1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Advice on CPU Cooler and VGA Cooler

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Tedz, May 18, 2007.

1. Tedz New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hey Guys,
    I am a long time reader..... I check this site 4 or 5 times and day and it is great, just a ton of information can be learned, but this is my first time posting so I thought I would introduce myself first

Anyway I am looking into getting a new cooler and for my VGA and my CPU
    here at my specs and what she does on stock coolers

CPU - 2.8 P4 Northwood at 3.4ghz
    MBoard - DFI Lan Party 875 Rev. B
    Memory - 2 x 512 Corsair XMS 3200 - 2.5/3/3/6 at 1:1 with CPU
    VGA - ATI x800 GTO with 16pipes unlocked - R430 Core

everything has stock coolers and I think it is time I get a little more out of this old beast

I was looking at the Scythe INFINITY for the CPU
    and then for the GPU maybe the ZALMAN VF900, I am not to familiar with GPU coolers but advice on both would be great... anways thanks in advance guys and nice meeting ya :toast:

2. SK-1

SK-1

Thanks Received:
    WELCOME TO TPU!
    Go ahead and post your specks in your user CP.
    As far as coolers,....It sounds like you want to overclock in your post.Good deal.
    I assume you want air cooling so here are my recommendations.
    CPU,...Thermaltake V1 CPU Cooler or the 9700 Zalman http://www.rbmods.com/Articles/Thermaltake/V1_cpucooler/1.php
    GPU,...If it will fit,...Arctic Cooler Silencer.Otherwise the VF900 will be good.

3. Tedz New Member

Thanks Received:
    Thanks,
    Whats makes you say Thermaltake V1 or the 9700 Zalman over the Scythe?

Also I do not think the V1 fits socket 478 which is what I have

4. KennyT772

KennyT772 New Member

Thanks Received:
    scythe would work really nice, and the vf900 is perfect too. you picked the best there is basically.

5. Tedz New Member

Thanks Received:
    Thanks kenny