1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Advice on first Custom Loop

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Cybrnook2002, Aug 8, 2014.

  1. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    937 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Hello everyone!! I thank everyone in advance for your help and support.

    I am putting together my first real water cooled PC. Budget is not really a concern, I just would like a nice, quality, (hopefully) maintenance-free system. I will be running a 9590 with 290X. The computer case I am using has all the space in the world, so I will not have to worry there.

    So far I already have 1 Aqua Computer Kryographics (copper) for 290X and 1 Kryos HF (Copper) for CPU.

    UPDATE:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2014
    manofthem says thanks.
  2. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,106 (8.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,408
    1/2"ID x 5/8" OD is for thin wall tubing (1/16" thick). I personally don't like thin wall tubing since it tends to kink rather than bend nicely- consider 3/8"ID x 5/8"OD or 1/2"ID x 3/4"OD (1/8" thick for both) for tubing.....
     
    Cybrnook2002 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    this, also Id recommend a different radiator like the newer BlackIce Nemesis rads, just because of the price. Maybe the normal Swiftech D5/MCP655 with PWM and a Photon Reservoir/pump top.
     
    Cybrnook2002 says thanks.
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    Aqutuning opened a US site....I looked around there the other day, and you can buy "kits" a fair bit cheaper than parting it all out yourself. Also some brands we aren't used to typically finding on US shelves.
     
    Cybrnook2002 says thanks.
  5. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    937 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    What are your guy's thoughts on compression fittings vs. barbed fittings? I love the idea of compressions as its easy peasy and reduces the "busyness" around every fitting. How does compression fittings play into the tubing I select?

    @Norton , I have taken your advice and moved to 3/8 x 5/8 (did not even think about the flexibility prior to your comment). Even if just an 1/8 of an inch overall, I think 3/4 is too large for my taste.

    I am looking at the bitspower 3/8 x 5/8 compression fittings, but am stumbling at what type of tubing to get. I read that Tygon is the best, but will not be as friendly when it comes to compression fittings due to it being a weaved tube. I feel I would like to buy my tubing in bulk and cut it myself (OCD) and I am sure my run from Rad to CPU will be over 15 inches, that knocks me out of the pre-cut option.

    @sneekypeet , I did check out the Aquatuning site, and actually did pick up an AM3 block I could only find there, but there are some catches. Items are coming from over seas, and they are charging VAT's on top of your Item and Shipping charges. Nevertheless, a great selection of items they have.

    @MxPhenom 216 , Thanks for the suggestion. However I am just sold on the Aquacomputers 3x120 Copper Rad. Something about the bulky, tank-ness of it I have taken a liking too. Just the look of the silver frame contrasting with the copper fins inside.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2014
  6. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,106 (8.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,408
    I just use black Tygon and I'm pretty happy with the "Industrial" look I get from it...

    This is a simple loop for my 7970 running through a 140mm rad (black Tygon w/chrome Swiftech fittings)
    [​IMG]
     
    Cybrnook2002 and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    937 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Yeah, I am kind of learning as I go here. But from what I gather, you actually would prefer a more rigid tube and a compression fitting OR a softer/mid tubing with barb

    So seems Tygon would actually work well with a compression fitting. (good to know that's what you are also using.)

    Now, Another factor I am looking at is the "Metals" that are in my loop. What I have gathered is:

    Copper / Copper = fine
    Copper / Aluminum = not so fine (bad mix of metals)
    Nickle / Copper = fine
    Nickle / Aluminum = supposed to be fine (Nervous that copper is hiding under that nickle coating)

    So, I am starting to look at what to actually run in the loop, and I think I would probably just do distilled water with an additive. However, I am intrigued at the silver kill coils, as I REALLY WANT a Maintenance free loop, I don't want to clean it all the time. (I am too OCD for that, and cleaning would be an all day or two day process). But, from what I am reading, if you have ANY Nickle in your loop, to stay away from silver (EK's example from a few years ago).

    So, I like the idea of a kill coil to just flat out stop any growth in the loop, but I also don't want to cause any un-necessary ware on the blocks or rads etc... in the loop. Any thoughts?
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2014
  8. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,500 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,109
    Just leave out aluminum and you should be good. I did read that somewhere about EK nickel and silver, and though it's not supposed to be corrosive, they may be somewhat right.

