1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Advice on an upgrade from gtx 560 ti?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by ramraze, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,242 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    For clan matches, I would recommend:

    1./ From the command console

    2./ Play the troublesome area
    3./ Reducing mesh and terrain quality. Also ambient occlusion. These cause slowdowns with complex buildings and dense map areas
    4./ Play again. Any improvement on the detailed CPU and GPU stats?
    5./ I would not recommend a downgrade to 1280x1024. Every pixel you lose it a headshot harder to find
  2. ramraze New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    18 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    :nutkick:
  3. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    624 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    4.) Actually 4GB is not enough to run your OS AND BF3. It's simply not. I know that when I had only 4GB installed, my computer was not nearly as responsive nor did it play well during games. It was erky jerky, whether it be on my old i7 rig or this AMD rig.


    As for your other point, quite honestly, I'm not sure how you're NOT getting a solid 100FPS all the time with how low your settings are.
    Regardless, adding a second card will help that. It'll bring up min framerates like crazy.
    I was in your exact same situation 7 years ago with Counter Strike. Adding a second card helped a ton. Ironically enough, SLI doesn't scale very well with source based games because of the ancient game engine that it's using.


    PS: I know what you're talking about with the monitors too. I had an old Dell CRT 19" that was 120Hz, and even though the thing was a monster, it gamed great. Still beats out most monitors for color quality, not to mention 0ms response time. Ooo yeah.
  4. timma New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    86 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    wait for 7950 OC edition~;)
  5. ramraze New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    18 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    NOOOOO. DOn't tell me. Don't tempt me :D

    I used to play CS too, from 2001 to 2008 actually.
  6. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    imho the issue your having could be due to texture and level load in from your hdd, ive had bf3 installed on a raid0 array and got ocasional stutters, put it onto an ssd and no slight frame drops ,
  7. ramraze New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    18 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How do i check how my hdd performs mid game ? or how can i tell
  8. ramraze New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    18 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    2 random readings from my game in a 1000 ticket 64 player operation metro only

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  9. ramraze New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    18 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Any input as to how to get the best minimum fps on a single card?
  10. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    202 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada
    of course, try lowering the visual detail... you know high, medium , low...
    ramraze says thanks.
  11. ramraze New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    18 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanx, but read my post first. That's what I've done in the first place.
  12. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    202 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada
    um, on second thought... reset everything to stock, install invidia's 280.26 driver so that you can see if your benchmark scores are comparable, (ie 3dmark)then, use driver sweeper to remove every last driver bit from your system, and installl the lastest nvidia driver...clean. then try the game again.

    if this either to much trouble, or not going to help, then is upgrade time. since you are a "pro" gamer the fastest graphics card would make sense.

    having two 560ti's in my system does improve the fps in benchmarks... it doesn't seem to help the minimum frame rate.

    as a last resort, play the game for 100 hours on uber hard, at min/max detail, to train yourself at better gaming...sorry. of course for me personally, i'm SOL at gaming... not good at all, so what do i know?....

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page