1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ads poisoning – JS:Prontexi

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by 95Viper, Mar 19, 2010.

  1. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,344 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,564
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Just a little heads up info that has surfaced. This may of had something to do with the problems plaguing people surfing a while ago; as, I noticed a few threads stating they were having pop up problems and unknown attacks when opening web pages here and there.

    avast! blog about what they have named JS:prontexi

    And the betanews story "A tale of two "red alerts:" Which Windows warnings should you heed?"

    :)
  2. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    It's been going around, luckily I already had avast on all my rigs, so I've been fine.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    I use a special host file, if you want my copy I made just ask it blocks alot of the ad and attack and botnet stuff.
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,887 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,671
    Location:
    US
    Same here, i have around 28,000 blocked in the host file lol.
  5. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    AS lets share I can do an excel merge to get rid of dups. I clean mine as sites go down as every svchost.exe it puts the hosts file using separate amounts of ram so you know but here is mine

    Attached Files:

  6. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,887 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,671
    Location:
    US
    Here you go.

    Attached Files:

  7. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    With out powers combined I made this :rockout: .... if anyone wants to use this it goes to c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\


    I DO not recommend using this if your under a gig of ram due to svchost using a new copy of this file for each session.

    file was too big for plain txt so i zipped it

    Attached Files:

  8. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,887 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,671
    Location:
    US
    hopefully you did not ban any TPU ads right ?.
  9. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    Do you know that servers that supply them I can edit the file or you can and I will remove that one.
  10. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,029 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    301
    Turn off your DNS cache service, and that shouldn't be a problem. Regardless of having any duplicates(which I imagine you don't), they just don't play nice together.
  11. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,234 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,152
    I just block all popups, use openDNS with some of their advanced settings, and have a smaller list of permanently blacklisted sites, do not allow most scripting and use avast to block sites that cause problems.
    10 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page