1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Adding to my swiftech h220 Loop

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by springs113, Jun 30, 2013.

  1. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    I have the aforementioned AIO, I would like to run a GPU loop along with this cooler. I need to purchase a radiator. My case is the Urban S71 from TT, down graded from the Spedo Adv, to the Chaser MK-I and then the Urban. The space is a bit limited so to speak as I now have only 1 120 mm exhaust fan so I can only accommodate a small rad there.
    Norton I know you are out there, this will be my first water loop.

    Can you guys recommend a specific rad. I had these in mind!

    http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...cts_id=22813:1a0aeff9441966c8fa34a689939696a1

    http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...t_info&cPath=59_457_667_674&products_id=31084

    http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...t_info&cPath=59_457_667_674&products_id=31349

    http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...t_info&cPath=59_457_667_668&products_id=26775

    http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...t_info&cPath=59_457_667_668&products_id=32494

    http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata..._info&cPath=59_457_667_1075&products_id=32767

    http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata..._info&cPath=59_457_667_1075&products_id=33850

    I am not brand loyal but I was wondering should I just stay Swiftech and does it matter if I get the one with the built in reservoir or should i get a separate reservoir?
    I am also going to just get a universal block and connect it to my 4850 since I already took the stock gpu block off.
    Here's a current look at my system
    [​IMG]

    Here's the gpu block
    http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...t_info&cPath=59_971_240_582&products_id=34013
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2013
  2. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,275 (8.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,302
    A 4850 shouldn't add that much extra heat to your loop- you can always try it w/o adding in a radiator. Otherwise, any slim 120mm rad should be OK, keep an eye out for clearence issues around the fittings on a 120mm rad (mine was almost too close to the frame of the case).

    Also, the H220 has a small reservoir in the end of the rad (side opposite the tubing). Recommend flipping the rad over so you can fill it/bleed air out of it easily.

    *Note- at work atm and can't access the links you provided.... Performance PC's website sucks for slow connections :shadedshu

    ** EDIT- looks like this one has the smallest dimensions:

    http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata..._info&cPath=59_457_667_1075&products_id=33850

    OR

    This one if you want to stick with Swiftech:
    http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...t_info&cPath=59_457_667_674&products_id=31084
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2013
    springs113 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Well I know an h80 fit with no issues, so I should be good there.
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    They had these at CES running benchmarks where both the CPU and GPU were being used (7950s and 680s IIRC). Temperatures were quite on point with just the single dual radiator. As said, I would try it out first. Also consider you are only cooling the GPU and not the entire card, so you will have much less heat dumped into that loop than what I had seen.
    springs113 and Norton say thanks.
  5. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    I agree with what has already been said, you'll be fine even without adding another radiator :toast:
    springs113 says thanks.
  6. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    I know but if I am using it on a good gpu im going for a full waterblock on the 7970/770.
    ok I will try it that way first just need new tubing and clamps.
  7. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Ok guys just received my hose and coolant. I have now taken apart my h220 and doing the spread/layout. My gpu should arrive tomorrow.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I am also going to forgo using the swiftech mount and use my h100s mount because I cant keep that swiftech back plate to stay for the death of me.
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2013
  8. Knight091

    Knight091

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    446 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    Jacksonville FL
    Make sure you use code OCN55 to get 5.5% off your order. You can thank me after...:)
    springs113 says thanks.
  9. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Thanks but a little too late the parts are already here, the store is about an hour drive from me
  10. Knight091

    Knight091

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    446 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    Jacksonville FL
    I live in Jax FL so ya lol
  11. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    A single 120mm will not handle the dissapation with a 4770K plus GPU but as mentioned, a dual would.
  12. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,275 (8.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,302
    I'm running a H220 with a single 120 added in and it has no problem cooling an FX-8350 and a 7970 in the same loop.

    The discussion involved adding in a 120 rad not replacing the stock H220 rad?
    springs113 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    8350 is not a 4770K. Opps adding would be cool. i missed it
  14. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    It is a higher watt rated proc though, which generally runs warmer. I wont be adding another rad just yet, I will see how the loop holds up with just the h220 dual 120mm rad.

    Hydro copper should be here today... cant wait.

    [​IMG]

    Should I leave it like that
    Or like
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2013
  15. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Finished Product

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Don't know if I should wait till the morning and go buy some clamps or use the zip ties.
    My very first custom water cooling.
    MT Alex says thanks.
  16. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    You could easily jump your PSU with a paperclip and leak test it the way it is, but being that it is an $800 card I'd be a little iffy. Many people swear by the zip ties, I've never used them. They look a heck of a lot nicer than the silver screw clamps, though, and those would be your only option now that things are assembled. Those screw clamps are uglier than a sack of smashed International pickups.

    I always use these babies, reliable and they look classy.
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2013
    springs113 says thanks.
  17. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Well i went for some silver screw clamps lol...going to color them black eventually. I am going to leak test now.
  18. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    finished and hooked everything back up install drivers now left the wife monitoring the pc. when I get to work I will upload the photos.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    And here is a partial shot of the valley benchmark maxed out @1440p...specifically my temp shots.
    [​IMG]

    Don't mind my cougar fans as I have my matching Silenx on its way.
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page