Sorry if this is not clear..just thinking about it.
    Maybe this would help

    http://www.martinsliquidlab.com/
     
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    I wont deny that there will be "some" flow in the 1/4" loop the issue is will it be enough to justify running it on water at all?
     
  16. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah I get you on that..would you see any real benefit over air cooling.
     
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    it should get enough flow to keep them cool...its not like ram runs super hot anyway :p
     
  18. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
  19. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
  20. Whilhelm

    Whilhelm

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    Barrie, Canada.
    What if you used a 3/8" Y splitter and 3/8" to 1/4" adapters to cool both memory sticks in parallel.

    Like this

    Inlet -- (Y splitter) -- (adapter) -- Memory stick 1 -- (adapter) -- (Y splitter) -- Outlet
    _______________ -- (adapter) -- Memory stick 2 -- (adapter) --

    What do you think of that? It may help reduce the potential flow rate drop from running them in series.
     
    Paulieg says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page