1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

advice on a very cheap not very powerful micro atx board

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by ste2425, May 26, 2009.

  1. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    this board is to purly run emulators on a little snes case mod im doing but i crnt seem to find a board for it. It doesnt have to be very power full but it must meet these minumum specs.
    if anyone can recomend a board for this is be very greatfull, id prefer it to have a builtin cpu audio and video is possible and be as cheap as poss but cabale of running the emus smoothly, cheers guys. i no the talk of emu's is hush hush but this is a board to meet these given specs so please help guys i got the snes case and its all gutted out and waiting.
     
  2. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    have you considered motherboard bundles from novatech?
     
  3. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    go on ebay and get a
    pentium 3 motherboard
    1ghz cpu
    512mb sd ram
    an old agp card like a gforce 4 or a radeon 9200 graphics card it will have more than enough power to run old emulators.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2009
  4. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,258 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    To fit in a snes case, I think you need an ITX or nano-ITX board. What is your budget? New or second hand? For an emulator, you are probably OK with a VIA C7. For something more adaptable, get an Atom of Via Nano based board.
     
  5. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
  6. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    yea its for a nintendo nes not snes sorry and my bidget is very very very very low im looking at about 30 quid at best, and thats one perferably witha builtin cpu
     
  7. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
  8. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    thanks for the help guys last night i found one on here that im in the middle of buying,
    for the price i couldnt say no so thanks guys its hepled ill be shure to make a work log of this :D, but ill post it when ive finished so you dont end up with a half done project :D
     
  9. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,258 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    WAIT !!!

    I had a VIA MII-10000. I got it over 5 years ago, near to the time when it was lanuched.

    It is slow. It is slower than a Pentium 3 at 650 Mhz. Yes, that's right. It was so slow and unable to really run Office XP at an acceptable pace that I JUNKED IT and replaced it with a second-hand by parts Pentium 3 at 800 Mhz that was so so so so so much faster.

    What kind of video-out do you want to drive. It was struggling at keeping up with 2D windows dragging/swapping on a 1280x1024 screen. Be warned!

    I really advise you against spending any time and money on those older VIA chipsets. Get an C7, Atom or Nano at the minimum
     
  10. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    right well thanks mate cheers for the heads up
     
  11. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
  12. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    ste2425 says thanks.
  13. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
  14. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,258 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    Look at this list of *new* ITX mainboards: http://geizhals.at/deutschland/?cat=mb1ppga_ddr&sort=p

    The first one, an Atom 230, is good enough. EUR 50, GBP 45. Spend more, get more. I'd go for something around EUR 65 using an Atom 330. That way, you can use it for running the emulator AND doing something else in the background, even if just antivirus or file/print serving.

    Starting at EUR 50, dont waste your time on an older board for "just" 30 off ebay. The extra 20 gets you a lot more milage.
     
  15. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    i didnt think you could get an atom board for that cheap. you will still need a pci graphics card for it. with one if these it will play hd video/cuda and enough 3d acceleration for emulators
    http://www.digital-fusion.co.uk/Inu_products/INU_ProdDetailsL9.asp?ref=44953164
    http://www.cclonline.com/product-info.asp?product_id=32327&tid=frooct

    the only thing i dont like about the atom 330's is ive found that they are heavily multithreaded so only perform well with more threads. games are only single threaded to you wont get very good performance in games
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2009
  16. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,258 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    For snes emulator, an integrated graphics would be OK. For ANY HD video or 3D gaming, you are right, a GPU would be needed.
     
  17. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    he said that he would be playing n64 games those require some hardware video acceleraton. intels graphics are so bad because they do most of the rendering in the drivers instead of hardware.
     
  18. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    well the most intensive gaming i will be doing is a nintendo 64 emu. This project is for my dad as away to say cheers for gettin me a car when i passed my test so it wont be doign anything for intensive then supper mario 64, no internet so no need for anti virus purly like a console but can load up many different consoles
     
  19. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    if your could find a motherboard with nvidia or ATI onboard graphics im sure it would be powerfull enough for any emulators you will throw at it
     
  20. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    right kwl cheers tbh he mainly goes on about atari things dunno what they are, before my time:D but ill be using it to so n64 is a must:D ill keep searching cheers :D
     
  21. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    ste2425 says thanks.
  22. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
  23. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    wat size psu and how many pins does that board need though i crnt find out on the net
     
  24. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    i think it has a 24 pin socket and a 4 pin p4 socket but it will run on a 20pin + p4 connector

    what case/psu are you looking at?
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2009
  25. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    an old nintendo nes case, and i dnt no about a psu that smallest thing possible
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page