1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Advice on new HTPC budget build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by bpatterson07, Dec 29, 2013.

  1. bpatterson07 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Not really concerned with gaming, just torrents and XBMC. Don't really need the Wi-Fi on the mobo. Is the RAM quick enough? Will be running W7 64-bit and have 3tb WD green for storage. Any recommendations to swap components out? Everything compatible?

    Kingston Digital 60GB SSDNow V300 SATA 3 2.5 (7mm height) with Adapter Solid State Drive SV300S37A/60G

    Kingston Technology HyperX LoVo 4 GB Kit (2x2GB Modules) 4 Dual Channel Kit 1600 (PC3 12800) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM KHX1600C9D3LK2/4GX

    Gigabyte FM2 A85X(Hudson D4) Wi-Fi Mini ITX Motherboard with UEFI BIOS GA-F2A85XN-WIFI

    AMD A6-6400K Richland 3.9GHz Socket FM2 65W Dual-Core Desktop Processor AMD Radeon HD AD640KOKHLBOX

    Antec ISK 300-150 Black Mini-ITX Desktop Computer Case 150 Watt Power Supply
  2. lastcalaveras

    lastcalaveras

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    106 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Everything looks fine but uping the memory size and speed is highly recommended and invest into a aftermarket cooler for a quieter system.
  3. bpatterson07 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  4. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    765 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Everything looks good to me. Plenty of RAM it seems to me for what you need. If you REALLY wanted to you could up it to a couple sticks of 4GB for a total of 8. That's up to you though.
  5. bpatterson07 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm just debating on the advantage of faster ram. From a gaming standpoint I can absolutely see the APU benefits, but for what I"m doing? I want this to be low power/noise/heat while performing admirably. It's not intended to a beast machine I want to overclock. I just don't see the need to go above the 1.25v lovo ram at 1600Mhz.
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2013
  6. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,030 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    Location:
    Louisiana
    i can tell you from my experience with my htpc that ddr3 1600 is plenty fast enough. You will be better served by upping the amount of RAM to 8 gb.
    techtard says thanks.
  7. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Agreed, for what you're doing your setup looks good.
    +1 for upping the RAM to 8gb.
  8. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,882 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    447
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Not sure exactly what more ram is gonna do in this situation....2.5gb of ram is more than any 64bit HTPC needs if its not gonna game.
    as for memory speeds a 1.8ghz core 2 duo running 667mhz ddr2 memory is also fast enough...

    Now for an AMD APU sharing 512mb of DDR3 1600mhz and leaving 1gb after all necessary services is pretty good....no need to change anything...nice build imo


    I think a good choice for an HTPC is to not use an HTPC at all..LOL
    A google chromecast and this tablet for a remote/torrent downloader would be better
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2013
    bpatterson07 says thanks.
  9. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,564 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,272
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    WD green? i dunno, maybe you could take blue version since green is not popular
    http://forums.freenas.org/threads/5-of-10-wd-green-drives-failed-in-2-5-years.14469/
  10. lastcalaveras

    lastcalaveras

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    106 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
  11. bpatterson07 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks everyone for the input. It seems 4gb of the lovo ram would be more than adequate. If I run into issues I have spare DIMM's anyway that are faster and of more capacity, but I don't foresee that need. It is disconcerting about the WD green drives. At least it's a headsup to mirror it elsewhere.
  12. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,606 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,803
    Location:
    Oregon
    4 Gb ram is plenty for An HTPC +XBMC 1600. Just squash your page file to 3000Mb and your good. Keep it on the SSD. Check my HTPC in my specs. I do everything you trying to do and more.

    The new WD green drive are alot better then the older ones. I prefer the Seagate 7200. There fast and cheap $100 on sale for 3 Tb
  13. bpatterson07 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How can I check if I have a newer green drive?
  14. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,606 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,803
    Location:
    Oregon
    Its an Intellipower drive or the model end in an X
  15. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,030 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    Location:
    Louisiana
    What is the 4-letter combination on it? It should start with an "E".
  16. bpatterson07 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  17. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,030 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    Location:
    Louisiana
    That is one of the newer ones. Older ones were EADS and EARS.
    bpatterson07 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page