1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Adobe Creative Suite 4 Natively Supports NVIDIA GPUs

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Sep 25, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    NVIDIA today announced that Adobe will natively support its graphics processing units (GPUs) in their newly announced Adobe Creative Suite 4. Adobe is the latest visual computing company to grab on to the massively parallel processing power of NVIDIA GPUs for more than just rendering pixels to the screen. With NVIDIA GPU acceleration, Adobe Creative Suite 4 enables a faster, more natural way of working with images, while improving quality and productivity. The latest edition in a long line of award-winning software toolsets, Adobe Creative Suite 4 is the first application set of its kind to take advantage of the power of native GPU acceleration.

    “A critical element of CS4 was to capture the enormous power of the GPU,” said John Loiacono, senior vice president of Creative Solutions at Adobe. “The difference is astounding. Performance is important to creative professionals and with the NVIDIA GPU, they are assured to be able to interact with images and videos in a much faster, smoother, more engaging way.”

    GPUs have long been essential platforms for real-time rendering of images to computer screens, but software developers have recently begun using their parallel processing power for a variety of different visual computing tasks. Adobe Creative Suite 4 is the most important addition to this trend because of its market position as the leading design and development software suite.

    Adobe Creative Suite 4 features a variety of creative tools that automatically detect the presence of NVIDIA Quadro or GeForce GPUs and uses the parallel processing capability of the GPUs to speed a number of visually intensive operations.
    • Adobe Photoshop CS4 uses NVIDIA Quadro or GeForce GPUs to create an interactive digital canvas. The GPUs enable real-time image rotation, zooming, and panning, and make changes to the view instantaneous and smooth. Adobe Photoshop CS4 also taps the GPU for 2D and 3D compositing and high-quality antialiasing, making jagged edges of text and objects a thing of the past. Brush resizing and brushstroke preview, 3D movement, high-dynamic-range tone mapping, and color conversion are also accelerated by the GPU.
    • Adobe After Effects CS4 features a variety of creative visual effects accelerated by NVIDIA Quadro GPUs, making it easier than ever to add graphics and visual effects to a video, speeding the work flow, and quickly moving from concept to final product. Effects accelerated by the NVIDIA GPU include depth of field, bilateral blur effects, turbulent noise such as flowing water or waving flags, and cartoon effects.
    • Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 can take advantage of NVIDIA Quadro GPUs to accelerate high-quality video effects such as motion, opacity, color, and image distortion. Quadro-based graphics solutions enable faster editing of multiple high-definition video streams and graphic overlays and provide a variety of video output choices for high-quality preview, including display port, component TV, or uncompressed 10 or 12-bit SDI.
    “The GPU being a central ingredient of Adobe Creative Suite 4 is a monumental milestone in the computer industry. Adobe is the recognized leader in revolutionary content tools and this marks the beginning of the GPU accelerated creative revolution,” said Dan Vivoli, executive vice president of marketing for NVIDIA. “We are honored to have been able to work so closely with the talented engineers at Adobe to help them take their world renowned suite to the next level.”

    For more information on Adobe Creative Suite 4, visit http://www.adobe.com/. For more information on using NVIDIA GeForce GPUs and NVIDIA Quadro professional graphics solutions with Adobe Creative Suite 4, see http://www.nvidia.com/adobe.

    Source: NVIDIA
  2. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Makes sense really, imaging software that uses the GPU. Kudos!

    If you're interested Bit-Tech have some videos on their article, pretty interesting stuff.
    OnBoard says thanks.
  3. Baum

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    465 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Germany,Hannover
    Is it possible to use my old 7600GT? or do we need 9xxx cards from nv?

    ok found it, runs off cuda, that means no gf7 acceleration
  4. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    new ati 48xx make nvidia confused , they don't know what to do just deal with any company to support them card's
  5. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    ATi are working with Adobe as well, but haven't released any details as to which GPUs are going to be officially supported. I would have thought it'd make use of any GPU, but offer better support for specifically supported card (features).
  6. Darkrealms

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    850 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA
    Nvidia is really hitting this hard. Haven't heard anything on ATI's or the Larabee equivalents in a while.

    I'm happy CUDA is making many tasks much faster.
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2008
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  7. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,172 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle/Shoreline WA
    If this will speed up my photoshop rendering of 12MP files it will make my day.
  8. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    Why try and make two versions of the same thing, it has already been shown that ATI can use the Cuda interface and perform the same tasks in less time, as well as haivng more hardware that supports the interface, all the ATI cards have had the hardware since the X1K series.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  9. Darkrealms

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    850 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA
    ATI won't cooperate.
    In a sense it would give Nvidia an edge over the market and put them in a place to make unreasonable demands or "we drop your cuda support" theoretically.
  10. eodeo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Novi Sad, Serbia, Europe, Earth, Milky Way
    Article says that PS CS4 will use both GF and Quadro lines.
    It says that Premiere and AE CS4 will use Quadros.

    Unless that's a typo, nvidia already started crippling their own cards to make use of outdated quadro line. If true, its another sad day for graphical industry - aside from obvious added bonus that they made Adobe accelerate their assold Mac 32bit programs to use more speed- we all know they needed some boost.
  11. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    In the Bit-Tech article I linked; "An AMD representative came back to us, saying that "We are working closely with Adobe, but we are not in a position to discuss specific products at this stage. Hopefully, this means that AMD can use its Radeon graphics cards to accelerate these applications just like Nvidia has done – as soon as we know more, you'll be the first to be told."
  12. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    This just goes to show how cr*p a company Ageia is. If only they had used that GPPU processing power for credibility-building-applications. The Ageia SDK should have developed a general math programming library, like CUDA, and not just games-physics-candy.

    We could have had the power two years ago, and Ageia would have sold hundreds of thousands, not just 23 units.

    ***

    For people asking about compatibility with their cards, refer to the list here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CUDA
  13. Darkrealms

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    850 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA
    Sorry if you misunderstood my response. Steevo had asked why ATI wasn't using CUDA. I wasn't saying ATI wouldn't cooperate with Adobe. ATI does have Havok but to date I haven't seen it used for anything "useful" (actual programs).
    I could be wrong but I said that I haven't seen anything, that doesn't mean it hasn't. I am just unaware of it.
  14. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Oh right, I see.
  15. mak3nshi

    mak3nshi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Will a old geforce 6200 be able to take advantage of these new features?
  16. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    nope, only geforce 8 and higher have cuda. man if this doesn't come to ati, this will be me : :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:
  17. mak3nshi

    mak3nshi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Oh dam. Cause my friend wants to make use of these new features. She's currently running onboard graphic, and she's looking for a cheap card that meets those requirements.

    Taken from Adode site
    Require a GPU that supports OpenGL and has enough RAM to support Photoshop functions at least 128 MB of RAM and a display driver that supports OpenGL 2.0 and Shader Model 3.0.

    I would of thought the 6200 supports these. :twitch:
  18. SimFreak47

    SimFreak47 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    557 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    In a city, thats in a state which is in the US, an
    Then I would say, own'd!:nutkick::pimp:

    :)
  19. eodeo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Novi Sad, Serbia, Europe, Earth, Milky Way
    6200 does support ogl 2 and sm 3, but it doesnt have unified processors and is unable to run CUDA code- so it doesnt. only gf 8xxx + do

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page