    I had a silver kill coil in my previous loop with an EK nickel block, and on the nickel block, I did have a slight issue with small areas of the nickel plating coming off, though nothing as bad as the nickel playing fiasco a few years ago. It didn't affect cooling or performance, and you will never notice it until you disassemble the loop. I wouldn't be too concerned personally, as I think my case was a fairly isolated incident.
     
    Cybrnook2002 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    937 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Okay, I have updated my list, and now I am at this current one. Any thoughts?
    [​IMG]

    I will be using likely a water additive (and perhaps a kill coil). I do have two nickel plated GPU blocks coming in (Titans), but I also have a copper GPU block for the AMD card as well (290x). So I am thinking of keeping this loop with all Copper and using the Nickel Nvidia blocks in another build.

    CPU block will be the Aqua Computer Kryos HF (copper).

    So this loop would consist of Kryos HF CPU (Copper), Kryographics GPU (Copper), and Airplex Rad (Copper).
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2014
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    What liquid are you looking at running as I don't recommend using dyes. Get colored tubing and use purely distilled water instead.
     
    Cybrnook2002 says thanks.
  11. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    937 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Liquid I am thinking probably just distilled water with something along the lines of PTnuke and a kill coil. Or I will get a premixed solution.

    Now, why do you not recommended adding color to the lines, because of staining purposes?
     
  12. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,382
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    well I mean if you want to go for aesthetics, might look a bit boring just running clear tubing and clear liquid. Come up with a color scheme, like my rig is Black, White, and red.
     
    Cybrnook2002 says thanks.
  13. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    937 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Well, I will be using LED lighting more for the aesthetics. As sneeky already knows, the case has tinted glass on both sides (In-Win S-Frame). So even if I was to use something other than a clear tubing (staying away from a dye), it's effect will be subtle. Much less impacting than the LED in the reservoir or accent lights hidden throughout.

    I will have a "theme" to the build, but clear tubing (as boring as it may be) is neutral.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2014
  14. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    937 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Figured I would add a few photos. I finally got my first custom loop finished:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    15th Warlock says thanks.
  15. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    sexy!

    those rads are sweet!
     
    Cybrnook2002 says thanks.
  16. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    937 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Thanks, I thought the same.
     
  17. jaggerwild

    jaggerwild

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    135 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Reality
    what GPU is that? three power plugs! Holly cow!
     
  18. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    937 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    hehe, the MSI 290X Lightning. Workhorse of an overclocker. (was fitting a waterblock)
     
  19. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,041 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    424
    Similar to my loop well not really but same case why did you go with a 240 think rad when u can get a 360 in the front ?
     
  20. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    937 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    I went with two 240's to allow space for my fittings to all be in that corner close to my res. If I went large I would block the ports.
     
  21. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,041 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    424
    I run a 240+360 fine I just put the 360 so the fittings where at the bottom.
     
  22. jaggerwild

    jaggerwild

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    135 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Reality
    Nice work man, great photo's, enjoy it! Welcome to the addiction of water cooling.....................
     
    Cybrnook2002 says thanks.
  23. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    937 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Yeah, I am watercooling everything now. Check out this little steambox build I am working on:

    i5 - 4690K (will have an AquaComputer 115X Nickel block)
    Asus - Z97i - Plus
    EVGA GTX 970 SC w/ EK 670 Block and Backplate
    Lian-Li PC-Q19
    SFX Silverstone 450 Watt
    2 x 4 GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers LEDS (1866)

    Because of space, I am going to use a 60MM AlphaCool rad (60MM thick, using 2 x slimline scythe 120mm fans in push pull) and a small Alphacool VPP655 and run without a Res. When I fill, I am going to fill through the top port of the rad (while having it elevated above the rest of the components. Let the pump run for a few with the Rad fill port opened to drain the air bubbles. Then once it has ran for a few hours, and I have tapped on it to shake out the bubbles, I will fill the rest of the way until the fill port is almost full. Cap it back off and then lower the rad back into position.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]




     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2014
  24. jaggerwild

    jaggerwild

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    135 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Reality
    Very clean man!
    Yeah water isn't that hard, I've had a leak before but I was using a separate PSU so no worries. But you won't be able to see a flow of the water without a Res, unless your using clear tubing?
     
  25. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,566 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,677
    Interesting build...
    Subbed
     
    Cybrnook2002 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page