1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Adverts with sound

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by alexp999, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Any chance the adverts with sound can be blocked, this advert is extremely annoying.

    Especially while I'm trying to type up an article.

    [​IMG]

    It just keeps making random error sounds, and its different each time :mad:

    Had to turn my speakers off while typing my last article!
     
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,316 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,482
    look at the page source, look for <div id="header"> paste the next few lines. i'll disable that advertiser or check if i can disable the annoying ads
     
    PVTCaboose1337, Darknova and alexp999 say thanks.
  3. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    That would be awesome. I cant stand those "hey you just won this load of crap" ads.
     
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    It also shakes about which is quite annoying. Atm it is playing the Windows error sound over and over again.

     
  5. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,541 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,990
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    The right add-ons

    Assuming you're using Firefox, just put on the Adblock Plus and Flashblock add-ons and ads are a thing of the past.

    Sanity restored! :)
     
  6. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I like seeing the ads from manufacturer's though.
     
  7. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Under Vista you can manage sound per application. I have my browser muted by default.
     
  8. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,541 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,990
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Fair enough. You can customise these add blockers with a blacklist instead of a white list, so you get to have your cake and eat it. ;)
     
  9. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I think its better for w1zz to blacklist them tho. For people who arent members it could well be off putting to have annoying windows error sound repeating from an advert on the site.
     
  10. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I'd noticed that as well, took me ages to realize the error sound was coming from TPU, especially as I'd been tweaking my overclock a second before. I thought something had gone wrong lol.
     
  11. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Like I wrote in the other thread, it is still coming up. This time while I was in Firefox, the html code is slightly different tho:

     
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,316 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,482
    uh google adsense shouldnt put such ads up
     
  13. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I have left the page up in case you wanted me to check anything, with all the other ads to choose from it can take a while to get it to come back.
     
  14. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Its reporting a different one now (same as IE did earlier):

    Seems IE shows you the source you are looking at and Firefox loads the source window as a seperate browser so gets a different advert to what you see on screen. :rolleyes:

    Its definetly the advert in the quote above though.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page